Accidents Involving SMRT Buses Continue to Pile Up. Has Anything Changed?

Posted on 19 May 2012
SMRT bus collides into lorry at Teck Whye

smrt_bus_collides_into_lorry_at_teck_whye-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Road Watch noticed that an SMRT bus had collided into a lorry at Teck Whye Avenue yesterday (May 18), at around 4pm. Two passengers sitting in the lorry were injured.

Said the STOMPer:

"This accident involving SMRT bus service 190 and a lorry happened yesterday at around 4pm.

"The accident happened at the junction of Teck Whye Avenue and Jalan Teck Whye.

"The stretch of road at Teck Whye Avenue is known for vehicles speeding and it also has a high accident rate.

"Yesterday's accident was a major one.

"The lorry was waiting for the traffic to clear before turning into Teck Whye Ave when an SMRT bus sped and collided into the lorry, sending the lorry spinning.

"Two passengers sitting at the back of the lorry were injured. "

Click on thumbnails for larger image

Posted on 19 May 2012
SMRT bus breaks down at Clementi, but bus captain nowhere in sight

smrt_bus_breaks_down_at_clementi-thumbnail.jpg

A STOMPer noticed that a bus broke down near a bus stop at Clementi on May 13. But the bus captain had left the headlights on instead of the hazrad lights, had not displayed the orange triangle sign, and was nowhere to be found.

Said the STOMPer:

"I saw an SMRT bus which broke down at Clementi on 13th May.

"When this happened, the back door of the bus was open.

"The headlights were on (with one side faulty, by the way), and the hazard lights were not switched on.

"Shouldn't it be the other way round with the headlights off and the hazard lights turned on?

"Buses waiting to stop at this bus stop didn't know that the bus had broken down, because there was also no orange triangle placed at the back of the bus.

"To top it all, the bus captain was nowhere to be found.

"I feel that SMRT needs to train their bus captains on breakdown procedures correctly.

"Also, they should provide proper maintenance of their buses so that they don't break down so often, and the bus lights are working at all times.

"I hope SMRT will provide an explanation."

Posted on 19 May 2012
Smoke and red liquid seen from bus that broke down at Choa Chu Kang

bus_breaks_down_at_choa_chu_kang-thumbnail.jpg

STOMPer Jh spotted smoke coming out of the engine of a bus that broke down at Choa Chu Kang yesterday (May 18), at about 7pm. Red liquid also flowed out of the back of the vehicle.

Said the STOMPer:

"I came across this bus that broke down yesterday.

"Bus service 302, not again?

"I was on my way to Lot 1 and suddenly the doors opened and the engine was emitting smoke.

"Later a red liquid was seen from the back of the vehicle.

"What is SMRT doing about this? "

My late aunt was hit at the zebra crossing last May by a prc SBS 196 bus driver in Marine Parade. Only when you experienced the claim that those prc reckless drivers are no gooders from your own observation and experience, the veracity of this claim hits you hard.

We should welcome suitable foreign talents not the problematic or substandard ones. While our ancestors came as migrants to Singapore, it was then no resources, and more importantly our grandparents came with the view to commit and live here. Unlike the new migrants where Singapore is like a 5-star hotel which was built with blood sweat and tears of our ancestors, these new migrants convenient live off the country. Evidence aplenty like cheating old men of their cpf, boorish behaviour, breaking traffic rules like bicycling on pedesterian paths their prc women have no qualms to stare at you as they cycled past you, fake degrees, the pinoys with lazy attitude and bad English (Singaporeans have won almost continuously the Angus Ross literature prize since its inception), banglas sowing their seeds on Indonesian maids while they are married (adultery here), prostitutes invading the heartlands etc. In short, Singapore is screwed big time and the perception given to them is they are talented. This is a misjudgment.

I suggest giving a conditional PR say 5 years with conditions of no law breaking, two children born here, and an additional paper qualification upgrade. As for new citizen, their children must serve NS, no priority over born Singaporeans on schools unless for the second child born here, medical fees subsidy is less than born citizens. Loyalty must be seen not only pledged - these new citizens must volunteers community work at local residents clubs, schools, and renew the Singapore Pledge every year for 5 years at a oath taking ceremony. PRs cannot resell their hdb houses at market price but sell them back to hdb. The pink IC for new citizens should have prefix "N".

Expect more problems from these China communist crook bus captains.

My late aunt was hit at the zebra crossing last May by a prc SBS 196 bus driver in Marine Parade. Only when you experienced the claim that those prc reckless drivers are no gooders from your own observation and experience, the veracity of this claim hits you hard.

tessa.jpg

"It's bad, careless driving and irresponsible behavior that causes fatal accidents, not nationality."

Wanton mee now more expensive by 50 cents at most stalls.
Still happily eating.

To answer TS, yes many changes.
Things are getting worse, almost out of hand

Stupid stomper. No photo of the accident. No dented bus/lorry!

Wanton mee now more expensive by 50 cents at most stalls.
Still happily eating.

You can afford!, for your salary decrease by 5% is equivalent to a 50% of those people, a 50cts increase in Wanton mee is a huge amount. Not only that, the wanton mee is prepared by substandard PRC cooks who doesn't know the heck diffrence from 'one ton mee' from Wanton Mee.

This is the common sense strategy that they will take, and take away one of the last resort means of livelihood for future replaced PMETs, as well as old uncles.

Complacent sheeps still don't wake up and influence the policies.............sad.

And don't suay suay some ah tiong scholar working in the taxi company,....................then local born sinkies will be throughly fucked.

There are some, I think I came across one...was it SMRT or NTUC?