• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A volunteer’s thoughts on 7 June 2014 CPF protest

[h=2]A volunteer’s thoughts on 7 June 2014 CPF protest[/h]

dmca_protected_sml_120n.png
PostDateIcon.png
June 8th, 2014 |
PostAuthorIcon.png
Author: Contributions

a83c9b25e5414e1a58e8b14ed6d03ab0-300x186.jpg

Crowds turned out for yesterday's (7 Jun) protest at
Hong Lim Park.

First and foremost, a big shout out and big thank you to all volunteers and
people who have attended.

1. Numbers

From online sentiments, various blogs & sociopolitical sites, I had
already predicted that it will break previous record of 4000+ & 5000+ set by
the first two protests against the 6.9 million Population White Paper (PWP) –
indirectly & ironically due to PM Lee’s PR disaster for suing Roy
Ngnerg.

Ms Han Hui Hui (organiser & speaker) estimated & announced 6000+
& Yahoo SG News has since confirmed this.

While I am glad at this strong show of support, I am reminded that Pink Dot
2013 at the same venue had over 21000 ‘protesters’ or supporters! With better
viral marketing (word of mouth) & branding, these protests will hit new
attendance records. I am of the view that the figures does matter a lot. I think
ignorance & apathy breeds votes for PAP. I saw members of SDP, NSP, RP,
mostly attending in their personal capacity, which is a great sign (nation
before party).

Interesting to note that at 5pm, SMRT staff were putting up barriers to
prevent protesters from blocking the station entrance & escalators at exit A
of Clarke Quay MRT station.

2. Anonymity, privacy & reactions of protesters

At first, I had brought a surgical mask to cover my mouth to hide my
attendance but when I arrived, I did not put it on. I walked towards the booth
to see how I can help. A lady was appealing for volunteers to walk around with
the organisers placards. I agreed & even asked for 2 placards. The lady gave
me a T-shirt to show her appreciation. I walked in slow speed to just about
every available space I can find, with both arms up in the air.

As expected, a person holding up protest placards sends a stronger message
compared to the placards placed on trees, ground etc. I lost count how many
requests I got to slow down, stop and allow photo-ops.

Met a few perfect strangers during & after the protest:

<big></big>What surprised me was ordinary Singaporeans taking pics with me
plus the placard! A joker also assured me ”Don’t worry bro, I wont take pic of
your face” to which I replied ”Nevermind lah, just take lah. But don’t just take
pic, must upload on Facebook & share with the world to see the
messages!”

<big></big>An uncle also mistook me for Roy and seem to want to give me a
$100 note or more! When I told him I am not Roy, he was ‘paiseh’ and asked me to
pass the cash to Roy; but eventually I referred him to Roy.

<big></big>A man shared with me post-protest that it was his first time at
a protest. Better late than never!
icon_smile.gif

<big></big>Another man asked me if I was afraid of getting sued, to which I
replied ”the law minister already said u can call PAP MP idiots but not
corrupted” (I had my own placard & I called PM Pinky an idiot).

<big></big> I received well wishes such as ”Thank you! Good job! F**k the
PAP!” as I walked around with the placards.

<big></big>A random uncle also told me he wanted to sponsor audio systems,
speakers etc for the follow-up ”Return Our CPF ”protest on 12th July 2014. I
quickly linked him up to speak with Roy Ngerg directly.

3. Learning experience

I am grateful to the organisers (actually there is only one, Ms Han Hui Hui)
for giving me the chance to volunteer at last minute! I have since learnt to
bring extra water if it is hot! Critics have said that there were too many
protests, to which I disagree. Once a month is the way to go, spreading the word
slowly but surely.

Peaceful protests is still a weird concept to many docile Singaporeans. I
actually find it liberating. I made my placards 10 minutes from leaving my home
for Hong Lim Park, using cardboard & a marker.

4. The absence of State Controlled Media?

When Ms Han asked if there were members from the state media, there was no
reply & the crowd jeered, shouting words like ”Shit Times!”

On my way to HLP & back by MRT, I guess not many know about the protest,
as they were staring at my home-made placards. Information and the control of it
is still something the PAP has advantage over the people & opposition.

5. Review and ending words

9/10 for this protest. Great job, Singapore!

Major improvements from the last 6.9 mil PWP protest I attended and a great
precursor to the ‘Return Our CPF’ protest on 12 July 2014!

And PM Lee is still an idiot.

P.S. Elsewhere, there was also a Red Cross World Donor Day 2014. Being a
regular blood donor and volunteer, I was invited with discounts and coupons to
go to the venue, Sentosa. I sacrificed going to Sentosa and opted for going to
Hong Lim Park instead. I felt much better after I found out that the
Guest-of-honors were PAP’s Ms Tin Pei Ling and Mr Gan Kim
Yong!

Bernard
Tan

* Submitted by TRE reader and volunteer
at CPF protest.