people who have attended.
1. Numbers
From online sentiments, various blogs & sociopolitical sites, I had
already predicted that it will break previous record of 4000+ & 5000+ set by
the first two protests against the 6.9 million Population White Paper (PWP) –
indirectly & ironically due to PM Lee’s PR disaster for suing Roy
Ngnerg.
Ms Han Hui Hui (organiser & speaker) estimated & announced 6000+
& Yahoo SG News has since confirmed this.
While I am glad at this strong show of support, I am reminded that Pink Dot
2013 at the same venue had over 21000 ‘protesters’ or supporters! With better
viral marketing (word of mouth) & branding, these protests will hit new
attendance records. I am of the view that the figures does matter a lot. I think
ignorance & apathy breeds votes for PAP. I saw members of SDP, NSP, RP,
mostly attending in their personal capacity, which is a great sign (nation
before party).
Interesting to note that at 5pm, SMRT staff were putting up barriers to
prevent protesters from blocking the station entrance & escalators at exit A
of Clarke Quay MRT station.
2. Anonymity, privacy & reactions of protesters
At first, I had brought a surgical mask to cover my mouth to hide my
attendance but when I arrived, I did not put it on. I walked towards the booth
to see how I can help. A lady was appealing for volunteers to walk around with
the organisers placards. I agreed & even asked for 2 placards. The lady gave
me a T-shirt to show her appreciation. I walked in slow speed to just about
every available space I can find, with both arms up in the air.
As expected, a person holding up protest placards sends a stronger message
compared to the placards placed on trees, ground etc. I lost count how many
requests I got to slow down, stop and allow photo-ops.
Met a few perfect strangers during & after the protest:
<big>• </big>What surprised me was ordinary Singaporeans taking pics with me
plus the placard! A joker also assured me ”Don’t worry bro, I wont take pic of
your face” to which I replied ”Nevermind lah, just take lah. But don’t just take
pic, must upload on Facebook & share with the world to see the
messages!”
<big>• </big>An uncle also mistook me for Roy and seem to want to give me a
$100 note or more! When I told him I am not Roy, he was ‘paiseh’ and asked me to
pass the cash to Roy; but eventually I referred him to Roy.
<big>• </big>A man shared with me post-protest that it was his first time at
a protest. Better late than never!
<big>• </big>Another man asked me if I was afraid of getting sued, to which I
replied ”the law minister already said u can call PAP MP idiots but not
corrupted” (I had my own placard & I called PM Pinky an idiot).
<big>•</big> I received well wishes such as ”Thank you! Good job! F**k the
PAP!” as I walked around with the placards.
<big>• </big>A random uncle also told me he wanted to sponsor audio systems,
speakers etc for the follow-up ”Return Our CPF ”protest on 12th July 2014. I
quickly linked him up to speak with Roy Ngerg directly.
3. Learning experience
I am grateful to the organisers (actually there is only one, Ms Han Hui Hui)
for giving me the chance to volunteer at last minute! I have since learnt to
bring extra water if it is hot! Critics have said that there were too many
protests, to which I disagree. Once a month is the way to go, spreading the word
slowly but surely.
Peaceful protests is still a weird concept to many docile Singaporeans. I
actually find it liberating. I made my placards 10 minutes from leaving my home
for Hong Lim Park, using cardboard & a marker.
4. The absence of State Controlled Media?
When Ms Han asked if there were members from the state media, there was no
reply & the crowd jeered, shouting words like ”Shit Times!”
On my way to HLP & back by MRT, I guess not many know about the protest,
as they were staring at my home-made placards. Information and the control of it
is still something the PAP has advantage over the people & opposition.
5. Review and ending words
9/10 for this protest. Great job, Singapore!
Major improvements from the last 6.9 mil PWP protest I attended and a great
precursor to the ‘Return Our CPF’ protest on 12 July 2014!
And PM Lee is still an idiot.
P.S. Elsewhere, there was also a Red Cross World Donor Day 2014. Being a
regular blood donor and volunteer, I was invited with discounts and coupons to
go to the venue, Sentosa. I sacrificed going to Sentosa and opted for going to
Hong Lim Park instead. I felt much better after I found out that the
Guest-of-honors were PAP’s Ms Tin Pei Ling and Mr Gan Kim
Yong!
Bernard
Tan
* Submitted by TRE reader and volunteer
at CPF protest.

Crowds turned out for yesterday's (7 Jun) protest at
Hong Lim Park.
First and foremost, a big shout out and big thank you to all volunteers and
people who have attended.
1. Numbers
From online sentiments, various blogs & sociopolitical sites, I had
already predicted that it will break previous record of 4000+ & 5000+ set by
the first two protests against the 6.9 million Population White Paper (PWP) –
indirectly & ironically due to PM Lee’s PR disaster for suing Roy
Ngnerg.
Ms Han Hui Hui (organiser & speaker) estimated & announced 6000+
& Yahoo SG News has since confirmed this.
While I am glad at this strong show of support, I am reminded that Pink Dot
2013 at the same venue had over 21000 ‘protesters’ or supporters! With better
viral marketing (word of mouth) & branding, these protests will hit new
attendance records. I am of the view that the figures does matter a lot. I think
ignorance & apathy breeds votes for PAP. I saw members of SDP, NSP, RP,
mostly attending in their personal capacity, which is a great sign (nation
before party).
Interesting to note that at 5pm, SMRT staff were putting up barriers to
prevent protesters from blocking the station entrance & escalators at exit A
of Clarke Quay MRT station.
2. Anonymity, privacy & reactions of protesters
At first, I had brought a surgical mask to cover my mouth to hide my
attendance but when I arrived, I did not put it on. I walked towards the booth
to see how I can help. A lady was appealing for volunteers to walk around with
the organisers placards. I agreed & even asked for 2 placards. The lady gave
me a T-shirt to show her appreciation. I walked in slow speed to just about
every available space I can find, with both arms up in the air.
As expected, a person holding up protest placards sends a stronger message
compared to the placards placed on trees, ground etc. I lost count how many
requests I got to slow down, stop and allow photo-ops.
Met a few perfect strangers during & after the protest:
<big>• </big>What surprised me was ordinary Singaporeans taking pics with me
plus the placard! A joker also assured me ”Don’t worry bro, I wont take pic of
your face” to which I replied ”Nevermind lah, just take lah. But don’t just take
pic, must upload on Facebook & share with the world to see the
messages!”
<big>• </big>An uncle also mistook me for Roy and seem to want to give me a
$100 note or more! When I told him I am not Roy, he was ‘paiseh’ and asked me to
pass the cash to Roy; but eventually I referred him to Roy.
<big>• </big>A man shared with me post-protest that it was his first time at
a protest. Better late than never!

<big>• </big>Another man asked me if I was afraid of getting sued, to which I
replied ”the law minister already said u can call PAP MP idiots but not
corrupted” (I had my own placard & I called PM Pinky an idiot).
<big>•</big> I received well wishes such as ”Thank you! Good job! F**k the
PAP!” as I walked around with the placards.
<big>• </big>A random uncle also told me he wanted to sponsor audio systems,
speakers etc for the follow-up ”Return Our CPF ”protest on 12th July 2014. I
quickly linked him up to speak with Roy Ngerg directly.
3. Learning experience
I am grateful to the organisers (actually there is only one, Ms Han Hui Hui)
for giving me the chance to volunteer at last minute! I have since learnt to
bring extra water if it is hot! Critics have said that there were too many
protests, to which I disagree. Once a month is the way to go, spreading the word
slowly but surely.
Peaceful protests is still a weird concept to many docile Singaporeans. I
actually find it liberating. I made my placards 10 minutes from leaving my home
for Hong Lim Park, using cardboard & a marker.
4. The absence of State Controlled Media?
When Ms Han asked if there were members from the state media, there was no
reply & the crowd jeered, shouting words like ”Shit Times!”
On my way to HLP & back by MRT, I guess not many know about the protest,
as they were staring at my home-made placards. Information and the control of it
is still something the PAP has advantage over the people & opposition.
5. Review and ending words
9/10 for this protest. Great job, Singapore!
Major improvements from the last 6.9 mil PWP protest I attended and a great
precursor to the ‘Return Our CPF’ protest on 12 July 2014!
And PM Lee is still an idiot.
P.S. Elsewhere, there was also a Red Cross World Donor Day 2014. Being a
regular blood donor and volunteer, I was invited with discounts and coupons to
go to the venue, Sentosa. I sacrificed going to Sentosa and opted for going to
Hong Lim Park instead. I felt much better after I found out that the
Guest-of-honors were PAP’s Ms Tin Pei Ling and Mr Gan Kim
Yong!
Bernard
Tan
* Submitted by TRE reader and volunteer
at CPF protest.