• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A supporter of Chan Chun Sing

steffychun

Minister capable of showing empathy

I WOULD like to relate a personal anecdote about Major-General (NS) Chan Chun Sing, the new Acting Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports.

I am an operationally ready national serviceman in HQ 23SIB, which was under the overall command of MG Chan when he was the commander of 9th Division.

The division was involved in an in-camp training (ICT) in 2007, when the global financial crisis hit. On the first day of our ICT, we heard rumours that the local banks were preparing to lay off staff. As expected, people were unsettled and morale took a hit. It was virtually impossible for anyone to be granted leave of absence as we were in the midst of training.

The next day, MG Chan personally came down from the division HQ, without pomp and ceremony, and visited all the unit HQs in the exercise area. He told us that he understood our concerns, and personally guaranteed that we were free to take leave of absence to attend to any work-related matters. He promised us that the division would sort out the administrative procedures later. That lifted our spirits, and for the next 17 days, the men worked hard during the ICT.

This is the measure of the man who is our new minister. He did not have to come and speak to us. He could have just issued the daily Routine Orders with the same instructions, or sent the division's manpower officer to relay the message. But MG Chan chose to address us personally, giving a human face to an instruction, showing solidarity with his men.

Hence, when Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong told Singaporeans that policies will be implemented with heart, I know at least one minister can do it.

Samuel Wong

I WOULD like to relate a personal anecdote about Major-General (NS) Chan Chun Sing, the new Acting Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports.

I am an operationally ready national serviceman in HQ 23SIB, which was under the overall command of MG Chan when he was the commander of 9th Division.

The division was involved in an in-camp training (ICT) in 2007, when the global financial crisis hit. On the first day of our ICT, we heard rumours that the local banks were preparing to lay off staff. As expected, people were unsettled and morale took a hit. It was virtually impossible for anyone to be granted leave of absence as we were in the midst of training.

The next day, MG Chan personally came down from the division HQ, without pomp and ceremony, and visited all the unit HQs in the exercise area. He told us that he understood our concerns, and personally guaranteed that we were free to take leave of absence to attend to any work-related matters. He promised us that the division would sort out the administrative procedures later. That lifted our spirits, and for the next 17 days, the men worked hard during the ICT.

This is the measure of the man who is our new minister. He did not have to come and speak to us. He could have just issued the daily Routine Orders with the same instructions, or sent the division's manpower officer to relay the message. But MG Chan chose to address us personally, giving a human face to an instruction, showing solidarity with his men.

Hence, when Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong told Singaporeans that policies will be implemented with heart, I know at least one minister can do it.

Samuel Wong

There is no doubt that the MIW PR machinery is trying to crank up its image via such heart-felt images of someone who is undoubtedly highly unpopular, irritating, crass, zero EQ but trying to be one of the boys. Obviously, the Army Chief position is another of those chiak liaw bee position - got time to go down to the troops over such matters. Did he go round to assure his reservist people that don't worry, their wives are not screwing around while they are in-camp?

His excuse for being seen next to LKY during the latter's wife's funeral "the funeral arrangements were under the charge of the Army and I was there to supervise".
KNN, where are the other useless paper/fake generals to do such things. Does this guy have delegation capability?

dankos

1 case of eunuch chan doing good so? i know of ns man being refused compassionate leave by eunuch chan even when their loved ones died or hospitalised.

Samuel Wong

sorry hor, i maybe wrong and i only making an assumption but based on what was written, the reservist maybe an occifier and could be high ranking types. As i from armour, my ICT always battlion level only. the ah sam ict was HQ 23 Singapore Infantry Brigade. Brigade level got pengkias meh? So very likely the ICT only involved the HQ personnels aka occifiers from the battlions and support units that are under 23SIB. So CCS geneority only favour a few senior NCOs and occifers.

personally i have ICTs from 2000-2009, naber once had i meet my Brigade Commander till my battlion stood down then i saw him at the parade. i had seen many reservists with valid reasons being turn down in their leave applications.

make me wonder my ex unit under which division? naber once was we inform...

steffychun

There is no doubt that the MIW PR machinery is trying to crank up its image via such heart-felt images of someone who is undoubtedly highly unpopular, irritating, crass, zero EQ but trying to be one of the boys. Obviously, the Army Chief position is another of those chiak liaw bee position - got time to go down to the troops over such matters. Did he go round to assure his reservist people that don't worry, their wives are not screwing around while they are in-camp?

His excuse for being seen next to LKY during the latter's wife's funeral "the funeral arrangements were under the charge of the Army and I was there to supervise".
KNN, where are the other useless paper/fake generals to do such things. Does this guy have delegation capability?

He was Commander 9 Div/CIO not COA then

steffychun

It's true that HQ level exercises have senior NS Men but also NCOs/Specialists who are high-flyers themselves in civilian life.

Secret: Ng How Yue is a senior NS man.

sorry hor, i maybe wrong and i only making an assumption but based on what was written, the reservist maybe an occifier and could be high ranking types. As i from armour, my ICT always battlion level only. the ah sam ict was HQ 23 Singapore Infantry Brigade. Brigade level got pengkias meh? So very likely the ICT only involved the HQ personnels aka occifiers from the battlions and support units that are under 23SIB. So CCS geneority only favour a few senior NCOs and occifers.

personally i have ICTs from 2000-2009, naber once had i meet my Brigade Commander till my battlion stood down then i saw him at the parade. i had seen many reservists with valid reasons being turn down in their leave applications.

make me wonder my ex unit under which division? naber once was we inform...

eerrr, this Fake Samuel also mentioned "The division was involved in an in-camp training (ICT) in 2007", since when we have divisional exercise especially in the little red dot?

I also have a story to tell, when I was doing BMT in Tekong in 1986, I had difficulty to dig my trench then out of nowhere an officer in white No.1 uniform with the name badge CS CHAN came out of the forest with holy lights glowing around him came to me and gave me some water and while i was drinking the water he helped me dig my trench to completion. Immediately I knew I have met THE HOLY ONE destined to be a Minister one day. I am glad today he is a ministar.

FUCK these ball lickers.

steffychun

eerrr, this Fake Samuel also mentioned "The division was involved in an in-camp training (ICT) in 2007", since when we have divisional exercise especially in the little red dot?

I also have a story to tell, when I was doing BMT in Tekong in 1986, I had difficulty to dig my trench then out of nowhere an officer in white No.1 uniform with the name badge CS CHAN came out of the forest with holy lights glowing around him came to me and gave me some water and while i was drinking the water he helped me dig my trench to completion. Immediately I knew I have met THE HOLY ONE destined to be a Minister one day. I am glad today he is a ministar.

FUCK these ball lickers.

We do have divisional paper-game exercises

On the first day of our ICT, we heard rumours that the local banks were preparing to lay off staff.

=> And replace them with Indian FTrash. So what are these reservists defending? Remember Kee Chiu said that NS is not important?

steffychun

On the first day of our ICT, we heard rumours that the local banks were preparing to lay off staff.

=> And replace them with Indian FTrash. So what are these reservists defending? Remember Kee Chiu said that NS is not important?

They werent defending. War games are computer games