• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

Good old Myojo mee for breakfast with 2 sunny side and a few pieces of luncheon HK style.

null-154.jpg

hi panzer, actually this is jomtien beach which is about 15 mins drive from pattaya if no traffic jam. moved from patt. south to jomtien about 6 months ago. yes, jomtien is a nice place to be in.

not sure how long will i be around as i no longer involve in any of my businesses. but i am sure if you come before july, i will still be around.

your kopitiam also no more??:confused:

rotikosong

Roti, AEON's yippun alright ..into malls.

I was just thinking how much Japanese influence there is in BKK.

Convenience stores all Japanese franchises e.g. 7-11, FamilyMart. Of course in Japan they are everywhere: others like Ministop, 3F, Lawson, Daily Yamazaki, Hotto Motto etc

Japanese (pseudo) food in all the BKK malls. But for noodles, Thais only seem to like ramen and only hot noodles at that. In Japan, there is also somen, soba, udon, hiyashi chuka etc. and you can eat some of them hot or cold.

Baked goods: Mister Donut and Yamazaki are Japanese

Cars mostly Japanese.

So Thais like Japanese brands. One exception may be beer. I only see maybe Asahi. In Japan, the other ones might be Sapporo, Kirin, Suntory, Yebisu. Don't see the last 2 in Thailand (I might be wrong)

Having travelled quite a bit, I also believe outside Japan, the best authentic Japanese food is found in Bangkok, and its inexpensive too compared to like Singaproe and Hong Kong.

I was just thinking how much Japanese influence there is in BKK.

Convenience stores all Japanese franchises e.g. 7-11, FamilyMart. Of course in Japan they are everywhere: others like Ministop, 3F, Lawson, Daily Yamazaki, Hotto Motto etc

Japanese (pseudo) food in all the BKK malls. But for noodles, Thais only seem to like ramen and only hot noodles at that. In Japan, there is also somen, soba, udon, hiyashi chuka etc. and you can eat some of them hot or cold.

Baked goods: Mister Donut and Yamazaki are Japanese

Cars mostly Japanese.

So Thais like Japanese brands. One exception may be beer. I only see maybe Asahi. In Japan, the other ones might be Sapporo, Kirin, Suntory, Yebisu. Don't see the last 2 in Thailand (I might be wrong)

yinyang

..best authentic Japanese food is found in Bangkok, inexpensive too compared to like Singaproe and Hong Kong.
Excuse this non-foodie, the jury is still out there if it's best authentic (vs Sg or HK). But you right on the latter, can't cost more than in Bangers :biggrin:

rotikosong said:
Thais only seem to like ramen and only hot noodles... So Thais like Japanese brands. One exception may be beer. I only see maybe Asahi. In Japan, the other ones might be Sapporo, Kirin, Suntory, Yebisu. Don't see the last 2 in Thailand (I might be wrong)
On makan yippun (and ramen vs cold soba), think it's got to do with the thai palate. Can add Okimoto rubbers? :p

Yo, see mainly Asahi (dry's great) on the shelves in convenience stores. To digress, SML (San Mig Light) is also popular

angbin

Convenience stores all Japanese franchises e.g. 7-11, FamilyMart.

7-Eleven had done a great job in Thailand I must say. It's amazing to see along a road or soi at night so many 7-11 signs one after another. The Charoen Pokphand Group (CP Group) must have done a fantastic job with it. This is the same CO Group that brought us the CP Shrimp Wonton.

cpwonton.jpg

Excuse this non-foodie, the jury is still out there if it's best authentic (vs Sg or HK). But you right on the latter, can't cost more than in Bangers :biggrin:

On makan yippun (and ramen vs cold soba), think it's got to do with the thai palate. Can add Okimoto rubbers? :p

Yo, see mainly Asahi (dry's great) on the shelves in convenience stores. To digress, SML (San Mig Light) is also popular

Oh lets not forget the Nuru massage that looks like this http://www.youporn.com/watch/357351/slippery-japanese-body-massage-p-2-2/

Having club sandwich breakfast at Foodland Ramintra, just normal taste will not have this again next time

null-160.jpg

You threading on thin ice, pal ... but shiokadoo :p:wink:

Fri slice of the mamuang (thai mango). Damned if you do, damned if you don't, harsh (socialist) realities in perspective?

Damned if I only mentioned Nuru massage without showing pictures

Damned if I show Nuru massage pictures

So what should I do? Provide link la alamak.

rotikosong

Having travelled quite a bit, I also believe outside Japan, the best authentic Japanese food is found in Bangkok, and its inexpensive too compared to like Singaproe and Hong Kong.

I trust your food sense - if joetys says good it is good, end of story.

rotikosong

Haha okimoto 0.02. Good one. There are a bunch of different brands sold in Japan but they all are pretty expensive. something like 900yen for 6. Daylight robbery.

I myself don't like anything except ramen. Udon is too chewy (Japanese say it is mochi-mochi). Somen is only eaten cold - I am southern Chinese stock so I need my food piping HOT like ramen. Ramen is only eaten hot but soba can be cold, udon can be cold etc.

today i settle everything with no. 1 . also means i have nothing left here. i gave her all my shares including my sibling shares.

now i only have 1 motorcycle in my name. anyway i dont care a damm. if i really good, will hear from me soon. if no good, then probably last post from me.

no regrets.

Charlie99

today i settle everything with no. 1 . also means i have nothing left here. i gave her all my shares including my sibling shares.

now i only have 1 motorcycle in my name. anyway i dont care a damm. if i really good, will hear from me soon. if no good, then probably last post from me.

no regrets.

Take care.
I am you will rise from the ashes, like the Phoenix.
I have seen several individuals who made millions, became bankrupt, and made millions again.
Please watch your intake of alcohol, and inhaling of tobacco.
Take a 20 minute walk every day, or exercise for an hour 4 to 5 times a week.

keiizumi

no regrets.
Bro, I really admire your courage to drop everything you build up for your loved one.
Your no.2 has the fortune to follow a guy like you.
Wish you all the best and hope to see you again. :biggrin:

Was craving for Indian food last night so tonight googled and found this fine dining Rang Mahal Indian restaurant in Rambrandt Hotel

[video=youtube;0iWZD_JvDbQ]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iWZD_JvDbQ[/video]