• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

yinyang

Not unexpected, overwhelming:rolleyes:

Polls tell Prawit it's time to go
https://www.bangkokpost.com/news/politics/1405810/polls-tell-prawit-its-time-to-go

c1_1405810_620x413.jpg
2636510.jpg

Found a new restaurant tonight. Drove passed a brightly lite building decided to stop and eat there

LBrgVZ4.jpg

bmNVD9H.jpg

g9pbJBh.jpg

VLbaiaZ.jpg

oqRCNwi.jpg

4EJJnpn.jpg

O01STbK.jpg

8LkE83c.jpg

8fZEsrR.jpg

AICGibL.jpg

dBu7yV0.jpg

Rocket salad
hoJ0dyx.jpg

Fettuccine with truffles
ZzRMoi1.jpg

Spinach quesadilla
eY0IG1B.jpg

Sweet and sour seabass
iTJ20Tw.jpg

yinyang

Did Chon or Bonut sample the kopi (and more)? :wink::wink:

Facebook uproar over nude coffee shop waitress in Sattahip

Breaking News February 03, 2018 13:37
858213b0b57ea73f85d8c4abb92baeff.jpeg

Photos posted to Facebook of an almost nude waitress at a coffee shop in Chon Buri’s Sattahip district trigged a storm of criticism from mostly women users of the site.

The post, by a Facebook user with the account name of Krua Sahapat-Laem Chabang at 7am Saturday, drew over 3,500 comments in just five hours. It also drew over 21,000 reactions and was shared over 8,800 times in the five-hour period.

The photos show a beautiful young woman wearing underwear and no bras. She has covered her front with a barista saffron, leaving little to the imagination.

“Do you have to do as much as this to promote your shop? So, do you want to open a coffee shop or a brothel?" asked Facebook user Benyapa Rungkitsataporn.

“This kind of promotion prompted female baristas like me to be viewed negatively,” posted another Facebook user. “Now, foreigners perceive Thailand as brothels. Please have understanding for working people in the profession [when] you use this kind of bad promotion. Please understand how they will be perceived."

And user Arisara Suwattanakorn posted: “You don't have to undress to promote a coffee shop. People come to drink coffee, not come to a massage parlour. It’s shameful for both the model and the shop owner.”

yinyang

More for froggy's style :wink:

Sip sip hooray
Five new places for your drinking pleasure

With the first month of 2018 over, we hope that your year has not been chaotic. Therefore, a celebration is needed and drinks are in order. Sure, you can call up friends and chill out at your usual hangout spots this weekend, but perhaps it's time to find new places. Fret not as I have visited five of the newest bars around Bangkok for you to check out, get some nibbles and of course, sip on unique cocktails.

ABAR & ABAR ROOFTOP
On the 37th floor of the Bangkok Marriott Marquis Queen's Park, ABar is set on transporting patrons to a bygone era with its collection of vintage and Prohibition era cocktails and craft spirits. The bar is noticeable by its 1930's-styled Victorian London interior design, with classical dark wooden decor and leather-bound books decorated around the bar, right down to the names of the drinks. It's as if you could meet Sherlock Holmes by chance if you hang around here. The drinks are also named in conjunction with the theme. A Case of Mistaken Identity (B365) offers a delightfully sour Beefeater gin mixed with lavender syrup, soda and freshly squeezed citrus. Or for those wanting something strong, the sensibly stirred Bobby Burns (B395) may be right up your alley. Food is served from the Japanese & Korean Akira Back restaurant across the bar.

2637718.jpg

2637722.jpg

2637726.jpg

However, if you're looking for something more modern, walk upstairs to the ABar Rooftop for an open-air setting. ABar Rooftop's drink menu is focused solely on gin-based drinks. Featuring one of the largest selections of gins in the city with more than 50 varieties, you can enjoy a range of gin & tonic mixtures while admiring the illuminated view of Bangkok at night. I tried three signature cocktails, with each being served differently according to their category and names that are a play on words based on the ingredients used. Served straight up, the Asian Wind (B375) offers an Oriental mix of Martin Miller gin, sake, yuzu mango cordial and fresh lime juice. The Botanist Fashioned (B365), is served on the rocks and has a strong kick with its combination of Beefeater gin and coffee vanilla syrup, topped with a dehydrated orange. Standing tall in a huge mug is the Just Mine (B385), jasmine flower mixed with melon syrup, chardonnay, fresh lime juice and soda. There is something for every gin lover.

ABar & ABar Rooftop is open daily from 5pm-1.30am / Visit http://fb.com/abarandabarrooftop.

yinyang

CLOUD 9 CASUAL ROOFTOP BAR
With an aim to provide an affordable casual rooftop bar, Cloud 9 can easily be found by exiting BTS Chong Nonsi and heading to the 9th floor of Silom boutique hotel, Haven't Met. You don't even need to be a hotel resident to chill out at the bar, although people who are get a 20% discount. Like its predecessor, Cloud 47, Cloud 9 offers a stunning and expansive view of Silom's skyscrapers with an open dress code that is friendly and casual -- dress as you like. So, if rather come in just a bathrobe, feel free.

2637730.jpg

2637734.jpg

2637738.jpg

Although the space is small, there's a swimming pool right in the centre with wavy neon lighting shining on the wall meant to represent the Chao Phraya River. The bar plans to include mobile changing stations placed around the bar, where non-hotel residents can have easy access changing into their bathers. Depending on the day and occasion, the music has a nice selection of genres. At the time of visit, in the early evening hours, bossa nova cover songs of Bob Marley and the Ramones could be heard playing, which gave the rooftop a relaxing vibe. As it got late however, a DJ started playing pop from the early 2000's, suitable for a casual dinner with friends.

All signature cocktails are priced at B320, with the curiously titled Melon Zombie easily becoming my recommended choice as its sugary mix of Havana Club, melon liqueur, passion fruit syrup, pineapple juice, dark rum with a burning flame on top is served on a larger glass than the others. The aqua Blue Affair (Absolut, lychee syrup, blue curaçao, lychee, apple, pineapple & lime juice) and crimson Rose Kiss (Gin, raspberry liqueur, rose syrup, egg white, lime juice, Angostura bitters) are also go-to drinks for those looking to quench their thirst under the hot sun.

Cloud 9's small food menu consists of Thai street food with Western-influenced dishes, which is quite standard with appetisers ranging from Crispy pork (B220) to Spicy fried chicken wing mixed with dragon fruit (B220).

Cloud 9 Casual Rooftop Bar is open daily from 5pm-midnight. / Visit http://fb.com/Cloud9Bangkok.

AIRE BAR
For those who are looking for a rooftop bar higher up, Aire Bar is on the 29th floor of the Hyatt Place on Sukhumvit 24. As the elevator opens up, patrons are welcomed by the indoor bar and live band, with a stunning view of the Sukhumvit area. For an even better view, bar-goers can head outside to the garden terrace, where there is plenty of space to chill and mingle around with others.

2637742.jpg

2637746.jpg

2637750.jpg

Passion in the Aire, Aire Bar's signature cocktail, is a combination of Kai vodka, caramel and passion fruit and is proven to be a pleasant drink as you watch the sun set against the city landscape.

Aire Bar serves delectable bar snacks to go along with their cocktails, which include a platter of olives, sun-dried tomatoes and feta cheese with rye bread (B320); a carefully curated meat-based charcuterie platter (B390) (which is satisfyingly filling as a full meal in my opinion); and corn chips served with guacamole and salsa (B350).

Aire Bar is open Mondays-Thursdays from 5pm-midnight, Fridays-Saturdays from 5pm-1am and Sundays from 3pm-11pm / Visit http://fb.com/airebarbangkok.

LINK CUISINE & BAR
Based on the popular restaurant in Koh Samui, owner Patrick Sauliere brings an urban iteration of Link Cuisine & Bar to Sathon's Yen Akat Road. At first glance, Link may look like an ordinary restaurant with an open kitchen as seen from the outside. However, as curious onlookers walk inside, they are presented with a calm outdoor space with a koi pond and lounge music playing in the background, perfect for a chill out spot with friends. Besides the outdoor area, customers can choose to sit indoors, as well as a separate indoor bar room, so there is a lot of seats to work with.

2637754.jpg

2637758.jpg

2637762.jpg

Link's three signature cocktails (B250) comes in three different colours with different flavours. The tangy Green Link is a mix of Bombay Sapphire, cucumber with apple and lemon juice. If that doesn't sound like your type of cocktail, the Yellow Link is a sweeter alternative consisting of Bacardi, pineapple and mint. For a coconut-centric cocktail, the White Link is your go-to pick.

Because Link is both a bar and a restaurant, people would not be disappointed with the food they have to offer. Link offers an amazing menu of Asian-Italian cuisine, a vast array of dishes that goes on for days on end. If you're coming with a big group, the Italian Antipasti (B890) is an excellent starter consisting of an assorted Italian cold cuts and cheeses. For the main course, I definitely would recommend the truffle and mushrooms ravioli (B650), each creamy bite tastier than the last. The pork belly (B495) with its crunchy exterior coupled with apple sauce is also a must-try.

Link Cuisine & Bar is open everyday from 11am-11pm / Visit www.linkcuisine.com.

Weekends are nice, can spend more time with my two darlings

IMG_20180204_085415_800x600.jpg

At a garden setting restaurant that serves northern Thai food
IMG_20180204_090259_1_800x600.jpg

IMG_20180204_090447_800x600.jpg

Khao Soi Chiangmai noodle
IMG_20180204_090904_600x800.jpg

Bonut

Did Chon or Bonut sample the kopi (and more)? :wink::wink:

Facebook uproar over nude coffee shop waitress in Sattahip

Breaking News February 03, 2018 13:37
858213b0b57ea73f85d8c4abb92baeff.jpeg

Photos posted to Facebook of an almost nude waitress at a coffee shop in Chon Buri’s Sattahip district trigged a storm of criticism from mostly women users of the site.

The post, by a Facebook user with the account name of Krua Sahapat-Laem Chabang at 7am Saturday, drew over 3,500 comments in just five hours. It also drew over 21,000 reactions and was shared over 8,800 times in the five-hour period.

The photos show a beautiful young woman wearing underwear and no bras. She has covered her front with a barista saffron, leaving little to the imagination.

“Do you have to do as much as this to promote your shop? So, do you want to open a coffee shop or a brothel?" asked Facebook user Benyapa Rungkitsataporn.

“This kind of promotion prompted female baristas like me to be viewed negatively,” posted another Facebook user. “Now, foreigners perceive Thailand as brothels. Please have understanding for working people in the profession [when] you use this kind of bad promotion. Please understand how they will be perceived."

And user Arisara Suwattanakorn posted: “You don't have to undress to promote a coffee shop. People come to drink coffee, not come to a massage parlour. It’s shameful for both the model and the shop owner.”
Froggy is on the way.:p:mad::(:oops:

As for our local guide in Pattaya, hope he is not spending time in the building next to Central Festival.o_O:rolleyes:

yinyang

Khao Soi Chiangmai noodle
View attachment 38724
This rekindles my fond memories of Chiangmai, Lampang (Lanna fair skinned ladies and makan included) :wink::biggrin:.

Khao soi must go with kiam cai plus chili. Prefer khao soi with beef
khao-soi-curry-chilli-lime-onion-cabbage.jpg

Khantoke cuisine with northern sausages, go with chili dips
(Nam Prik Ong น้ำพริกอ่อง / Nam Prik Noom น้ำพริกหนุ่ม)
northern-thai-food-lanna-food-khantoke-dinner.jpg

nam-prik-ong-cap-moo.jpg

Leaf Wrapped Bites (Miang Kham, เมี่ยงคำ)
sala-phuket-resort-review-leaves-and-stuff.jpg
miang-kham-cone.jpg

Many Thais will know the noodle restaurant chain Mallika serving Yen Tao Fu but not many know there is a Mallika Thai restaurant serving traditional Thai cuisine. Went there for lunch today.

Its a huge restaurant
7MiGyt8.jpg

With outdoor
dSfjNPU.jpg

and indoor dining
HNqmLYL.jpg

Singha
R7o5pTG.jpg

Traditional chicken green curry
kQ1HMus.jpg

Hor mok is like otah
UNwKBhw.jpg

Somtam
Xj8Z3CY.jpg

Steamed egg
G1lR2ck.jpg

yMe5RQA.jpg

yinyang

Did Ruen Mallika many years back, at soi 22 Suk. Claims 'royal cuisine' menu. Great ambience, sit on floor with finger dining. Khao niao mamuang (mango sticky rice) came with a dollop of ice cream. Got durian version, sinfully rich ...some difficulty to get up from floor after.:biggrin: New branch at CDC, nearer to your digs.

http://www.ruenmallika.com/ruen-mallika-sukhumvit-22/

5.jpg
3-300x200.jpg
DSC3273.jpg
DSC3253.jpg
DSC3153.jpg

Caveat: Pics from webbie, so chabor has nothing to do with me :wink: