• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

This is how its done
26C1CB41-FCB9-4D1E-8756-DABF9FA27EDC-2074-0000005FAF4CB02B.jpg

608BE76F-06C6-40E6-863A-F8FE8085AC90-2074-0000005FE82BBC65.jpg

[video=youtube;0RFPmb2o8A0]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0RFPmb2o8A0[/video]

Ended up buing another 6 chickens to go, 2 for friends here, 4 bring back to Bangkok tonight, will keep one and give away the other 3.

Told the shop owner I'm flying she's so nice to pack it this way.

7DB6BA7D-24F2-4C99-AB1A-932D9CA55DEE-2594-000000757C40E616.jpg

Khao Suan Kwang is the name of a town along Highway 2 between Khon Kaen and Udonthani (50km after Khon Kaen and 65km before Udon). Highway 2 is also known as AH12 or Asian Highway 12 but its mor commonly known as Mittraphap Road starting just outside Bangkok in Saraburi.

Ok coming back to Khao Suan Kwang it is most famous for its gai-yang, roast chicken. You can find Khao Suan Kwang Gai Yang sign everywhere in Thailand as shops like to copy and call it by this name. The entire town is selling gai-yang so while driving along the stretch of Highway 2 crossing Khao Suan Kwan town you see practically shop after shop selling this. Not everyone is good but the standard is there somewhat. However the best I must say is Toto Gai Yang. Why is this the best, well the marination and the way they maintain the juiciness of the chicken while the outside is a little crispy is what makes it perhaps the best.

We arrived at the restaurant parking along the frontal road of the highway 2

[video=youtube;8HUIlZywaTA]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8HUIlZywaTA[/video]

This is our food, gai yang of course, we finished 4 chicken they are not big like kampong chickens (each costs 120 baht)
D5D044E6-7490-4E5A-984C-90236F72A56E-2074-000000608355CB97.jpg

The somtam is superb too, had 2 plates of tam-lao, 2 plates of tam-pu (crab) and one plate of tam-thai
E2948BB3-C676-41E1-B6F7-F86E170F397D-2074-000000604CFA174A.jpg

One plate of larb moo - its larb is just normal nothing special
790E2431-DC6D-4A8F-864F-E9F29F767F7A-2074-000000601FA23E49.jpg

And of course a bottle of Sing to want them down
4DDFB2DA-EEF5-479B-97F2-690341582422-1841-0000004BF9D52817.jpg
ok u wait hor. me go do som tam tai now
sorry today no crab so no pla laa. 10 mins cos i started my chang fix early today.

Now at Khon Kaen Airport's TG lounge waiting for flight back.

90A2FA77-60C3-4801-98DC-60610CD3F2BA-4188-000000B5C6479EC6.jpg

Up loading some videos of baan-nook places now later will post.

Now at Khon Kaen Airport's TG lounge waiting for flight back.

90A2FA77-60C3-4801-98DC-60610CD3F2BA-4188-000000B5C6479EC6.jpg

Up loading some videos of baan-nook places now later will post.

hehehe. so fast glab baan liaoz lor?

kns, go eat wind eat another 2 days ok lah. me want to eat wind also cannot.

Ok the videos, 3 of them.

Small roads in the farm land, yes it looks like WRC

[video=youtube;3GKBaui5HfY]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GKBaui5HfY[/video]

Then we have the slightly wider dirt roads between villages

[video=youtube;IUEHOTLMzjw]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUEHOTLMzjw[/video]

I always stop to look whenever I pass by a scene like this

[video=youtube;AQSjgkqc-ew]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AQSjgkqc-ew[/video]

Breakfast now at Old German Beerhouse, 11 Sukhumvit Soi 11. Cool place nice German crowd too.

36569F40-878D-47A9-B6A1-76511D44BB35-5990-0000010A099C85C3.jpg

7BD549A8-48D7-421F-8583-63F786218A2A-5990-00000109224C80BB.jpg

39D27BA7-3337-48C6-9A57-3DAFD2AAD268-5990-0000010B1DF5041F.jpg

3A6A8EF1-FFBF-4D7A-9342-03606134BFE8-5990-00000109A677B94E.jpg

The breakfast spread
444C1F78-972B-490D-A754-0100AB23C689-5990-000001105734CA7E.jpg

Close ups

34FE0690-AED1-4A81-9499-8E3C7662353B-5990-0000011071994C9C.jpg

4F587E9E-EB9F-437F-BCE7-5E415B4819A8-5990-000001106BAF9DA5.jpg

213545B9-A5B6-4DE3-9B4C-6A6B7BCF9DFC-5990-000001105DBC66E7.jpg

The above 3 is one dish 520 baht

and more if this

5154A35D-4727-47C4-9E7B-22F58F2C3252-5990-00000112C60881C4.jpg

[video=youtube_share;zosCRUB65_k]http://youtu.be/zosCRUB65_k[/video]

this is it, enjoy

ypres

Hi bro ZenRyder

Thanks for the tip. No concrete plans yet. Will make a trip,down this year.

Realize in life cannot keep deferring things to tomorrow.. Must seize more of today :-)

Have a good weekend!

Hi Pi Chon I just realised that you pm me. Thanks for the pm bro.