A Singaporean view on Uni seats for FT

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>rainnix <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>2:01 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>21586.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Singaporean on Thu, 24th Sep 2009 2:59 am
Singapore always ensures that the universities are Ivory Towers. The doors for entry have been very narrow for locals who want to pursue a tertiary education. The system does not encourage creative thinking but plagiarism, despite all the shows to curb copy right infringement. Plagiarism is part of Asian culture, and Singapore has not grown out of it.
Also, English as a primary medium for Education is a major road block for many local talents. Singaporeans in general are not native English speakers. However, the education focused primarily on the use of English. The irony is, majority of the English teachers in schools nationwide speaks and write Singlish and variant. The local students are also burdened to learn a second language. Singaporeans are not aware that they are speaking a form of English which is comical and hard to understand by native English speakers. Strictly speaking, the education system has handicapped the local, relative to other Asians.
Unlike Singapore, Korea, China or India has many institutions open for their citizens to pursue tertiary education. While there are a handful of institutions that are of certain standards, most of the renowned ones have an over inflated reputation. These countries have provided many scholarships to individuals to study PhD in American universities. Most, if not all of these scholars never returned to serve their country but became American citizens or green card holders.
A big number of these individuals do not want to return to their home land for obvious reasons. They have found that Singapore is a place they come to pursue their dreams. And the Singapore government gladly does so. The local tertiary institutions have been opened to many Chinese, Indian, Korean, and Malaysian and others. As a result, for the past two decades, the NUS and NTU were flooded with non Singaporean dominating important posts.
Would you believe that these individuals would want to lose their competitive edge and loose out to Singaporeans? No, they bring in their own people and form their own little circles. We can see there are departments dominated by Indians and Chinese. Are these people really concerned about Singapore? No, they want a bigger pay check and they believe Singaporeans are foolish.
I have no issue about foreigners working in Singapore. But the system has been so foolish that locals will have NO CHANCE to have an Equal Opportunity to develop a career in a Foreigner Dominated environment. I speak of my own experience. I was in a national research body prior to the formation of A*. Out of the 100 researches, I was the only Singaporean who holds a western PhD; the rest were mainly PRC PhD (?) waiting for an opportunity to jump to USA universities. It was crazy. I eventually resigned and moved on to an American company. Since then I never wanted to have anything to do with local research centers. It is a waste of tax payer’s money to fund non value added work in the name of research for third world opportunity seekers.
The influx of foreigners is not a new issue. It has been rampant for the past two decades. I always strongly enrage everyone: Do not strangle your kids by sending them to a third class university run by people who speaks very bad English and does not know how to teach. For the same amount of money, they can get a much better future studying in Australia or if possible, in USA.
If you check the research quality of the local universities, their papers are not of very high standards. Some might be doing free work for China or India, and the system has no way to identify these loop holes. If you want to talk education, compare with the best universities in UK or US.
The truth is Singaporeans subsidizes many PRC students to study locally. They get free money and they are promised a job.
This is a very foolish policy. Kids who have not been thru the test of real life work are just kids. You instill an overly inflated confidence in them; they will only become a burden for everyone one day. Unfortunately, this has been going on for a long time. No wonder Singapore productivity has dropped. And I recently interviewed a Singaporean PhD. He was actually a PRC who studied for free in Singapore. His English was a superb form of Chinglish. His skills in his field of study were astonishingly – bad. It will be a joke to employ him.
I believe many of you who have had experiences in the professional field dealing with PRC, can agree that some of them are good, but majority are just down right knucklehead.
On one hand, Singapore demands its people to pass English with flying colors to be admitted into education. But on the other hand, Singapore allows free loaders who could not even speak English to snap up tertiary education or even teach in universities. This is a two prong hammering on the locals.
Unfortunately, this will carry on. I believe Singapore will one day become history. Hong Kong has the backing of Chinese government. Singapore has nothing to fall back on. Good luck.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Singaporeans are not aware that they are speaking a form of English which is comical and hard to understand by native English speakers.

comical english phrases & words - highfalutin ... ducks & drakes (not Yu Kee) ... hatchets & cul-de-sacs ...

Unlike Singapore, Korea, China or India has many institutions open for their citizens to pursue tertiary education.

... and PAP wonders why s'poreans don't want to pursue postgrad PhD ... how to ? when so many don't even have a basic/bachelor degree ...

Do not strangle your kids by sending them to a third class university run by people who speaks very bad English and does not know how to teach. For the same amount of money, they can get a much better future studying in Australia or if possible, in USA.

Old Fart -- 3rd class ? ahem i beg your pardon, how dare u ? s'pore/NUS is better than the rural backwaters of australia/canada/NZ !

His English was a superb form of Chinglish.

like what ? here got people sit one ... or here got ppl sit de ... tell us, share share leh .... :D

On one hand, Singapore demands its people to pass English with flying colors to be admitted into education. But on the other hand, Singapore allows free loaders who could not even speak English to snap up tertiary education or even teach in universities. This is a two prong hammering on the locals.

locals have to pass GP and pass it well ... 'B3' & above, now maybe 'A2/A1' .. okay, A1 ... all subjects must be straight As for one to be assured of a place in NUS/SMU plus 'S' paper & all that nonsense, i lost track ...

I believe Singapore will one day become history. Hong Kong has the backing of Chinese government. Singapore has nothing to fall back on. Good luck.

agree, & hopefully i'd be dead & gone by then ... singapore is NOT A REAL COUNTRY ... it shd be a part of m'sia but bcos of social/political reasons, it is not ... s'pore is a piece of snot on the world map with no land for agriculture, no space for proper housing, & no natural resources ...

Not everyone

I am in favour of importing as many high quality PRC undergrads or grads as possible

Without these talent, Singapore will have no future

<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="6" width="100%"><tbody><tr><td nowrap="nowrap"> annexa
user_offline.gif
<script type="text/javascript"> vbmenu_register("postmenu_313193", true); </script>
Alfrescian (S)

</td> <td width="100%"> </td> <td nowrap="nowrap" valign="top"> Join Date: Aug 2008
<fieldset class="fieldset"> <legend>My Reputation:</legend> Points: 217 / Power: 32
reputation_pos.gif
</fieldset>

</td> </tr> </tbody></table> <!-- / user info --> <!-- message, attachments, sig --> <!-- icon and title -->
icon1.gif
Re: Learn to appreciate FTs instead of whining about them
<hr style="color: rgb(152, 152, 152); background-color: rgb(152, 152, 152);" size="1"> <!-- / icon and title --> <!-- message -->

Quote:
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td class="alt2" style="border: 1px inset ;"> Originally Posted by besotted
I am grateful to my PRC Pinoy and Burmese friends and colleagues
</td> </tr> </tbody></table>
Yes all the free fuck. Damn shiok.

Quote:
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td class="alt2" style="border: 1px inset ;"> Originally Posted by besotted
Life would be miserable if I m stuck with non-stop complaining Singaporeans
I agree! Knn sinkie bosses everyday also comprain about small thing. CCB micro manager that why cannot promote, cannot do big biz always become SME. Think themself very big fuck and very clever. Actually a bunch of kukus.

Quote:
With high income and standard of living, they keep whining and yet don't have good work attitude
Yes! Knn get paid 1 million a year, 300,000 a year at 30 years old and still asking for more. Knn just because they can study and exam smart doesn't mean we taxpayer should pay for their shit.

Quote:
PRC work extremely hard, always ask for OT opportunities
Yes, I like how they suck my cock hard every time.

Quote:
Pinoy don't work as hard, but they are very friendly and always good fun
Yes la, see how they prostitute themself at Orchard Tower so to get a few more cents. Damn good fun.

Quote:
Burmese are loyal and have extremely good work attitude
That's why. They cannot speak proper england. So much keep quiet and pretend to work. All stupid bosses like this kind.

Quote:
Singaporeans no work attitude, not hardworking, MC all the time
That is why the MIWs ask sinkies to start biz what. So that they can becum bosses and let the FTs suck their cock everyday.