• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Simple Question Of Right Or Wrong

When we read news reports in the msm or in this forum, it's sometimes amazing what some people do and how they later try to justify their actions with ridiculous logic.

People talk about "grey areas", but for most situations in life, it's pretty clear-cut most of the time.

Take this simple scenario.
You are taking the mrt and are in a hurry. You hear the train coming, so you walk quickly up the escalator. 2 people are standing side by side on the escalator. They are obviously not in a hurry.
Without a word, you give the person standing on the right a shove in the back. The person shouts at you, grabs hold of you and a quarrel ensues.
Who's in the wrong here?

It's pretty clear that you are in the wrong. There's never an excuse to shove somebody in the back, even when u are in a hurry.
But u can bet there will be those who will use this excuse as if it was a valid reason.

... You are taking the mrt and are in a hurry. You hear the train coming, so you walk quickly up the escalator. 2 people are standing side by side on the escalator. They are obviously not in a hurry.
Without a word, you give the person standing on the right a shove in the back ...
actuarry, in sg, usu if u say excuse me, ppl wil gif way ...

dose who dun budge r ft's who dun understand england ...

I hate ppl who stand side by side on the escalator ..they are fucking selfish . Don't need ppl to tell them excuse me .. It's just fuckin common sense not to block the escalator ...when you are not in a hurry ..that's one thing I hated about the behavior of Singaporean .

When we read news reports in the msm or in this forum, it's sometimes amazing what some people do and how they later try to justify their actions with ridiculous logic.

People talk about "grey areas", but for most situations in life, it's pretty clear-cut most of the time.

Take this simple scenario.
You are taking the mrt and are in a hurry. You hear the train coming, so you walk quickly up the escalator. 2 people are standing side by side on the escalator. They are obviously not in a hurry.
Without a word, you give the person standing on the right a shove in the back. The person shouts at you, grabs hold of you and a quarrel ensues.
Who's in the wrong here?

It's pretty clear that you are in the wrong. There's never an excuse to shove somebody in the back, even when u are in a hurry.
But u can bet there will be those who will use this excuse as if it was a valid reason.

===

in Hong Kong, they actually shove you if you are standing on the left (which is the fast moving lane)...no excuse me no nothing, for those more 'gentle', they will brush past you.

but its appropriate to say "excuse me"..

yes, i find these fuckers damm irritating esp those OLs or those fuckers chatting with their chio colleauges - standing on both sides.

There was once a fat woman, nah beh, she stand not left not right, in the middle, i cannot get past either left or right...

bro, not only sporean leh.

Bro ... Few years ago when there's no FTs most Singaporean do that ..now monkey see monkey do ..by the way I don't see any FTs staying in japan do that...why ? Because most Singaporean don't set up good example for the FTs to follow ..

I hate ppl who stand side by side on the escalator ..they are fucking selfish . Don't need ppl to tell them excuse me .. It's just fuckin common sense not to block the escalator ...when you are not in a hurry ..that's one thing I hated about the behavior of Singaporean .

Bro..

Mostly I encounter were fucktard pinoys and ah nehs ccb..

===

in Hong Kong, they actually shove you if you are standing on the left (which is the fast moving lane)...no excuse me no nothing, for those more 'gentle', they will brush past you.

yes, i find these fuckers damm irritating esp those OLs or those fuckers chatting with their chio colleauges - standing on both sides.

There was once a fat woman, nah beh, she stand not left not right, in the middle, i cannot get past either left or right...

Hong Kong people are rude. I was walking with my family and one middle-age lady just push me aside and walk past. Their behavior is considered "normal."

Bro ... When I was in Singapore the whole island do that ...

Only pinoys and indians carry backpacks that are full and has not courtesy to remove it but squeezed into crowded trains and incovenience others as the backpacks take up space.

Bro..

Mostly I encounter were fucktard pinoys and ah nehs ccb..

The biggest irony of all is that these 2 groups are the ones who can understand a simple "excuse me", and yet time and again, they are the ones who are least likely to budge.

My experience with ah tiongs is that they will move if you say "jie guo" loudly. The uneducated bangla and indian workers also tend to move if you say excuse me.
The group least likely to budge is the "educated executive type" ah nehs.

===

Most Hongkongers will say "Um goi", when they want to overtake. We shouldn't be standing in the left lane anyway. In SG, it's the right.

Those fuckers chatting with their chio colleagues should be standing behind them and not by the side. Damn stupid horny bastards. :D

For fat woman, just say "excuse me" loudly. I bet you she will quickly turn to the side and let u pass. :D

That's one point I was trying to make.
The guy standing on the right is in the wrong, pun not intended. :o
There are signs all over the mrt station including by the side of the escalator telling people to stand on the left.

But that's also no excuse for the person in a hurry to shove the person standing on the right. Once u shove a person, u are in the wrong. If u had said excuse me and the person standing on the right had refused to move, then he is in the wrong. It's clear cut.
And u should not be telling the person standing on the left to move, because he's not wrong to stand there.

So many of these reported disputes are clear cut. It's amazing how people can still try to argue.

There are signs all over the mrt station including by the side of the escalator telling people to stand on the left.

But that's also no excuse for the person in a hurry to shove the person standing on the right. Once u shove a person, u are in the wrong. If u had said excuse me and the person standing on the right had refused to move, then he is in the wrong. It's clear cut.
And u should not be telling the person standing on the left to move, because he's not wrong to stand there.

So many of these reported disputes are clear cut. It's amazing how people can still try to argue.

Bro, can understand your frustrations.

During morning rush, I think the passengers quite "auto" and orderly, those not in the rush stand by the left, while those "CBD rushers" will keep moving up on the right.

But I don't understand sometimes during non peak hours, still got those rushers that shove people that get into their way and stare at you after he/she bypassed you, worst is those taking the downwards escalator. It can be quite dangerous when someone just give a little push and it can be a domino effect and victims can get a nasty fall below.

These people really damn rushing for time meh? :confused:

But I don't understand sometimes during non peak hours, still got those rushers that shove people that get into their way and stare at you after he/she bypassed you, worst is those taking the downwards escalator. It can be quite dangerous when someone just give a little push and it can be a domino effect and victims can get a nasty fall below.

These people really damn rushing for time meh? :confused:

Be careful of some of these fuckers.
Some of these type are just out to make trouble, either because they have nothing better to do or perhaps they are trying to create a dispute and profit from it.
The best is always stand to the left side when taking the mrt escalator. There are signs all over telling people to stand to the left.

But that's also no excuse for the person in a hurry to shove the person standing on the right. Once u shove a person, u are in the wrong. If u had said excuse me and the person standing on the right had refused to move,
then he is in the wrong. It's clear cut.
And u should not be telling the person standing on the left to move, because he's not wrong to stand there

Even if there's no sign it's common sense to move to the left ..imagine ppl park their car at the entrance of a car park ...;)

Only pinoys and indians carry backpacks that are full and has not courtesy to remove it but squeezed into crowded trains and incovenience others as the backpacks take up space.

Bro nothing wrong having bagpack if they are considerate ppl . The problem start only if they are selfish .