• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A repeat of Anson?

brocoli

Anson was a shock because the PAP misread the ground and send some cockster who is totally out of touch with ground...

now that the campaign is over, I think we can safely said that Dr Koh is vastly overrated and totally out of his depth...

1) Politics is not like the civil servics, you cannot just parachute down a scholar and just expect everything to run smoothly... look at his walkabout, there is no chemistry between his glassloot entourage and him watsoever.. if he cant even win over his own side, how does he win over the residents..,,, i highly doubt he even try to socialise with his entourage

2) taking a leave out of desmond choo and desmond lim playbook.
he tried to play the sympathy card and it backfire spectacularly... because choo is at least young and a cute auntie killer and Lim is really pathetic... so they can pull it off

Koh just look dishonest and very arrogant... playing the sympathy card and then denying it is really loser

he is an elite yet try to act peasant, this is highly hypocritical... in the online age, any1 can see through him

if you are an elite, just be humble, downplay your elite credential but dun be a fake, dun fucking KPKB about how poor you are when you are not...

show mao pull it off perfectly, he is an immortal and yet 1 of us...

The WP newbies are elites too but never make an effort to hide...

3) pulling a rabit out his hat 3 week before election with only 2 week to prepare for nomination seen to an indication of the unbound resourcefulness of PAP to get candidates out of thin air that WP can only dream of

on hindsight it really only signal desperation and a lack of respect of voters... this guy is highly ambitous and certainly an opportunist ... sending OYK and even desmond choo would have been better for the PAP...

Fielding Koh is really scraping the barrel, i now understand why PAP do not field newbies in SMC, these guys are so out of touch that its really hard for them to fight without the incumbency advantage and 5 years of being familiar with the ground and glasslooters..

Even TPL is a better candidate, u can see she wan to do stuff for people even if she is no MP material, i been saying the same about Li Lian

sending a super credential, highly ambitious cocky Dr Koh in will be disaster for residents...
Its is not easy to make Chan Chun Sing look good but Dr Koh pull it off

The Truth is WP is not very good yet but PAP is really very bad..

Li Lian is no JBJ but because she was the right place at the right time, and she might just pull it off, at least that is what my heart tell me

even though my head is standing by a PAP win..

Lao jiao who remember Anson pls share, I wasnt even born then

In the 1981 Anson by-elections, Mr Chiam See Tong of the Singapore Democratic Party pulled out at the last minute, allowing the Worker's Party candidate to win the election in a multi-corner fight.

Pang Kim Hin, the PAP candidate, was a completely new face to the public.

Hmm.....

you are talking abt an era of gentleman thats pretty much long gone.
nw we have kj and dl playing the hs role.

I remember Anson. I was in the university and was still ambivalent as to whom I supported. While I deeply appreciated the great work that LKY and the PAPzis did for Singapore, I found it very difficult to accept the 1-party state we had become. I also had personal connections with the two previous MPs of Anson - I knew their sons.

It was against this backdrop that I watched the newsflash that announced the results. The RO stepped up to the rostrum in front of the supporters (as it was done in those days.) He appeared somewhat uneasy. When the figures of voting were released, the cheering went wild. My jaw dropped, then I cheered. I called a friend but couldn't get through - I discovered later he was trying to call me. I went to sleep wondering if I'd dreamt it all.

But I also wondered, 'what are the PAPzis going to do now?'

KPK is better than alot of the other useless mps like zoro lim, aunty killer baey, transport lui....etc

Although Chiam withdrew in 1981, Anson was still a 3-cornered fight. It is interesting to note that the 3rd party, Mr Harbans Singh polled 131 votes. The number of spoilt votes were 244.

Can DL do a harbans singh?

i was in kindergarten in 81, too young then. but i remember my kindergarten uniform switch from a blue suspender short to a red white checker short after WP win. i was staying with my uncle then and i can remember the scene where i sat on my uncle shoulder as the residents line the hdb corriddor to cheer on JBJ as JBJ thanks the voters for their support on the flatbed of the WP lorry. that was my first encounter with the Workers' Party.

In number of votes, he did better than Harbans but in percentage terms he achieved half of what Harbans did. As for KJ, WP has done to him what his father did to Harbans. Sad, really.

Can DL do a harbans singh?

In number of votes, he did better than Harbans but in percentage terms he achieved half of what Harbans did. As for KJ, WP has done to him what his father did to Harbans. Sad, really.

spolit vote 400 rite? so KJ total also less that invalid votes. jbj must be rolling in his grave.