a grand for a small sized HDB...

curiosity got the better of me, and me was checking out the size of the so called small sized HDB that our Minister Tharman was talking about. :D:D:D

a snoop around the HDB website was indeed useful, a 2-room HDB was about 47 sqm, or 500 sqf :*::*::*:

me think it would be very helpful when our folks start visiting IKEA to grab some ideas on how they can maximize their living space :o:o:o

just some suggestion for the architects at HDB, possible to raise the ceiling height? the standard ceiling height coupled with such small areas do really make people feel a lil' claustrophobic :eek::eek::eek:

Last time 3 generations of 7-8 persons can squeeze into 3 room HDB flat (size 67sqm).
There were families living in 1 room and 2 room flats also....so what's wrong?
Sinkies like retro so now we all can relive the good old times....

Actually 2 room are limited in the market because HDB dont built it for about 10 year.
Suddenly U turn policy again.

Actually 2 room are limited in the market because HDB dont built it for about 10 year.
Suddenly U turn policy again.
Now even got 'studio' apartments...with 30 year lease....even smaller than 1 room flats of yesteryears

Last time 3 generations of 7-8 persons can squeeze into 3 room HDB flat (size 67sqm).
There were families living in 1 room and 2 room flats also....so what's wrong?

I think you mean the smelly bad old times. :(

Wow, 500 sqf flat, so small like shoebox. How many people can squeeze inside ?

just some suggestion for the architects at HDB, possible to raise the ceiling height? the standard ceiling height coupled with such small areas do really make people feel a lil' claustrophobic :eek::eek::eek:

You mean like SOHO design ? Don't think PAP will approve as higher ceiling means higher construction costs.

hmm... not SOHO design, me was just thinking along the line where the visual illusion of a higher ceiling providing a slightly better environment for the person living inside. imagine those shoebox sized apartment having a standard ceiling height, 500sqf can be rather depressing.

they prepare the old folks to get use to living six-foot under

not feasible bro, six feet under still can't rest in peace, imagine few years down the road then kena evicted? very troublesome, think most old folks opt for cremation liao :eek::eek::eek:

bro,
agree that we've a penchant to boogie to retro, look at those synchronised dancing at zouk and you know exactly what me mean :eek::eek::eek: