• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A&E subsidies for foreigners are here to stay: Gan Kim Yong

MarrickG

SINGAPORE - Subsidies for foreigners needing emergency care are here to stay, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong told Parliament yesterday. He also provided statistics to show that this contributed minimally to the Government's healthcare spending.

He was responding to Member of Parliament Baey Yam Keng (Tampines Group Representation Constituency), who had asked if the Government would remove subsidies for foreigners receiving Accident and Emergency (A&E) care or impose means testing - where the patient's ability to pay determines the size of the bill.

This is because foreigners here would probably be covered by workplace insurance or travel insurance, he said.

Currently, a 50-per-cent subsidy is given to all A&E patients regardless of their nationality. Mr Gan said that, over the last five years, foreigners made up 18 per cent of the yearly patient load at A&E departments - amounting to government subsidies of S$14 million every year.

This is less than 1 per cent of the Health Ministry's total spending on subsidised patient services at public hospitals, which amounted to S$2.2 billion.

"For A&E services, because they affect life and death, we want to make sure administrative processes in the A&E departments are kept as simple as possible," he said.

He pointed out that not all foreigners here have workplace insurance as they are on long-term visit passes.

And as A&E departments provide critical attention for a short period of time, getting hospital staff to verify the patient's nationality or doing means testing will only add to their administrative burden, he said.

"We still like to keep our A&E departments streamlined (and) focus on treating the patients, ensuring that everyone who comes to A&E receives the emergency treatment that they need," added Mr Gan.

As for Singaporeans who need further help even after the 50-per-cent subsidy, Mr Gan cited the existing Medifund scheme and said the Government would continue to look at ways to help the needy.

SINGAPORE - Subsidies for foreigners needing emergency care are here to stay, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong told Parliament yesterday. He also provided statistics to show that this contributed minimally to the Government's healthcare spending.

He was responding to Member of Parliament Baey Yam Keng (Tampines Group Representation Constituency), who had asked if the Government would remove subsidies for foreigners receiving Accident and Emergency (A&E) care or impose means testing - where the patient's ability to pay determines the size of the bill.

This is because foreigners here would probably be covered by workplace insurance or travel insurance, he said.

Currently, a 50-per-cent subsidy is given to all A&E patients regardless of their nationality. Mr Gan said that, over the last five years, foreigners made up 18 per cent of the yearly patient load at A&E departments - amounting to government subsidies of S$14 million every year.

This is less than 1 per cent of the Health Ministry's total spending on subsidised patient services at public hospitals, which amounted to S$2.2 billion.

"For A&E services, because they affect life and death, we want to make sure administrative processes in the A&E departments are kept as simple as possible," he said.

He pointed out that not all foreigners here have workplace insurance as they are on long-term visit passes.

And as A&E departments provide critical attention for a short period of time, getting hospital staff to verify the patient's nationality or doing means testing will only add to their administrative burden, he said.

"We still like to keep our A&E departments streamlined (and) focus on treating the patients, ensuring that everyone who comes to A&E receives the emergency treatment that they need," added Mr Gan.

As for Singaporeans who need further help even after the 50-per-cent subsidy, Mr Gan cited the existing Medifund scheme and said the Government would continue to look at ways to help the needy.

The issue here is the concept and not the quantum of the subsidy. If an issue is conceptually wrong, giving $1 is also way too much and as a "highly-paid" minister, he should be clearer than anyone else.

In addition, I don't really understand his argument on "add to their administrative burden"? I would have thought that not giving subsidies will be less administrative burden, since there will be no need to fill form.

In the event that a Foreigner really cannot pay, then the hospital will have to decide if they want to write off.

what is the point if 50% subsidies is in place for all? Subsidies if i take it correctly, means its available to certain group. When you have 50% subsidies for all, its as good as not having. Just reduce the rates - since everyone will benefit.

its as good as saying - all who go A&E will receive 50% discount on their rates.

The 50% discount means... They can take away anytime they cannot tahan liao...

ladyboy lover shit,

all the vets here know u have tried but FAILED to migrate to aust. :D

In england, a foreign student pays extra to subsidise a local student. However in Spore we are expected to subsidise foreigners :eek:

Isn't this distorting the true cost of hiring foreigners:confused: If the true cost of a FT is higher, then their employers should bare the cost & not the taxpayers:rolleyes:

Mother whore PAP do not get the idea that even a single cent going to subsidise a foreigner do not sit well with sinkies! It is the same everywhere, foreigners are expected to pay in full & pay more!

thats because the unsubsidized rate is a con job meant to clean up your CPF, foreigners should not be made to pay for that. :D

Currently, a 50-per-cent subsidy is given to all A&E patients regardless of their nationality. Mr Gan said that, over the last five years, foreigners made up 18 per cent of the yearly patient load at A&E departments - amounting to government subsidies of S$14 million every year..
Is S$14M peanut to them , why should our tax payer money goes to subsidise foreigner ? I cannot understand the logic behind. Every dollar that goes to foreigner mean a dollar being deprive for true blue singaporean. Am furious with this nonsense.

"We are a city. We are not a country." - K Shanmugam

[video=youtube;CTqabbIPfc0]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTqabbIPfc0&ob=av2e[/video]​

Another useless minister wrt Singaporeans.

Remember to vote him out in 2016.

Another useless minister wrt Singaporeans.

Remember to vote him out in 2016.

Come 2016, Sinkies still L L. Will still vote for no future. 14m small amount la. How many Millionster can you pay for 14m. The economy after 2016 is very unpredictable. Sinkees would want to continue with a tested team to ensure continue sinking. Would you vote for a unknow future or a sinking future?

Why are we subsidising foreigners? Not a matter of how much earned or saved. Just simple question, why?