• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat A cruel country ?

I read this story and wonder why despite our advances we can't look after cases such as this girl. How many of such cases are there to help. Yet we pay useless ministers and political hanger-ons the most lucrative remuneration package in the World.

Once again how many kids have these sort of conditions, mother lost to cancer etc. Yet we give freebies to grassroots and union lowlives.

Single dad eyes better life for special-needs daughter
By CYNTHIA CHOO
raj_qizhen1.jpg

Single father Mr Lee Shang Lian with his daughter Qi Zhen who suffers from global development delay, a condition that results in limited cognitive abilities and mobility. Mr Lee received a one-off sum of S$2,000 from the TODAY Enable Fund, which was meant to help foot Qi Zhen’s medical, education and living expenses. Photo: Raj Nadarajan/TODAY
Published17 DECEMBER, 2017
UPDATED 18 DECEMBER, 2017
  • As the TODAY Enable Fund marks its first anniversary in December, TODAY catches up with three beneficiaries to find out how their lives have improved with the help of the fund. In the first of three reports, widower Lee Shang Lian talks about returning to work and saving for his family’s future

SINGAPORE — Five months ago, seven-year-old Lee Qi Zhen required her father’s help to stand.

Surgery to correct her misaligned eyes in July has changed her world: She is now able to stand and sit on her own, and has even taken her first steps.

The little girl has a convergent squint — an eye condition which causes her eyes to turn inwards — and amblyopia, also known as lazy eye, in both eyes.

She underwent surgery at KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital, and doctors told her father Lee Shang Lian it managed to correct about 85 per cent of the misalignment.

The surgery improved her three-dimensional vision which, in turn, has led her motor skills to improve by leaps.

“In the past, she needed to hold on to me to stand, sit down and walk, but now she can stand and walk on her own, and I only need to support her slightly,” said Mr Lee, a single parent whose wife died of nose cancer five years ago, two weeks shy of Qi Zhen’s second birthday.

Qi Zhen also has global development delay, a condition that affects her cognitive abilities and mobility. “Even though she is seven, her cognitive ability and motor skills are closer to that of a two-year-old,” said Mr Lee, 40, in Mandarin.

After the surgery, “she is able to hold a cup and spoon, and would try to drink and eat on her own, though she still struggles at times. She is also able to recognise and make out faces; she knows who’s who”, said Mr Lee, who used his Medisave funds to foot the hospital bill after Government subsidies.

Qi Zhen’s situational awareness has also improved and she is generally happier.

“Now, she even picks out the dresses she wants to wear,” joked her father.

Like his daughter, Mr Lee is getting back on his feet.

He had to quit his job as a store assistant and delivery driver two years ago to take care of Qi Zhen full-time. The duo lived from hand-to-mouth, surviving on S$600 to $700 in monthly assistance from various funds and welfare organisations.

About two months ago, he returned to work as a private-hire driver and now earns more than S$1,500 a month.

The ability to earn a living again will allow him to save for their future.

Mr Lee credited the S$2,000 received from the TODAY Enable Fund in May for going “a long way” to help his family.

The fund, set up a year ago and administered by SG Enable, supports efforts to enhance the education, skills and employment prospects of people with disabilities.

“I used it to pay for her follow-up visits to the hospital, her medication (eyedrops) and to buy some of her day-to-day necessities,” he said.

After reading their story, which TODAY featured in July, some good Samaritans also donated about S$3,000.

The money has been used for the education expenses of Qi Zhen, a Rainbow Centre student.

Others offered their time, visiting the family and taking Qi Zhen out.

Mr Lee works nine to 10 hours daily and tries to head home for an hour in the middle of the day to check on his daughter.

In his first month of work, he had to rely on family members to look after Qi Zhen but managed to hire a Cambodian domestic helper last month.

He has stopped taking donations, saying: “I am now working to provide for my daughter with my own two hands. It gives me a sense of satisfaction. Slowly, one step at a time, I will continue to improve both our lives.”

He still worries about the future and whether Qi Zhen will be independent when she is older.

“Even when we take her out to the playground, we can see that other children do shun her. It is difficult for her to integrate,” he said.

“I hope my savings can go some way in helping her to survive and also help her to pursue an education if she wishes.”

Poor ugly men shouldn't have kids. They tend to have defects. Should save all the trouble and money with a good condom or get a certified vasectomy.

I read this story and wonder why despite our advances we can't look after cases such as this girl. How many of such cases are there to help. Yet we pay useless ministers and political hanger-ons the most lucrative remuneration package in the World.

Once again how many kids have these sort of conditions, mother lost to cancer etc. Yet we give freebies to grassroots and union lowlives.

Single dad eyes better life for special-needs daughter
By CYNTHIA CHOO
raj_qizhen1.jpg

Single father Mr Lee Shang Lian with his daughter Qi Zhen who suffers from global development delay, a condition that results in limited cognitive abilities and mobility. Mr Lee received a one-off sum of S$2,000 from the TODAY Enable Fund, which was meant to help foot Qi Zhen’s medical, education and living expenses. Photo: Raj Nadarajan/TODAY
Published17 DECEMBER, 2017
UPDATED 18 DECEMBER, 2017
  • As the TODAY Enable Fund marks its first anniversary in December, TODAY catches up with three beneficiaries to find out how their lives have improved with the help of the fund. In the first of three reports, widower Lee Shang Lian talks about returning to work and saving for his family’s future

SINGAPORE — Five months ago, seven-year-old Lee Qi Zhen required her father’s help to stand.

Surgery to correct her misaligned eyes in July has changed her world: She is now able to stand and sit on her own, and has even taken her first steps.

The little girl has a convergent squint — an eye condition which causes her eyes to turn inwards — and amblyopia, also known as lazy eye, in both eyes.

She underwent surgery at KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital, and doctors told her father Lee Shang Lian it managed to correct about 85 per cent of the misalignment.

The surgery improved her three-dimensional vision which, in turn, has led her motor skills to improve by leaps.

“In the past, she needed to hold on to me to stand, sit down and walk, but now she can stand and walk on her own, and I only need to support her slightly,” said Mr Lee, a single parent whose wife died of nose cancer five years ago, two weeks shy of Qi Zhen’s second birthday.

Qi Zhen also has global development delay, a condition that affects her cognitive abilities and mobility. “Even though she is seven, her cognitive ability and motor skills are closer to that of a two-year-old,” said Mr Lee, 40, in Mandarin.

After the surgery, “she is able to hold a cup and spoon, and would try to drink and eat on her own, though she still struggles at times. She is also able to recognise and make out faces; she knows who’s who”, said Mr Lee, who used his Medisave funds to foot the hospital bill after Government subsidies.

Qi Zhen’s situational awareness has also improved and she is generally happier.

“Now, she even picks out the dresses she wants to wear,” joked her father.

Like his daughter, Mr Lee is getting back on his feet.

He had to quit his job as a store assistant and delivery driver two years ago to take care of Qi Zhen full-time. The duo lived from hand-to-mouth, surviving on S$600 to $700 in monthly assistance from various funds and welfare organisations.

About two months ago, he returned to work as a private-hire driver and now earns more than S$1,500 a month.

The ability to earn a living again will allow him to save for their future.

Mr Lee credited the S$2,000 received from the TODAY Enable Fund in May for going “a long way” to help his family.

The fund, set up a year ago and administered by SG Enable, supports efforts to enhance the education, skills and employment prospects of people with disabilities.

“I used it to pay for her follow-up visits to the hospital, her medication (eyedrops) and to buy some of her day-to-day necessities,” he said.

After reading their story, which TODAY featured in July, some good Samaritans also donated about S$3,000.

The money has been used for the education expenses of Qi Zhen, a Rainbow Centre student.

Others offered their time, visiting the family and taking Qi Zhen out.

Mr Lee works nine to 10 hours daily and tries to head home for an hour in the middle of the day to check on his daughter.

In his first month of work, he had to rely on family members to look after Qi Zhen but managed to hire a Cambodian domestic helper last month.

He has stopped taking donations, saying: “I am now working to provide for my daughter with my own two hands. It gives me a sense of satisfaction. Slowly, one step at a time, I will continue to improve both our lives.”

He still worries about the future and whether Qi Zhen will be independent when she is older.

“Even when we take her out to the playground, we can see that other children do shun her. It is difficult for her to integrate,” he said.

“I hope my savings can go some way in helping her to survive and also help her to pursue an education if she wishes.”

Singapore has a "survival of the fittest" mentality and I cannot fault the government for adopting this approach as it the way nature intended it the be.

If you think about the the root cause of all the ills and dangers that mankind has today, global warming, pollution, deforestation, civil unrest etc it will soon dawn on you that the biggest mistake we made in the 20th century was to facilitate the procreation of the inferior gene pool.

The offspring of the inferior end of the bell curve are supposed to suffer far higher mortality rates thus allowing the superior genes to be passed on in far greater numbers and the cream then rises to the top and the cycle of life continues on a path of continuous improvement.

However the application of advances in science and medicine to those who could never afford it without government assistance has turned the whole order of nature on its head and we now have a scenario in almost every country on earth where the inferior are procreating far more rapidly than the superior.

The result of this is the mess we see the world in today. It cannot continue in this manner. Something needs to be done to restore the natural order.

Stop dreaming a nice kind world, 10,000X worse hard brutal world is on the way inevitably, and by then you won't even have strength to complain.

"convergent squint" is a common problem of the 70% who voted for the PAP; for every time they go to polls, their squint eyes will see only the PAP LOGO & they will mark that.

Hail Sam, proponent of the master race :oops:

VZiHFpr_grande.jpg

There's only so much of such people we can take care of before health budget is burst and we need to take money from elsewhere to plug the deficit. She's not the only case. There are probably a lot of other such cases too.

Tough decisions have to be made. Even in western europe, 'free medical treatment' comes at the cost of very high income tax and nonstop government borrowing to fund their basic operations.

Because Singaporeans are selfish fuckers who only care about themselves.

I cannot wait to see the day all the sinkies cry and kpkb about how SGD$ has become worthless.

Because Singaporeans are selfish fuckers who only care about themselves.

I cannot wait to see the day all the sinkies cry and kpkb about how SGD$ has become worthless.

You will be waiting forever. Same as my oppie friends from my student days who keep insisting that our reserves are gone and CPF is a ponzi. They have been eating crow for the past few decades.

There's only so much of such people we can take care of before health budget is burst and we need to take money from elsewhere to plug the deficit. She's not the only case. There are probably a lot of other such cases too.

Tough decisions have to be made. Even in western europe, 'free medical treatment' comes at the cost of very high income tax and nonstop government borrowing to fund their basic operations.

Nothing wrong with asking the rich to pay a bit more for the poor.

All free or subsidised medical treatment should be and is means tested.

Don't blame the system...blame the people abusing it.

Nothing wrong with asking the rich to pay a bit more for the poor.

All free or subsidised medical treatment should be and is means tested.

Don't blame the system...blame the people abusing it.

The rich are already paying a bit more. What you are asking is for everyone to pay A LOT MORE!

People abuse the system because jerkoffs like you encourage them and demonize those who point out the abuse.

For those advocating survival of the fittest, ponder on this.

Without weakness, you do not know what is strength. Without darkness, you do not know what is light. Without grief, you do not know what is joy. Without failure, you do not know what is success. Without death, you do not know what is life. Without compassion, you do not know what is cruelty.

Singapore has a "survival of the fittest" mentality and I cannot fault the government for adopting this approach as it the way nature intended it the be.

If you think about the the root cause of all the ills and dangers that mankind has today, global warming, pollution, deforestation, civil unrest etc it will soon dawn on you that the biggest mistake we made in the 20th century was to facilitate the procreation of the inferior gene pool.

The offspring of the inferior end of the bell curve are supposed to suffer far higher mortality rates thus allowing the superior genes to be passed on in far greater numbers and the cream then rises to the top and the cycle of life continues on a path of continuous improvement.

However the application of advances in science and medicine to those who could never afford it without government assistance has turned the whole order of nature on its head and we now have a scenario in almost every country on earth where the inferior are procreating far more rapidly than the superior.

The result of this is the mess we see the world in today. It cannot continue in this manner. Something needs to be done to restore the natural order.
But cancerous cunt runs it?? Nazi eugenics fail

For those advocating survival of the fittest, ponder on this.

Without weakness, you do not know what is strength. Without darkness, you do not know what is light. Without grief, you do not know what is joy. Without failure, you do not know what is success. Without death, you do not know what is life. Without compassion, you do not know what is cruelty.

i am happy to report that me , leongSam , Johnny boy Tan and the vast majority are not troubled by these kind of questions.
weakness , grief , failure are not in our vocabulary , we are born with an animal instinct and we go one better than the animals.
animals kill for food only while we are never satisfy what what we have.
we plan ,scheme , back stab to gain more wealth. in our world it is not just survival , it is the accumulation of great wealth
, the possession of power that we work towards.
we are very happy with our life.
we are human , but without a humane trait.