• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$8.50 for chicken rice, expensive?

For those of you who are faithful and regular customers of Food Republic, Toast Box, Din Tai Fung, Breadtalk bakeries etc, here's a desktop wallpaper specially for you.

ST_20130407_JWKQUEK_3600678e_2x.jpg

This bastard is the cause of FOOD price inflation! Spit at him if you see him! :cool:

he needs your money to pay for his failure

Food square at St James closes
17 February 11 The Straits Times

Has a new, nostalgia-tinged gluttons' haven become a thing of the past all too soon?

Barely two weeks into its opening, the Food Republic Beer Garden at St James Power Station has closed temporarily, with operators citing 'technical reasons' for the move. The 400-seat hawker-food venue, located at the carpark of the entertainment complex, opened its doors to the public on Jan 29 but closed last week.

A representative from Food Republic says a technical problem with the exhaust system is to blame. Regulatory checks by the relevant authorities are due to be carried out, once the problem is worked out.

Food Republic did not elaborate on the exhaust problem.

The Food Republic Beer Garden, a project costing more than $2 million, is a collaboration between St James Holdings' chief executive officer Dennis Foo and BreadTalk Group chairman George Quek. The BreadTalk group runs the Food Republic food courts, Toast Box coffee-toast chain and Din Tai Fung eateries.

Styled to resemble the street hawkers of 1960s Singapore, the 18 stalls operating out of pushcarts and lorries offered standard hawker fare such as prata, rojak, char kway teow and wonton noodles.

There is also a full service bar called Street Bar and live entertainment from the beer garden's resident band, a father and daughter duo from China, and veteran local band 5 Series and Hacker from China. Mr Stephen Davis, marketing manager of St James Holdings, says operations of Street Bar and the live acts will be halted during the period of the closure.

No date has been set for the beer garden's re-opening.

Shairah Thoufeekh Ahamed

Chatterbox at Mandrain on orchard road cost $27++
Why Seagant in ION also orchard road cannot charge $8.50? Lol

i've never eaten at any of these food chains leh..................too rich for my blood.............fast food is most high-end liao for me............

Chatterbox at Mandrain on orchard road cost $27++
Why Seagant in ION also orchard road cannot charge $8.50? Lol

i love chatterbox chicken rice too. i try to go there once in a while. yum yum, highly recommend the chicken.

8.50 is about 5 euro right, try to get such a meal in europe for 5 euro, not possible, usa also 6 us dollar , you cannot find such good deal. Ion does not seem so bad as compare to other first world countries, get used to it, one day the hawker will charge 8.50. Just wait.

i love chatterbox chicken rice too. i try to go there once in a while. yum yum, highly recommend the chicken.

8.50 is about 5 euro right, try to get such a meal in europe for 5 euro, not possible, usa also 6 us dollar , you cannot find such good deal. Ion does not seem so bad as compare to other first world countries, get used to it, one day the hawker will charge 8.50. Just wait.

not all earning Eurozone wages leh..........

Dun do selective comparison la.
Europe one beer cost 2 euros....
EC ministers draw million dollars salaries?

A kraut chap told me tat in krautland a kebab cost 3.5 euros and its a much bigger than the ones in ozland n spore.

Anywhere good in SG to go for xiao long bao? :o

in case anybody wants to know:

Hainanese Delicacy Chicken Rice
14 Scotts Road
Far East Plaza #05-116
Tel: +65 734 0639

i'd rather walk to far east plaza to eat than eat at ion.

2 euro beer, you dun want to drink those chemical beer, very unhealthy.
yeah they dun draw millions, but hard to compare a country with thousands of year of history vs singapore about 50 years.
In the future, thousands of year in the future, if we average out the salary of minister in europe and singapore, it will be about the same.

But EC ministers, never sacrifice their private sector, million Euros carrers to join the government, to serve the people like we have. We have ministers, who gave up their million dollars salaries for 'peanuts' to serve us & are AFFORDABLE & AT A BARGAIN!!!!...sic!

That is the difference!! :rolleyes:

You get what you pay for. That's why it is indisputable we have the best government in the world!

When I pay higher price for food... I expect better quality and sufficient amount! Not paying for their Rent and substandard food.

Yes, the above, including ambience and location...