• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$69 meal - three credit cards maxed out and still kaopeh

besotted

This evening an interesting though not unusual incident occurred at my restaurant

A well-dressed young couple in their 20s came to makan. After a meal of $69.00, the man took out his credit card to pay and the card was maxed up, so he took out a second and third card with the same result.

My waiter politely asked if he had cash because waiting for the approval was holding up the queue.

He exploded, banged table and demanded to see the manager. I came over and said I am the owner and asked him to pay up or I will call the police. He said he will get his lawyer to sue me for embarassing him in public.

I pointed to him the overhead CCTV which recorded the whole incident and told him to pay up and leave and save us all the trouble. He said he had no cash, so had to go through the credit cards.

Finally, his woman companion paid - also with credit card - and told him off for making a scene unnecessarily and caused other customers to stare at them.

$69 so many cards. If only Singaporean youngsters can pay cash like the PRCs - save trouble and save me pay the mecrhant levy.

Sigh.... we need more PRCs to upgrade our quality of life.

prince123456

aiya.. youngster.. never call prince ..

will advise him .. young man.... nowadays ... never sign any credit card..
use cash and gold...

i am sure .. if i take out my $1k bill.. u will smile ...:biggrin:

vamjok

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

this reminds me of another incident where i used to work as a waiter.

that lady was quite well dress up for the gathering with her friend and decided to pay for the meal, cost about say 200 dollars.

with a kind of fuck up air: "i pay its ok"

took out the card and i swap, error....swap again error.

Me: "sorry miss i cannot process the card."

took out another one.....error...and another... and another and another...a total of 5 cards. Her friends got really embarrassed by this as everyone in the restaurant saw that and decided to step forward to pay for it. stubborn as she is, she took out the 6th card.

it work and that 6th card save the day and all her gang hurried up and left the restaurant.

Really bad. Dont even have $69 cash/nets. Still want to show off have lots of money and call lawyer. Lawyer will not take case. No money no case.
If I were there I will ask him, if not happy can sue me. See what he will do?
No money act big/talkcock.

lifeafter41

Really bad. Dont even have $69 cash/nets. Still want to show off have lots of money and call lawyer. Lawyer will not take case. No money no case.
If I were there I will ask him, if not happy can sue me. See what he will do?
No money act big/talkcock.

It makes one wonder if young people nowadays spend money like there is no tomorrrow to max out their credit card but don't even have some cash to pay for a less than 70 dollars meal.

It also reminds me of an incident, where a young lady, at a supermarket, tried to pay for some foodstuff, which cost S$8.90 or less than S$10 with a credit card, but after numerous attempts, the card was rejected, tried another card, still the same result. She was making noise with the cashier that the terminal was faulty. when asked if she could pay in cash, got credit cards, but told the cashier got no cash on hand. No choice, but to leave the items at the counter.

Not happy with what happened, she stay on just to make sure the next customer pay with credit card also have this problem just to prove her point of the terminal being faulty, but apparently to her surprised, the next customer credit card swipe through without any problem. Everyone start to look at her when that happened and she quietly just left the scence, totally embarassed.

really? what is the name of restaurant?
can we go and eat and support fellow forummer.
and i normally pay by cash
only use credit card for airplane ticket, hotel and internet porn.

This evening an interesting though not unusual incident occurred at my restaurant

A well-dressed young couple in their 20s came to makan. After a meal of $69.00, the man took out his credit card to pay and the card was maxed up, so he took out a second and third card with the same result.

My waiter politely asked if he had cash because waiting for the approval was holding up the queue.

He exploded, banged table and demanded to see the manager. I came over and said I am the owner and asked him to pay up or I will call the police. He said he will get his lawyer to sue me for embarassing him in public.

I pointed to him the overhead CCTV which recorded the whole incident and told him to pay up and leave and save us all the trouble. He said he had no cash, so had to go through the credit cards.

Finally, his woman companion paid - also with credit card - and told him off for making a scene unnecessarily and caused other customers to stare at them.

$69 so many cards. If only Singaporean youngsters can pay cash like the PRCs - save trouble and save me pay the mecrhant levy.

Sigh.... we need more PRCs to upgrade our quality of life.

1sickpuppy II

I always believe cash is king. Only time I ever used my credit card to pay is when I can't pay by cash like buying stuff on the internet. Hell I even pay for my HDB pegion hole deposit in cash. The HDB officer gave me that dirty look when I handed her the amount in new $50 bills in a brown paper bag.

WB18-001-0-WAN.jpg

moolightaffairs

bro, can explain how the levy thing work? i also like to use credit card to pay. :biggrin: if not a lot of coins ting ting tong tong and got discounts and points. but i actually like nets better if nets got discount like credit cards or point system to redeem some rewards, i will stick to nets and stop using credit card.

uncleyap

People in business these days encounter lots of crazy difficult customers, I sympathize with the owner as well as employees. But for $69 pse don't select PRCs over our fellow Singaporeans, or otherwise the sentiments here turn against you instead.:(:eek::p

I also witnessed something quite nuts at a friends shop during CNY. I will not post the details here, but the employees told me that a certain customer is a suspected drug edict & lecher who all the young sales girls runs away from. Aunties sales women then had no choice but to serve this customer. Don't ask me where are the salesmen!

:rolleyes::(:mad:

kensington

Cheapies Singaporeans. Boh Chai Tiao still wants to act out. Name dropping lawyers, woh !!!!

Must be the fucking schooling system, turning out batches after batches of the the so called nincompoops who has no money and complained about nail-clippings in MRT. Oh too bad, can't migrate either. Get stuck in your third world hole for I cared.

Not even $ 69.00 from 3 credit cards, what a shame and a prime candidate in front of the MRT fot for ststistical purposes. Fucking morons who namedrops lawyer to sue but do the lawyer really knows him ? And to rub this in, $69.00 won't even buys the lawyers coffees.

longbow

But isn't that the rational? Singaporeans have all their savings in CPF. Regardless of complaints about HDB prices this CPF would be able to pay up their flat in 25 years and after that they will still have about $100K left in CPF and still got medisave. SO just spend all the cash they have in hand lah. At very worst reverse mortgage flat to HDB and get $600 a month from HDB for life.

PRC have a lot of cash, in fact PRC savings rate is huge because country has no safety net. SO people MUST save for their retirement.

S

sodoMee

yeah lor, like SGP gabramen issuing bonds by getting into billions of debts..

so guess who is paying for their shopping spree? :biggrin:

69 lollars for a meal for two? whoa! what they ordered?

Last edited by a moderator:

boundThunter

But isn't that the rational? Singaporeans have all their savings in CPF. Regardless of complaints about HDB prices this CPF would be able to pay up their flat in 25 years and after that they will still have about $100K left in CPF and still got medisave. SO just spend all the cash they have in hand lah. At very worst reverse mortgage flat to HDB and get $600 a month from HDB for life.

It is rational to spend all their disposable incomes but very irrational to the shopkeepers who have to serve them and be on the receiving of their tantrums and threats of litigations when things don't go their way. Who the hell they think they are ? This is the primary type of kiasuism that has to be eradicated, all men are created equal, with 3 useless credit cards or not, hahaha...:biggrin:

no_faith

furthermore, by having tons of cc doesnt mean anyting. one or two is enuff.

having too many cc doesnt mean u r rich etc. it doesnt roll money.
if u r not a rich fucker, dun try tis act. u r falling into a shit hole.