• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

6000 Workers strike & walk out at Sinkie firm in China

Extremist

20120919.115015_rot_strike.jpg

Wednesday, Sep 19, 2012
SHANGHAI - Thousands of workers at a Singapore-owned plant in China's commercial hub of Shanghai have gone on strike to protest against a plan to move the factory, a labour rights group said Wednesday.

About 6,000 workers at the Flextronics plant walked out Monday, vowing to continue the action until they are paid compensation after the firm said it would shift output to a plant in nearby Suzhou city, New York-based China Labor Watch said in a statement.

The Shanghai factory could not be immediately reached for comment on Wednesday.

Flextronics Technology (Shanghai), which was set up in late 2001, makes printing devices and electronic components, according to Jiading district, where the plant is located.

The firm has operations in several cities in China, including another district of Shanghai and two facilities in Suzhou, according to the company's website.

China was hit by a wave of strikes late last year, as employees protested over low salaries, wage cuts and poor conditions after companies announced cutbacks due to the global economic slowdown.

In December, thousands of workers at a plant in the eastern city of Nanjing owned by South Korea's LG Group staged a three-day strike, which ended after the company agreed to double year-end bonuses.

1. honest, chins are shit!
2. want every damn thing to its favour.
3. law or acts do not apply there.
4. super pro labour too!
5. investors go in is literal suicidal.
6. i am handling chins day in day out!
7. no eye see.

Those Singapore Employers who always complain about Singapore Employees can closed down their operations in Singapore and relocate to China for cheaper labour.

The firm deserves this since it prefers to operate the plant there than here.

If that happened in Spore, the ringleaders would be thrown in jail or kena tarok in NS e.g. something that Tan Wah Piow faced. ;)

It won't happen. Sinkies have no balls to do that.

Those Singapore Employers who always complain about Singapore Employees can closed down their operations in Singapore and relocate to China for cheaper labour.

1. bro, don't worry.
2. chins are going to outprice themselves in no time.
3. i bet on it.
4. btw, i am doing the chin monthly payroll thing!

1. bro, don't worry.
2. chins are going to outprice themselves in no time.
3. i bet on it.
4. btw, i am doing the chin monthly payroll thing!

What do u mean ? U do chin mthly payroll in Sinkeeland or China ?:D

1. aiyoh!
2. i am its corporate hr function.
3. we share the same corp server mah!
4. i have the full access to its hr thing in chineyland.
5. i always travelled there frequently too.
6. no problem performing its payroll here in sin, remotely!

This is great news for Singapore! The cost of having higher pay to Singapore workers is much cheaper than shutting down factories in China due to unstable workforce protest.

Ringleader maybe. But 6000 strong hold! Woooo.....got to activate the whole MHA.

This is a good lesson to all the major Sinkie companies doin business overseas..

You want cheap labour, this is what you'll get..

Serve Flextronic right..

they would still prefer to risk this rather than appear to give in to sinkie ' demands ' Its their mentality.

The firm deserves this since it prefers to operate the plant there than here.

This is great news for Singapore! The cost of having higher pay to Singapore workers is much cheaper than shutting down factories in China due to unstable workforce protest.

1. just to give you guys an example.
2. its monthly sif; equates to sinkie cpf.
3. employer portion : 28%, employee 19%.
4. literally taxing on the employer.
5. how to tahan for long-term.

1. just to give you guys an example.
2. its monthly sif; equates to sinkie cpf.
3. employer portion : 28%, employee 19%.
4. literally taxing on the employer.
5. how to tahan for long-term.

In addition, there are also monthly under-table "moneys, gifts and meals" to placate their government officers. My Taiwanese client told me this. He said that if you don't relent to their needs, they'll give you trouble in your factory, especially on safety aspects and you'll be forced to stop production until they are certified again. Sometimes, they are so daring that they'll even call you at night to say that "they are quite tight presently" and you should know what to do next. Otherwise, expect to have their officers coming to enforce some unnecessary troubles in your factory soon.

1. hahahaha!
2. aiyoh! this is just the tip of the iceberg hoh.
3. i have known many many officers from its customer department.
4. such individuals living in big big big bungalows in upside shanghai hoh!

1. hahahaha!
2. aiyoh! this is just the tip of the iceberg hoh.
3. i have known many many officers from its customer department.
4. such individuals living in big big big bungalows in upside shanghai hoh!

Streetsmart, I need a job. Can recommend me?

10k sgd a month with guarantee fix bonus of at least 3 months.
1 rented apartment in pudong
1 20 years old female P.A.
10k rmb entertainment fund per month
2 SQ tickets back to SGP every year

I'm sure you can help me find lah. Toilet cleaner in sinkie land already earning 5k per month.