• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

60% of Singaporeans must be elated | bus & MRT Fares rise only 1%

They must be feeling very smug and pleased that the PTC has heard all the opinions of the people and drastically slashed the application of SMRT and SBS to have fares increase of 2.8%.

By limiting the increase to only 1%, it sent a clear message that any fare increase is tantamount to corresponding improvement in service level.

Alot of gratitude must also be given to our Transport Minister who diligently see for himself at first hand, the state of our public transport

Of course, the 40% of the repenting population must now realise that PTC has done a great service is acting as a watchdog to ensure SMRT and SBS are not overzealous in meeting their obligations to their stakeholders (note: stakeholders not shareholders)

it is surely a great gift for Singapore and her citizens on her 46th birthday.

1. yes, sheep must be very blessed that its gods and masters listen to its plea leh!
2. reducing the impending fare hike only up 1%.
3. ptc so effective and efficient too!
4. must pray, pray and more prayers.
5. burn joss-sticks, paper monies too.

Share holders don't worry lah, next round they will make up for the "lost" revenue by increasing the fare even more:rolleyes:

2016 will be another win, By then the local born will be invader by new-citizens. Their loyalty will be with the government. All is lost. 2011 was the last chance.
Best will be to just forget about politics all together cos it will stress out your life even more, so the best way now is to just treat this country like a company and once you are done, Resign from the country and try to get citizenship somewhere else + you get all your cpf in straight cash and you can retire happily ever after.

And by the way, what are we defending?

Next time they will request for 28% increase to the fare. 60% will kiss the feet of PTC when the final announcement is 2.8% increase.

Of course, the 40% of the repenting population must now realise that PTC has done a great service is acting as a watchdog to ensure SMRT and SBS are not overzealous in meeting their obligations to their stakeholders (note: stakeholders not shareholders)

Shareholders are actually thankful to the PTOs for asking 2.8% and gotten 1%. Look at the SMRT transactions in SGX, while most other stocks are taking a beating following the huge US drop. If PTOs have asked for only 1%, they would have gotten lesser.

Do a calculation of what 1% would yield to their balance sheet and you'll have a better understanding of this 2.8% trick/illusion.

20110805-SMRT.gif

20110805-STI.gif

Let's now raise the price of wanton mee to S$1000 per plate.

:rolleyes:

Correction hor. Their loyalty will be with the pappy hor. Please dont equate government and political parties hor. And reinforce brain washing hor.

2016 will be another win, By then the local born will be invader by new-citizens. Their loyalty will be with the government. All is lost. 2011 was the last chance.
Best will be to just forget about politics all together cos it will stress out your life even more, so the best way now is to just treat this country like a company and once you are done, Resign from the country and try to get citizenship somewhere else + you get all your cpf in straight cash and you can retire happily ever after.

And by the way, what are we defending?