• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

6 OCS jokers kena struck by lightning!

Balls2U

Six full-time national servicemen (NSF) were hurt when a bolt of lightning hit the hill they were training on in Marsiling last week. The men were participating in a training excercise under a shelter during the time.

The NSFs, who were undergoing training to become officers, took shelter under a tree from rain at the time when the exercise was temporarily suspended, according to a Straits Times report.

Mostly in their late teens, the cadets were taking part in a platoon field-defence mission which required them to capture the top of the hill and set up chest-deep bunkers there to protect themselves against the “enemy”. Defence Ministry spokesman Darius Lim said the excercise was “temporarily suspended due to inclement weather”.

Colonel Lim said the injured cadets were immediately tended to by medics on site and a military doctor at the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Medical Centre. One officer cadet was released at the medical centre while the other five were sent to hospital for “further medical checks”, he said.

According to Col Lim, all six cadets were granted medical leave. Five have resumed training this week while a sixth will join the rest next week. One of the cadets now has hearing difficulties.

“The SAF has investigated the incident and has found that the unit had adhered to the stipulated training safety requirements,” Col Lim added.

This incident comes as no surprise as Singapore has one of the highest rates of lightning activity in the world. The hot and humid weather is ideal for the formation of lightning-producing storm clouds.

The National Environment Agency (NEA) revealed that 0.35 deaths were recorded for every one million people here between 2000 and 2003. Also between 1982 and last year, the NEA detected lightning on an average of 186 days a year.

According to lightning expert Liew Ah Choy of National University of Singapore’s (NUS) electrical and computer engineering department, when lightning hits the ground, its voltage spreads.

“When someone has two feet on the ground, the difference in voltages will push the current through the legs into the body and electrocute the person,” he said. A person standing up to 100m away from where the lightning current enters the ground may also be electrocuted.

Direct lightning hits are fatal. Nearly 200,000 amps of electricity, enough to power half a million 100W lightbulbs, will course through the person’s body. This can burst blood vessels, stop the heart and even leave burn marks.

Mr Soh Lye Huat, 57, experienced a direct hit at Tanah Merah Country Club last October. He died two weeks later from multiple organ failure.

While there is little we can do to stop lightning, we can take precautions to avoid being hit:

1) Don’t stay out in any open areas like fields, golf courses, or parking lots.
2) Stay away from all forms of metal
3) Stop swimming and get away from water
4) Don’t stand under tall objects like trees of towers

What are you defending?

jobsFTns.jpg

While there is little we can do to stop lightning, we can take precautions to avoid being hit:

1) Don’t stay out in any open areas like fields, golf courses, or parking lots.
2) Stay away from all forms of metal
3) Stop swimming and get away from water
4) Don’t stand under tall objects like trees of towers

---> The 154th conveniently omitted the fact that they would not be injured if they were not serving NS. So the best precaution is not to hold that blood soaked ink tampon - one that all FTrash are well aware of and taken!

Yet again, the FAPee Sell Country Thieves would wait till the NSmen confirmed not dead then leeport. Even then it appears that one is injuriously injured. What if they died? Either hide under the carpet or wait till after the next GE then leeport? Sporns, wake up your fcuking idea. Your lives are dirt cheep and a political liability to the Familee TRAITORS!

This incident comes as no surprise as Singapore has one of the highest rates of lightning activity in the world. The hot and humid weather is ideal for the formation of lightning-producing storm clouds.

---> Sure, Sporns die serving NS to protect a Familee of Sell Country Thieves + doting on their FTrash pets with Freebies + Milking dry Sporns should not be surprising. But what's surprising is that 66% Goondus have no issue with it???

wahlaneh

The NSFs, who were undergoing training to become officers, took shelter under a tree from rain at the time when the exercise was temporarily suspended, according to a Straits Times report.

wahlaneh...
their laopeh laoboo never taught them one meh?:confused:
never stand under a tree when raining esp when lightning strikes.

As I understand it, Hill 265 was roughly where the Sports School now is.

No wonder, every time I pass by that sports school, I get a strange, familar forgotten feeling...

Question, do they still have hills in marsiling for them 6 OCS to train in?

question is, these are officers to be, in future - officers who, in times of war, is supposed to lead men and chart strategies...and yet they don't even know something that a 3-year old will know, that is never fucking stand under the tree during a storm...

fuck liao loh, what kind of officers are we getting....probably the only tree they know is Mapletree Story.:eek:

question is, these are officers to be, in future - officers who, in times of war, is supposed to lead men and chart strategies...and yet they don't even know something that a 3-year old will know, that is never fucking stand under the tree during a storm...

fuck liao loh, what kind of officers are we getting....probably the only tree they know is Mapletree Story.:eek:

I let in a secret....some OCS I was attached to, eons ago as observer on P Tekong on a section topo march....got lost, using a SAF issued topo map...who knows one of these in the section maybe one of the top guys in SAF...

ha ha ha ha a topo map, lost in P.Tekong....ha ha ha ha so, what is new SAF in 2010???:biggrin:

HTOLAS

It's not as simple as you made it sound.

Taking shelter under a tree during a thunderstorm is not necessarily any more dangerous than, say, standing in the open. Remember the Gurkha trooper who was struck while walking across an open field?

Also, if you had been inside the jungle, would you not have been in grave danger every time it rained? Yet, the rainforest is relatively safe in a storm.

What would have been dangerous is if they had sought shelter under the ONLY or tallest tree in an otherwise open space. Lightning seeks out the tallest available object to strike.

I think the lightning did not make a direct hit at them or the tree they were under. If it did, they would not have got off with such light injuries. They probably were not under the tallest tree.

Finally, the behaviour of lightning is not always predictable. Many years ago, a WO in my camp was killed when lightning struck a Nissen Hut he was in. That Nissen Hut had working lightning conductors and was in the lowest part of the camp. It was just his time.

Taking shelter under a tree during a thunderstorm is not necessarily any more dangerous than, say, standing in the open. Remember the Gurkha trooper who was struck while walking across an open field?

Also, if you had been inside the jungle, would you not have been in grave danger every time it rained? Yet, the rainforest is relatively safe in a storm.

What would have been dangerous is if they had sought shelter under the ONLY or tallest tree in an otherwise open space. Lightning seeks out the tallest available object to strike.

I think the lightning did not make a direct hit at them or the tree they were under. If it did, they would not have got off with such light injuries. They probably were not under the tallest tree.

Finally, the behaviour of lightning is not always predictable. Many years ago, a WO in my camp was killed when lightning struck a Nissen Hut he was in. That Nissen Hut had working lightning conductors and was in the lowest part of the camp. It was just his time.

This I have to agree!....the WO most likely was being cursed by many for he tekan too many people...there are not that many Nissan huts... i guess I know where you are referring to, though I am not from there...

I ,during my 'slavery' days witness a sudden change of weather & with my own eyes saw lightning stirke some 100m from where i stood in an open area in a cemetary...it was not my time!:biggrin:

HTOLAS

Actually, this WO was a good guy. Many of his soldiers actually cried at his wake.

This I have to agree!....the WO most likely was being cursed by many for he tekan too many people...there are not that many Nissan huts... i guess I know where you are referring to, though I am not from there...

I ,during my 'slavery' days witness a sudden change of weather & with my own eyes saw lightning stirke some 100m from where i stood in an open area in a cemetary...it was not my time!:biggrin:

zuoom

then maybe just one word - unlucky.

HTOLAS

I think they were not unlucky - they were only lightly hurt and got a few days off. This is of course unless there is some residual effects we don't know of.

If you are ever caught in a thunderstorm and have a vehicle nearby. Get in:

<object width="500" height="405"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/ve6XGKZxYxA&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1?border=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ve6XGKZxYxA&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1?border=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="500" height="405"></embed></object>

then maybe just one word - unlucky.