• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

54 Political appointees (Ministers, Perm Secs, etc.) cost $40 million to taxpayers

Average costs of one of these political appointees (classified as Ministers, Ministers of State, and Parliamentary Secs) to taxpayer is $740,000. Starting pay for the Minister is $1.1 million. This is very efficient and productive govt meh? The PAP based the salary on the top 1000 earners in Singapore. But many of these fuck scholar general Ministers are not even in the top 100,000 in ability. fair or not? Gong cheebye 70% vote for this shit?

How much does Singapore spend on political appointments?

When Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong announced his new cabinet and political appointments last Monday (28 September), one of the moves involved appointing two ministers of equal standing to both the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI) and the Ministry of Education (MOE).

The two new Education ministers, Ong Ye Kung and Ng Chee Meng, both won their seats for the first time in the recent General Elections. Two new Coordinating Minister posts were also created — for Economic and Social Policies, and Infrastructure, joining the previous Coordinating Minister for National Security.

In total, there are now 54 political appointments, including Ministers of State and Parliamentary Secretaries. This is one more than the estimated number of political appointments in the Budget for 2015.

In the Budget delivered in February, the various ministries estimated the total expenditure for political appointments in the year to be $40 million, a slight increase over 2014’s revised figures of $38.9 million, according to figures from the Budget 2015 website.

Despite the number of politicians holding multiple portfolios, the Public Service Division (PSD) website states a political appointment holder would only receive one pay package, although they still get their Member of Parliament allowances because of the dual roles they perform.

According to revised figures for 2014, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ (MFA) political appointments expenditure was around $150,000. In comparison, that of the Law Ministry was $2 million. Current Home Affairs Minister K. Shanmugam had previously held both the Foreign Affairs portfolio and the Law portfolio, retaining the latter in the new cabinet.

Any pay-matching?

There is also a make-up pay system, which gives the Prime Minister the flexibility to offer a higher salary "outside of the Ministerial salary ranges to an outstanding candidate from the private sector who may be drawing a significantly higher salary".

The system, which was introduced in 1989, was not used up to 2012, according to the PSD’s website. Yahoo Singapore reached out to the PSD last week to ask if this had changed with the new Cabinet appointments.

In an email reply on Wednesday, the PSD said there was “no other information available apart from what is already publicly available.”

Currently, the pay of an entry-level minister of the MR4 grade at the benchmark level is $55,000 monthly. This works out to an annual salary of $1.1 million, of which $715,000 is fixed and the remainder variable.

Screenshot of the FAQ page from the Public Service Division website.Screenshot of the FAQ page from the Public Service Division website.

The benchmark is based on the median income of the top 1,000 income earners who are Singapore citizens, after a 40 per cent reduction, which the PSD says is to “reflect the ethos of political service”.

The salaries of the other political appointment holders are determined based on a ratio of the MR4 grade, which “reflect the roles and responsibilities of the different political appointment holders”.

Biggest, smallest spenders

According to the 2014 revised figures in the Budget, the Prime Minister’s Office has the largest expenditure for political appointments at $15.2 million. This is followed by MTI at $2.48 million and the Ministry of National Development at $2.44 million.

The ministry that spent the least on political appointments was the MFA, then the Ministry of Community, Culture and Youth at around $740,000, followed by both the MOE and the Ministry of Environment and Water Resources at around $965,000.

The issue of politicians’ pay has been brought up many times, most recently earlier this year in Parliament.

MP Edwin Tong had asked if it was time to review the framework which determined political salaries, to which Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean replied that the Committee to Review Ministerial Salaries had recommended the framework be reviewed every five years. It was last reviewed in 2011, and the recommendations made in 2012.

Teo also revealed the benchmark MR4 salary should have increased to $1.2 million in 2014, but the government had kept it at the 2011 level of $1.1 million.

Re: 54 Political appointees (Ministers, Perm Secs, etc.) cost $40 million to taxpayer

Hi there

1. Some super top heavy structure.
2. What's equally important : precise kpis of each such crap.

Re: 54 Political appointees (Ministers, Perm Secs, etc.) cost $40 million to taxpayer

A small price to pay
to keep corruption at bay

Hi there

KPIs are meaningless to them. They just rig it. U want to tie salary to GDP as part of the KPI, simple, build more roads, more MRT stations and more HDB flat, and for sure your GDP will rise. All KPI input factors can be manipulated by them.

you voted them in your fault. US, UK all Ang Moh's love the PAP what to do. If this was Burma or North Korea sanctions and bombing would happen. So sorry Sinkies your dumb fucking fault.

KPIs are meaningless to them. They just rig it. U want to tie salary to GDP as part of the KPI, simple, build more roads, more MRT stations and more HDB flat, and for sure your GDP will rise. All KPI input factors can be manipulated by them.

Ownerself checks Ownerself :D

LKY was right. Money solves many problems. Can it be done when the government money no enough?

Sinkies vote for such shit.. So get screwed lah..

70% has no problem with that

Hi there

Heavy Top..?? Bloated bureaucracy..??

NO NO.!!! We need all these for a 10 million population...

Hurray..10 million here we come...

Heavy Top..?? Bloated bureaucracy..??

NO NO.!!! We need all these for a 10 million population...

Hurray..10 million here we come...

Hi there

1. Dogs dogs dogs everywhere :D
2. In the midst of snakes, chins & pinoys.

Can you believe that WP fucking votes in the budget put up by the PAP every year to allow these fucks to earn $40 million a year. Can you say fake oppo.

No problem. Soon WP will have their own appointment holders courtesy of Loong.

How they hide the bonuses given?

Do you have sympathy for the daft 69.9?
One day im going become a billionaire and build my conglomerate.then im going to suck every sinkies money and give it to other people in other countries who deserve it.obvious sinkies love throwing money away.

Why not then migrate to North Korea?

Why should I migrate? I did nothing wrong. Its my misfortune to be born in a country where 70% of the men do not have balls. If anything, this 70% should be the ones to migrate.

And there is the mayor post too ...mayor easily cost us $1 million, including his MP pay. Why the hell do we need mayors? We have mayors, MPs, HDB, and MPO ....all doing the same thing.

Yep, This is the most unproductive and inefficient govt in the world. yet PAP and Gay Loong always harping on the citizens to be more productive. what himself?