50 percent of working sinkees make less than $3k

By Janice Heng
The Straits Times
Sunday, Feb 03, 2013

SINGAPORE - Real incomes of full-time Singaporean workers grew by 1.2 per cent last year - up from 1 per cent the previous year.

This was due to lower inflation of 4.6 per centand despite dollar incomes not rising as fast due to "weaker economic conditions", said the Employment Situation 2012 report of Manpower Ministry.

The median monthly income of full-time employed Singaporeans rose by 5.8 per cent, down from a 6.3 per cent rise the year before. Half of them were earning at least $3,248 last June, including employers' CPF contributions.

But inflation ate less into pay rises. Real median income thus grew 1.2 per cent last year, up from 1 per cent in 2011 when inflation was at 5.2 per cent.

Excluding rents from the inflation measure, as most workers own and do not rent their property, growth in real income was 2.1 per cent.

Figures released last December showed that median incomes for residents - that is, Singaporeans and permanent residents - rose more than for Singaporeans alone.

The median monthly income for residents rose 7.1 per cent over the year to $3,480 in June 2012. This meant that real income for residents grew by 2.5 per cent.

Excluding assumed rents, residents' real income growth would have been 3.4 per cent.

Incomes have also been rising for full-time employed citizens in the bottom fifth of the population in terms of earnings. The income for that bracket was $1,647 last year, meaning a fifth of citizens earn that amount or less.

This is up an average of 4.8 per cent each year since 2007, or an average of 0.9 per cent each year if inflation is taken into account.

The pappies imports cheap FTs to press the wages of fellow Singaporeans down. We should vote them out come 2016!

50 percent of sinkees earn less than $2,728 (excluding CPF contribution by employers). After CPF deduction, it is $2182. How does a sinkee household manage with a combined income of $4200?

Any examples?

its shows how fucking disportionate lay people salary is when compared to the bastards ministers

The median monthly income of full-time employed Singaporeans rose by 5.8 per cent, down from a 6.3 per cent rise the year before. Half of them were earning at least $3,248 last June, including employers' CPF contributions.

Pop quiz time!

"In The Wealth Report 2012, a global study on property and wealth compiled by Knight Frank and Citi Private Bank, Singapore was listed as the world's most affluent with a GDP per capita of US$56,532 (S$70,450) in 2010." (Source)

That translates to a GDP of S$5,870 per capita per month.

S$5,870 and S$3,248, why the discrepancy?

"In The Wealth Report 2012, a global study on property and wealth compiled by Knight Frank and Citi Private Bank, Singapore was listed as the world's most affluent with a GDP per capita of US$56,532 (S$70,450) in 2010." (Source)

That translates to a GDP of S$5,870 per capita per month.

S$5,870 and S$3,248, why the discrepancy?

Median income provides a clearer picture of income of the working population than per capita income as the latter includes the income of LHL and his millionaire ministers.

Let's say you are the median income guy taking home S$3,200 per month. How does it feel to know that someone out there is stealing, that's right, stealing S$2,500 from you every month end?

The median income given by the government includes employer's CPF contribution. The net median income is $2100 after the CPF deductions (the theft you are alluding to). I share your anger ...the CPF deduction is NOT your money ...you will never see them again as they keep raising the minimum sum and the price of HDB and health care expense.

i am happy to put my hand up to n say...i belong to the 50 percentile....:P I earn 2K a month....

And that is before tax and other pension obligations. Who, I ask, who has taken the fruits of my labour?

fruits of your labor....mangoes u mean? We know who took your mangoes don't we?

Tell me, who has shamelessly taken S$2,500 from the average joe earning S$3,200? Who?

Less than 3k per month and living in one of the top 3 most expensive places with property prices also one of the world's most expensive. This is what you voted for sinkies! Your Swiss standard of living. Good luck suckers!

All these figures are bullshit to me. The largest employment sector is the service sector which working hours are 9 - 10 hours a day for six days a week. Even if the staffs at MBS and RWS earns 2k a month, in actual fact he earns far less because of the working hours he puts in.

The article where the SIM university student got fired for her mental problems got paid only $1700 basic. Where got even 2k for private degree holder? I have worked in the FnB line for more than 20 years and Ive seen degree holders working as wait staff for 5 bucks an hour only or even less because they cant get jobs in their related fields.

People can moonlight to get extra income there's no stopping them.

The article where the SIM university student got fired for her mental problems got paid only $1700 basic. Where got even 2k for private degree holder? I have worked in the FnB line for more than 20 years and Ive seen degree holders working as wait staff for 5 bucks an hour only or even less because they cant get jobs in their related fields.

Wah then i slightly better. i was paid ~ 8.5 bucks in FnB (cannot remember) when i was doing part time during undergrad 1.

Full time waiter or waitress get paid 1200 - 1400 about 9 hours a day for 6 days. 5- 6 bucks an hour.

In the early 90s the pay was higher because not much FTs.