• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat 5 years of round trips, amazing story of migration

Last week I was checking on Mindef's policy on bonds and if they had revised it but came across this case that spoke volumes of this boy and his family.

The family had migrated to OZ but the father works as pilot and decided that he will stay and work in Singapore while the family make their home in OZ. Apparently because of the father's situation, he has to serve NS and also could not apply for deferment under the usual Migrant path. He therefore needed to apply for exit permit plus bond as he would be away for more than 3 month.

For reasons best known to the family they were not in a position to provide the bond and the poor kid has been travelling to Singapore every 3 months so as not breach the law for the last 5 years. Initially it was visits to grandparents, uncle and aunty but in the last few years, round trip to Changi, stamp passport and fly back.

Goes to show how determined families are prepared to go in order to migrate. As the family gets flight allowance and discounted fares, this helps but imagine the flights and the 2 days spent each time.

just pretend hes on permanent holiday and he has to leave australia every 3 months to renew his visa and reenter the border.shit what a lucky fellow he doesnt have to live in SG.once my financial situation permits i would be spending six months a year in australia.....two round trips 3 months stay each as visa only permits up to 3 months duration.it would be like semi retirement,six months in paradise and six months in hell.and i hope to make it a reality before im 30.

from last nov to this year CNY,i have managed to save and accumulate 4k.....well on target of my goal of 12k per year.although partly in thanks to cny,christmas and the $389 of dividends i received in jan and last nov.

just pretend hes on permanent holiday and he has to leave australia every 3 months to renew his visa and reenter the border.shit what a lucky fellow he doesnt have to live in SG.once my financial situation permits i would be spending six months a year in australia.....two round trips 3 months stay each as visa only permits up to 3 months duration.it would be like semi retirement,six months in paradise and six months in hell.and i hope to make it a reality before im 30.

from last nov to this year CNY,i have managed to save and accumulate 4k.....well on target of my goal of 12k per year.although partly in thanks to cny,christmas and the $389 of dividends i received in jan and last nov.

where are you going to? LMAO:biggrin:

what chiu going to do there?

Nothing, whatever I feel like doing.Poker at the casino,or explore the city and chill, enjoy the cafe and restaurant culture,read,enjoy the weather,relac at the park,explore the strange oddities and whimsical culture of Ang moh land,maybe watch a Agatha Christie play at the theatre.what it is,enjoy ur life because in Ang moh land u are a free man and can do whatever the fuck u want u want to take a can spray paint and go spray paint a train station or highway be my guest. just remember to have money cause life is a bitch without money.

Nothing, whatever I feel like doing.Poker at the casino,or explore the city and chill, enjoy the cafe and restaurant culture,read,enjoy the weather,relac at the park,explore the strange oddities and whimsical culture of Ang moh land,maybe watch a Agatha Christie play at the theatre.what it is,enjoy ur life because in Ang moh land u are a free man and can do whatever the fuck u want just remember to have money cause life is a bitch without money.

ok bro, have fun. crown normally have poker tournament but a lot of hustlers, you can check their website. do sinkies proud and win back the grand prize if only you are that good, if not advisable to stay away from there. if i am you, go stay at the countryside and enjoy the peace and calmness, and of course of the beaches. stay away from the hustle and bustle of city life. check out AIRBnB, they may have accommodation in that area.

It's OK,poker is dying anyway,way too much competition and too little fish than 5 years ago,players are getting stronger and stronger by the year.I don't intend to make it a living,just something fun and can make a little money on the side playing the low stakes.

I dunno I kind of like living in the cbd area though,everything is right there right outside ur doorstep,all the cafes and shops and restaurants,Chinatown is right there,la trobe,Elizabeth Street,boulevard,Collins Street Flinders,the library,then there's the financial district,park just outside the cbd,and the casino across the river just 30 mins walk,everything u need within walking distance,I just love walking thru the city,u never get bored of it,it's a huge place.only problem is the hostels are overcrowded and over priced,old and rundown and disgusting.

hi krafty what you doing there? Btw heard that you married an aussie ATB to migrate to Aus right? Govt checking up on these marriage types.

cunnilaubu

For reasons best known to the family they were not in a position to provide the bond and the poor kid has been travelling to Singapore every 3 months so as not breach the law for the last 5 years. Initially it was visits to grandparents, uncle and aunty but in the last few years, round trip to Changi, stamp passport and fly back.

Cheapskate parents! I don't believe they can't afford the $75K bond. Why subject the poor kid to such trouble?

I did think about it as the bond is quite common and the money does not leave your bank acct as it's a bankers guarantee. As pilot we are looking at $120K bond at least which should be affordable. These kind of things always got a twist. I won't rule out fact that they might have decided to keep quite about the whole migration things and his job, mostly out of ignorance and also they are keen to get citizenship in OZ which the whole family has got except for the father.

Just look at this forum, we still have people paying bond when they don't have to because they convinced themselves that it is a new policy, we also have people who banished their sons from Singapore because they heard from an old uncle or aunty some story. You also cannot blame them as this govt is never clear.

Anyway this kid I understand will be doing his NS this year. At least he can travel in and out. Too many stories of kids in defaulters list while the parents come in and out on holidays which is a real sad story.

Cheapskate parents! I don't believe they can't afford the $75K bond. Why subject the poor kid to such trouble?

Nothing to be sad about. Perhaps it will help improve our tourism arrival numbers. Surely that has to be a silver lining.

borom

Bond is S$75,000 or 50% of combined annual gross income of both parents for the preceding year, whichever is higher. The bond is provided in the form of a Banker's Guarantee.

You have many of these parents approaching banks to provide the BG on a clean basis-meaning they want the banks to take all the risk while the parents just pay the 1 or 2% commission-these parents are normally foreigners/Ist generation PR's whose second generation PR sons must do NS.
These PR's after being given privilege treatment by the pappy think they can get away with anything

hi krafty what you doing there? Btw heard that you married an aussie ATB to migrate to Aus right? Govt checking up on these marriage types.

ah jah, please dun ruin my 2nd marriage. dun behave like those fucking cunts who ruined my first and then pushed all blame to me.:oIo:

yangtzejiang

Freedom is never free. It's a small price to pay for escaping the system. And also kudos to the system for being flexible enough to permit this. Win-win for all.

Goes to show how determined families are prepared to go in order to migrate. As the family gets flight allowance and discounted fares, this helps but imagine the flights and the 2 days spent each time.