5 Dec 2009 Foreign workers to move into Private apartments in Serangoon Gardens

Watchman

Some foreign workers move into dorm at Serangoon Gardens
By Hoe Yeen Nie, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 05 December 2009 1736 hrs

phpGsHl2w.jpg

SINGAPORE: The first group of foreign workers moved into a converted dormitory at Serangoon Gardens estate on Friday. The issue first made headlines last year, with nearby residents worried about safety and privacy issues.

A wire fence around the dorm is all that separates the former school from a tennis centre and the rest of the Burghley Drive private estate. But many residents in the area on Saturday did not seem to notice the foreign workers' presence.

When plans for the foreign workers' dormitory were first made known last year, it caused a huge ruckus in the neighbourhood. Some were worried about safety and privacy, while others cited concerns over traffic congestion in the mornings.

To help address residents' concerns, authorities have built a separate entrance to the compound, away from the private estate, and will plant tall shrubs along the fence.

However, some are still sore about the way authorities handled the matter initially.

Goh Bock Seng, a resident, said: "Singaporeans are used to living in a community. If the workers are educated and they know (how) to behave themselves, I think it's fine. We've finally accepted the fact, but we just want to say that we should have been consulted first."

Another resident, Fang Shihan, said: "For me, personally, I would like to get to know them better since we're going to be living in close proximity. Maybe we could have tours inside to see how they live, what they do, instead of having this little alien town that we don't understand."

Some residents said other issues may crop up after all 600 workers have settled in. Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Hwee Hua, who is also the Member of Parliament for Aljunied GRC, agrees with that view.

"When the dorm is up and running, a lot really depends on whether things are as planned or there are new issues. But I doubt there would be issues that would surprise us," said Mrs Lim.

The dormitory will house male and female workers from the manufacturing and services sectors. Authorities will assess the situation before deciding whether to increase the number of occupants.

Another resident, Fang Shihan, said: "For me, personally, I would like to get to know them better since we're going to be living in close proximity. Maybe we could have tours inside to see how they live, what they do, instead of having this little alien town that we don't understand."

=> Shown on 154th TV news that this is from an SPG wearing NUAss T-shirt. Wonder what she would say after she kena fxxx inside the dorm.

How about arranging for the residents of Serangoon garden, the grasslooters, to stay in one of the rooms in the dormitory, and live with the workers for a month?

This must be another of the The Shit Times, "ghost story"...:D

How about the other way !

For Foreign workers to tour their Serangoon Garden homes .

Wah jialat .... whole of chomp chomp will be turned into a jungle. All the maids will be happy because of nearby fuck mates ....when house empty, will bring fuck mates to have orgy in master bedroom !!:eek:

.......However, some are still sore about the way authorities handled the matter .......we just want to say that we should have been consulted first." .... Minister ...Lim Hwee Hua, who is also the M..P...for Aljunied ...

Lets see whether people in Aljunied GRC will do the right thing in the coming elections-not only about not being consulted, but also about the way Temasek/GIC is being managed.

Maybe this is what she is actually looking for mah.... read between the lines "I would like to get to know them....see how they live and what they do...";)

GE coming, so resident of Serangoon gardens will know what to do...

The Gardeners are inherently anti-Pap because of demographics - old upper-middle kenna squeeze. In any case, i think the area will be carved out of Aljunied and returned to Marine parade again.

ha ha ha ha ha!...does she know that, with these FT's the immeidate beneFITS will be BED BUGS, soon she will be scratching her....and find that bed bugs infestations had reach an epic proportion...she can arrange for a stay at the dormitory for day... eat with them, sleep with them ( not together I hope) & bathe with them ( again!) and interact with them...soon she will smell like them..btw they come with a distinct smell with their not properly washed clothes plus their BO...'the aroma of India or Bangladesh"...

The beg bugs...bed bugs I repeat will give her fits..next the following BeneFITS also...more cockroaches, house flies, mosquitoes that will borne dieases mankind sometimes have not even discovered...and cold sores if you share their food... what does she think this is..STALAG 13 With Colonel Hogan?

ha ha ha....:D

ha ha ha ha ha!...does she know that, with these FT's the immeidate beneFITS will be BED BUGS, soon she will be scratching her....and find that bed bugs infestations had reach an epic proportion...she can arrange for a stay at the dormitory for day... eat with them, sleep with them ( not together I hope) & bathe with them ( again!) and interact with them...soon she will smell like them..btw they come with a distinct smell with their not properly washed clothes plus their BO...'the aroma of India or Bangladesh"...

The beg bugs...bed bugs I repeat will give her fits..next the following BeneFITS also...more cockroaches, house flies, mosquitoes that will borne dieases mankind sometimes have not even discovered...and cold sores if you share their food... what does she think this is..STALAG 13 With Colonel Hogan?

Don't be so racist lah!

i think u hit the nail. maybe not some funny funny sickness, but bed bugs is definitely!!! i dont know why MOM blame the employers for not keeping the place clean, but its the workers way of living. they will not clean up the quarters like what we do to our place and bed bugs is a regular thing to them. of cos, they dont want it. but did they do something about it? i doubt so.

Goh Bock Seng, a resident, said: "Singaporeans are used to living in a community. If the workers are educated and they know (how) to behave themselves, I think it's fine. We've finally accepted the fact, but we just want to say that we should have been consulted first."

Oh yes small-minded cliquish chink groupies. Typical of most useless Asians in general. Are the workers that coarse and do they misbehave you dumb and conceited coolie descendant? And why should people like you need to be consulted? Who are you?

SG already split in half, the noisy half going to Marine Parade and the subtle half going to Aljunied(stand corrected)...LTK may be giving up HG to join Slyvia Lim to form all star GRC...If PAP loses, MBT may become the next HPK...This contest is the best to watch on Election day...

Don't be so racist lah!

Forbid it I am not, you have to go down to the dormitory run for any workers to find out, don't believe me I encourage you to go find one..when the Indian or Bangla workers arrive from the airport to the dorm...shake the luggage...you will be suprised what miniscule things will fall out..

anyway any dormitories, Bed bugs is one of the features & if there are Indians & Banglas...the smell, especially from their not properly washed clothes plus their au natural 'scent of..........."...you have a potent mix...plus bed bugs... I am racist....you got to be kidding...you are such a prude! not prune...mine you!:rolleyes: