• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

4G govt is slower than HK, UK and other govts in banning visitors from India

If they are extra KS is closing the borders from India sooner, the economy will take care of itself.
Instead, they seem to justify that if the measures imposed from 11-59pm on Friday had been
done earlier, construction, marine sectors etc will be affected. And that costs will rise. Wonder
if they know the costs of late closures or bad handling of the dormitories?

Hypocrite-The

Mark McGowan calls for ban on India arrivals after virus jumps Perth hotel rooms
11 hours ago
Article image for Mark McGowan calls for ban on India arrivals after virus jumps Perth hotel rooms
Premier Mark McGowan is calling for a review into the amount of travellers coming into Australia’s hotel quarantine system and is pushing to have travel from India suspended.

270 people have come into Perth from COVID ravaged India this month, sparking fears the state’s hotel quarantine system won’t stand up to the influx of infected travellers.

Room to room transmission was discovered at the Mercure Hotel yesterday, between a couple who returned from India and a family of three in the adjacent room.

“Genome sequencing which came back yesterday afternoon linked these two families,” Mr McGowan said.

The Premier is meeting with national cabinet today, where he will recommend travel from the sub continent be suspended as soon as possible.

“Our system is under significant stress, we currently have nine hotels with more than 2,000 overseas arrivals on any given day, it is a major logistical challenge,” he said.

“Unfortunately we are seeing more and more positive cases as the pandemic rages around the world.

“I am going to raise with national cabinet my concerns about the volume of returning Australians who have the virus, and the pressure it is placing on us and our hotel quarantine system, and the risk it is proving to the broader community.”

The Mercure Hotel has now been classified as a higher risk hotel for transmission and will no longer take any overseas travellers.

Health Minister Roger Cook said the ventilation system was not as advanced as other quarantine hotels.

Instead the hotel will be transformed into accommodation for seasonal workers entering from low risk countries, which are expected to arrive next month.

Meanwhile, WA recorded two new cases of COVID-19 overnight.

The two cases, a woman in her 30s and a woman in her 20s, are both in hotel quarantine.

The total number of active cases in WA now sits at 29.

More than 83,000 vaccinations have been administered, including 19,361 who have received both doses.

(Photo: Matt Jelonek/Getty Images)

If they are extra KS is closing the borders from India sooner, the economy will take care of itself.
Instead, they seem to justify that if the measures imposed from 11-59pm on Friday had been
done earlier, construction, marine sectors etc will be affected. And that costs will rise. Wonder
if they know the costs of late closures or bad handling of the dormitories?

Penny wise, pound foolish.

Now watch those SafeEntry/Tracetogether devices become utterly useless. :cool:

It's easy to waste money when it's not your money, and there is neither accountability nor transparency.

Hypocrite-The

COVID-19: Singapore to stop entry for all long-term pass holders, short-term visitors with recent travel history to India
FILE PHOTO: Spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) at the Changi Airport in Singapore
FILE PHOTO: People look at a Singapore Airlines plane, amid the spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19), at a viewing gallery of the Changi Airport in Singapore October 12, 2020. REUTERS/Edgar Su
Bookmark
SINGAPORE: All long-term pass holders and short-term visitors with recent travel history to India within the last 14 days will not be allowed entry into Singapore from Apr 24, announced the Ministry of Health (MOH) on Thursday (Apr 22).

This includes visitors who transit in India, and all who had obtained prior approval for entry into Singapore, he said.

India's COVID-19 situation has worsened in recent days, with daily records of new cases.

Many of the new arrivals from India work in the construction, marine and process sectors and live in the dormitories, noted Mr Lawrence Wong, co-chair of the COVID-19 multi-ministry task force.

“We know that this major move will have an impact on our construction, marine and process sectors. And many local SMEs and contractors will be badly impacted," he said at a press conference on Thursday.

“The Government will be looking at providing additional support measures to help these companies.”

There is no evidence that the recent cases at the Westlite Woodlands Dormitory are linked to a new strain from India, said Mr Wong, who is also the Education Minister.

“Even if they were to serve out the stay-home notices, we know that that is never 100 per cent foolproof, and leaks can still happen,” he added.

“And if such a leak were to happen amongst new Indian arrivals working in these sectors, then a new strain may get leaked into the dormitory and worse, even recovered or vaccinated workers may get infected and then we may see new clusters emerging again in our dormitories.”

READ: Measures put in place at Westlite Woodlands dormitory after 17 recovered workers test positive for COVID-19 again
The new measure may affect the progress of construction projects, including homes, said National Development Minister Desmond Lee in a Facebook post.

"We will work with Housing & Development Board, private developers and construction companies to see how their projects can be brought back on track," said Mr Lee.

STRICTER MEASURES

The Health Ministry also announced on Thursday that all travellers with recent travel history to India who have yet to complete their 14-day stay-home notice by 11.59pm on Thursday will need to serve their additional seven-day stay-home notice at dedicated facilities instead of their place of residence.

Describing the new measures as a “temporary freeze” on arrivals from India, Mr Wong said this will give Singapore time to monitor the situation there and better understand the “new variants that are there and the risk that they pose to us”.

Responding to questions about the impact on the construction, marine and process sectors, Minister for Health Gan Kim Yong said: “These measures are necessary because you can imagine that the alternative is to have an influx of cases, and in fact they may transmit to our dormitories, to our community, and we end up with a major outbreak again.

“If that happens, many more companies will be affected. Many more workers will be affected, and the economy will be … affected more badly than what we could see now with these measures.”

Adding that Singapore is also concerned with healthcare capacity, Mr Gan said: “We want to do what we can to minimise the risk of the next cluster and the next wave, so that we have sufficient capacity of our healthcare facilities to be able to respond should that eventuality happen.”

READ: Singapore may have ‘further rounds’ of COVID-19 vaccination: Lawrence Wong
“The situation we are in reminds us once again of how unpredictable and volatile the pandemic can be. It’s been more than one year since we’ve started this fight against COVID. Things are fluid, they change rapidly, and we have to be prepared,” said Mr Wong.

“We are facing an invisible and a very formidable enemy. And the new strains of the virus that we see in many other countries are worrying because it suggests that we have to continue staying on guard, even tightening some measures.

“And even perhaps after this round of vaccination, we might have to continue with further rounds of vaccinations, even up to beyond this year, because we will have to be confronting not just the virus today but potentially new strains of the virus that may be more infections and virulent.”

READ: Dormitory residents who have recovered from COVID-19 no longer exempt from routine testing
NEW VARIANTS

Addressing the new variants of the COVID-19 virus, director of medical services Associate Professor Kenneth Mak said that as of Apr 20, Singapore has detected seven local cases of the B117 variant of the virus, or the UK variant, and one local case of the B1351 variant, also known as the South African variant.

The case with the B1351 variant, or Case 61822, works in the marine industry and was exposed to “potentially infectious sources” from ships visiting Singapore, he added.

For the seven cases infected with the B117 variant, all necessary public health actions have been taken to isolate and ringfence these cases, added Assoc Prof Mak.

“And while there has been transmission to members of the same household for three cases amongst these eight cases, there’s not been any further detected community spread.”

Singapore has detected 342 imported cases with the B117, B1351, and P1, P2, and P3 variants, said Assoc Prof Mak.

The P1, P2 and P3 variants are also known as the B11281, B11282 and B11283 variants respectively.

The B1525 and B1617 strains of the virus have also been detected among imported cases into Singapore, he added.

“All these cases have already been placed on stay-home notice or isolated upon arrival in Singapore, and we’ve not detected any further community spread for any of these other variants of interest.”

READ: India COVID-19 variant: What we know so far
In a separate statement on Thursday, MOH said Singapore has seen 46 imported cases of the B1617 variant, or the “double mutation” variant of the virus from India. There have also been five imported cases of the B1525 variant.

Responding to questions about the new variants, Assoc Prof Mak said there is “emerging evidence” that some of the variants may have “an increased risk of breakthrough”.

“But yet at the same time, for many other variants, this has not been seen.”

Adding that the data for the “double mutation variant” that originated in India is still emerging, Assoc Prof Mak said Singapore is monitoring the situation closely “to see whether this would be a concern particularly for us” with travellers coming into Singapore and the risk of imported cases.

Watch the full news conference and Q&A session:

nirvarq

1619132856176.png

Just looky at his haircut ...............

It's not him ! He's just puppet. lol.............

*Btw as for the travel restrictions if you make a detour enter like sri lanka crabs, no offense ! ....... lol

All wayang lah deh .... lol

All the good news bubbles burst one by one.
They are always in a hurry to give good news,
when not double confirmed. Always running to
catch own tails.

All the good news bubbles burst one by one.
They are always in a hurry to give good news,
when not double confirmed. Always running to
catch own tails.

Typical totalitarian shithole. :cool:

Exaggerate or jump the gun for good news.
Play down or simply ignore the bad news.

A farking useless bunch. The signs were all there and they were waiting for hard evidence.Sheesh!:mad:

Not really evidence, but data for confirmation bias that their (or their pink boss's) decision to keep the borders open was a good one. It was a political decision, rather than one made with common sense. :cool:

This kind of standard for '4G' leeders... might as well pack it up and rejoin Malaysia. :rolleyes:

bobby

HAHAHA...can now imagine those fucking Ah Nehs in India now panicking and stressing especially those who have already booked air tickets to travel. Huat ahhhh....

Looks like everybody is responsible but nobody is responsible.
Collective/consensual leadership at its best.

Look u are wrong this time. The fucking evil BE set up his colonised countries to fail miserably thinking they are stupid human only angmoh are AMDK...

I believed I was able to figure out how to get distinctions in any subject by referring to 10 years series.... there is a dead pattern structure in the exam papers that u can spot it.

1. Firstly, we have to look at the BE Campbridge institution how they set the exam question papers.

2. There are 10 exam questions in a subject, take maths for example. 6 out of 10 module questions are compulsory and 4 are options.

3. I looked at the 10 years series and spotted the set exam modules pattern. So if I can get the 6 compulsory modules right I will guarantee to get a C credit in the subject, cool.

4. Next, how to get distinction for the subject. It seems like angmoh are playing with their module questions.

Refer to the 10 year series to look at how they set the remaing 4 module questions.

If a module question was used last year it be unlikely to come up again this year.

Why?

Then I hv to look at how the stupid Campbridge institution angmoh set the exam questions paper are thinking.

If he repeated the last year module questions again for this year than if 90% of the students did well, the Dean and he will get fuck and lose their jobs.

The institution workers wan to keep their jobs and only want 60% of students to do well. They want to make it as if BE education system is the best in the world.... but only fool BE can cheat poor countries...

So they will refer to 10 years series to set the remaining 4 module questions. Which module wasn't used in last past years so he will use it. Play safe orelse he loses his job..

To say that Asian students that did well 'scored 'A' in all subjects are bookworm you are wrong.

The tuition syndicate group managed to figure out the flawed in the set exam questions then... Bang!!! Fuck the 5 eye Cambridge institution... All Asian students did well with many scored many As subjects, means Asians are smarter than angmohs in school...

After I figured out this myself, I can get as many 'A in subjects' I wanted. ... cool..

This applies to uni education and watch the lecture emphasis which 6 modules are compulsory to come out .... very important ones....

Then push him release the 10 years series exam questions. Go back to figure which ones will come out this year... to get distinction for the subject...

nowadays they gives you assignments to do.... still the same method copy, paste and plagiarise the work... who cares not so free to do it from scratch.... move on.

BE education system is fake... but the degree u earn set to get u into the industry you like to work in... learn as you work with the latest technology....

Hope this help...

Psst..if you like my bullshit click the like button...

when you top your o and a levels via 10yr series memorisation and constant following the pattern deriving answers to the exam questions, when you grow up and become a scholar, you also need to wait to follow the lead of others in hk, uk, nz and a host of other countries before you decide to do something.
it's ingrained in the system
haaaa

Gallego99

Not really evidence, but data for confirmation bias that their (or their pink boss's) decision to keep the borders open was a good one. It was a political decision, rather than one made with common sense. :cool:

This kind of standard for '4G' leeders... might as well pack it up and rejoin Malaysia. :rolleyes:
Common sense is rare these days. They're just trying to be too clever by half. I guess just as much when the bleating sheep said that Sin City wants to be first off the blocks when the pandemic subsides. It's the economy and nothing else matters to them.

The 4G ministers are supposed to be the creme-de-la-creme, the brightest Sinkies, and they have to be paid millions in order to attract them into public service.
Why then are the 4G ministers slower than HK and UK in banning travellers from India?
Even ordinary Sinkies can see that India is the biggest source of imported covid-19 cases, and have been calling for a reduction or ban.
But the 4G ministers, in their groupthink and in their ivory tower, think they are smarter than the ordinary Sinkies and refuse to consider this action.
Until now.

Quote: "He added that the SHN period is not "100 per cent foolproof", noting that any leaks among newly arrived Indian workers could possibly introduce new strains into dormitories and result in new clusters."
Don't the 4G ministers already know this, but chose not to act earlier?

Quote: "The recent spate of cases has reminded us that we cannot let our guard down.""
Saying the obvious. Then why didn't the 4G ministers stopped incoming travellers from India earlier?

S'pore to bar long-term pass holders, visitors travelling from India as Covid-19 cases there surge
The move takes effect from 11.59pm on April 23, 2021.

The move takes effect from 11.59pm on April 23, 2021.PHOTO: ST FILE
linette_lai.png

Linette Lai
Political Correspondent

Apr 22, 2021

SINGAPORE - All long-term pass holders and short-term visitors who have travelled to India within the last 14 days will not be allowed to enter or transit through Singapore, as the country goes on "heightened alert" against Covid-19.

This move takes effect from 11.59pm on Friday, and includes people who have prior approval to enter Singapore, said Education Minister Lawrence Wong on Thursday (April 22).

In addition, people who have recently travelled to India and have not completed their 14-day stay-home notice (SHN) by 11.59pm on Thursday night will have to complete their additional seven-day SHN at a dedicated facility rather than their places of residence.

This group will undergo three polymerase chain reaction (PCR) tests for the virus: when they arrive, on the 14th day of their SHN and before the end of their SHN.
Explaining why Singapore has tightened its border measures, Mr Wong said the situation in India has worsened since the start of the week.

He added that the SHN period is not "100 per cent foolproof", noting that any leaks among newly arrived Indian workers could possibly introduce new strains into dormitories and result in new clusters.

India reported 314,835 new Covid-19 cases on Thursday, the world's biggest single-day surge. The country has recorded 16 million cases and 184,657 deaths so far. A new "double-mutant" variant has also emerged in India, and is thought to be fuelling the country's second wave.

Health Minister Gan Kim Yong, who with Mr Wong co-chairs the multi-ministerial task force handling the pandemic, said Singapore is on heightened alert against the coronavirus, given rising case numbers and emerging virus variants around the world.

The situation may escalate quickly, necessitating the tightening of measures in Singapore, he added at a virtual press conference.

Viral variants - including those first detected in South Africa and Brazil - have been found in 342 imported cases, said the Health Ministry's director of medical services, Associate Professor Kenneth Mak. All the cases were isolated on arrival and no community spread has been detected.

He warned that this number may increase over time as more Covid-19 cases are detected and more testing done.

Mr Gan urged Singaporeans to continue to be socially responsible and adhere to safe management measures.

This applies to those who have already been vaccinated as well, he said. "The recent spate of cases has reminded us that we cannot let our guard down."

"We are facing an invisible and very formidable enemy," Mr Wong said, adding that the spate of new strains detected in other countries is a worrying development.

"Even after this round of vaccination, we might have to continue with further rounds of vaccination... The fight against Covid is not over, but working together, we can emerge stronger and defeat virus."
Why not everyone from India?