• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

42-year-old man dies of fish flu after competing in triathlon

Watchman

By Satish Cheney, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 02 August 2009 1718 hrs

Triathlon volunteers look on as swimmers make their way through the sea

42-year-old man dies after competing in triathlon

SINGAPORE: Tragedy hit the OSIM Singapore Triathlon event at East Coast Park on Sunday as 42-year-old Lee Wee Sing died after he competed in the swim leg of the relay race.

Mr Lee was the CEO of Deutsche Telekom Asia in Singapore, and it was his first time taking part in a triathlon.

According to a press release, Mr Lee was spotted struggling and disoriented during the swim by a marshal at 1:06pm.

He was competing in the Olympic Distance Mix/Open relay category.

He was immediately brought to shore by a jet ski.

When he reached the shore, he was foaming at the mouth and unconscious, and paramedics immediately performed cardio-pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) on him.

Two doctors also rushed to the scene and subsequently took over the CPR and applied an automated external defibrillator on Mr Lee.

He was transferred to the Changi General Hospital (CGH) at 1:25pm.

CGH informed the organisers at 2:35pm that Mr Lee had died.

Friends and team mates were distraught and shocked at Mr Lee's sudden death.

Mr Lee is said to have been a good swimmer, but it is not known if he was used to swimming in the open sea - where the swim leg of triathlons are commonly held.

Mr Lee's team mates told Channel NewsAsia he was not known to have any underlying medical conditions and was said to be very healthy and fit.

They said he had been training for the event and was well-prepared.

Said Allen Yeo, one of Mr Lee's relay team mates: "Among the three of us, he's the most active and he had been training a lot, so we were all ready for this event. We really wanted to clear this event and take the Osim medal."

"He's been training at least for the last two weeks regularly on a daily basis in the pool for the distance that he's competing,” said Ernest Chua, another relay team mate. "And he's been monitoring his progress on a daily basis and updating us so I think he was quite prepared for this event."

The Triathlon Association of Singapore said all safety precautions were in place.

Said Mark Tay, president of the Triathlon Association of Singapore: "He was about 100 metres from the second yellow buoy - that means he only had about 350 metres left...

"In triathlons, the swimming leg is the most so-called dangerous leg because in the sea there're a lot of uncertainties, a lot of under currents and all that so we had deployed a lot of safety canoes, life guards on boats and even paramedics."

The last death that occurred at a triathlon was in 2007 when 17-year-old Thaddeus Cheong died.

A lack of a defibrillator and ambulance on standby was cited as one of the reasons the teenager's life could not be saved.

Mr Lee's body has been sent to the Singapore General Hospital for an official coroner's enquiry to investigate the cause of death.

Mr Lee was married with a 12-year-old daughter.

- CNA/yb

saratogas

Other deaths at triathlons and marathons

Oct 22, 2005

Ho Wai Piew, 40, suffered a heart attack during the swim leg of the New Balance Corporate Triathlon. It was the Hewlett-Packard production manager's first triathlon.

He had an existing coronary arterial problem, and the cause of death was certified as drowning, heart attack and advanced coronary arterial disease. The state coroner issued a verdict of misadventure.

March 26, 2006

After completing the Singapore Biathlon's 1.5km swim and just 600m from the finish line of the 10km run, Colonel Bernard Tan, 39, collapsed.

Medical staff failed to revive him despite using a defibrillator. His death was deemed as a sudden cardiac death.

June 24, 2007

National triathlete Thaddeus Cheong, 17, collapsed after finishing third in a South-east Asia Games triathlon selection trial. He died of heart failure.

Aug 28, 2007

Army officer Ho Si Qiu collapsed after completing the 21km-long Singapore Bay run.

His heart had stopped. Attempts to revive him with resuscitation drugs and CPR failed.

Why so many people still want to run to their death? Challenging oneself. RIP.

potato29

They said he had been training for the event and was well-prepared.

Said Allen Yeo, one of Mr Lee's relay team mates: "Among the three of us, he's the most active and he had been training a lot, so we were all ready for this event. We really wanted to clear this event and take the Osim medal."

"He's been training at least for the last two weeks regularly on a daily basis in the pool for the distance that he's competing,” said Ernest Chua, another relay team mate. "And he's been monitoring his progress on a daily basis and updating us so I think he was quite prepared for this event."

2 weeks training and u are well prepared?

1. a competition at that level requires more than just 2 weeks of intensive trg.
2. both mental and physical preparedness.
3. it takes at least 6 months to go for the "well prepared" thing.
4. well, we need to listen to our bodies, and of course accepting that our bodies are no longer the same, just like those 18 going 22.
5. at 42, there are many things in our bodies that are not as they were used to be.
6. this is ageing, and pushing our bodies to the extreme is not doing good but harm.

potato29

1. a competition at that level requires more than just 2 weeks of intensive trg.
2. both mental and physical preparedness.
3. it takes at least 6 months to go for the "well prepared" thing.
4. well, we need to listen to our bodies, and of course accepting that our bodies are no longer the same, just like those 18 going 22.
5. at 42, there are many things in our bodies that are not as they were used to be.
6. this is ageing, and pushing our bodies to the extreme is not doing good but harm.

i read 154 and get impression team mates covering their backside.:biggrin:

Einfield

i read 154 and get impression team mates covering their backside.:biggrin:

Team mates very quick to say "He organize it, He ask us to participate"

Typical Sinkie, Cover back side #1

So what he suggest, you guy are suppose to be a team, does it matter who started it??

potato29

Team mates very quick to say "He organize it, He ask us to participate"

Typical Sinkie, Cover back side #1

So what he suggest, you guy are suppose to be a team, does it matter who started it??

i m tinking, nothing wrong cover backside for wat.

Logisex

Why is a 42yo doing in a triathlon? He should have done this 20 years ago.

At his age, he should take it easy at work and go sing song in KTV with China MM after work. Or go Geylang eat Hay Mee, talk cock with PRC MM, go for a shot then go hom to post FR in Sammyboy.

We must all go with nature. Once you defy it and try to act young and not do the things you are suppose to do at your age, you will end up like this.........

peterlth

Training in swimming pool for 2 weeks, and all ready to take on the sea! This man very brave.

images
vs
images

scoobyhoo

Why is a 42yo doing in a triathlon? He should have done this 20 years ago.

At his age, he should take it easy at work and go sing song in KTV with China MM after work. Or go Geylang eat Hay Mee, talk cock with PRC MM, go for a shot then go hom to post FR in Sammyboy.

We must all go with nature. Once you defy it and try to act young and not do the things you are suppose to do at your age, you will end up like this.........

ya, bro, you're right. but he thought he could work till 90 years old, then go geylang la kopi and sian chao bo, pa pao and post FR in sammyboy