• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

3 Helluva Powerful Paragraphs by our Joan of Arc.

Captures in essence what has happened , what is going on and will it fix the issues. Note how the phrase "sense of entitlement" has been thrown back to the PAP which came out with the term.

http://catherinelim.sg/2013/03/16/the-pap-and-the-people-bread-and-butter-concerns-and-much-more/

"Clearly, after more than 40 years of untrammeled power, the PAP had settled into a deadly complacency and sense of entitlement, that caused them to ride roughshod over the people’s feelings and push through a whole slew of controversial and unpopular policies, including those that would lead directly to the present bread-and-butter grievances.

But even before the people’s anger erupted at the polls, the socioeconomic and political aspects of an issue had already become inextricably linked, with the result that economic problems came to be seen as having an ultimate political cause. Thus the hardships of day-to-day living were attributed to PAP arrogance, elitism and insensitivity, and the flight abroad of bright young talent that would be needed to chart and strengthen Singapore’s economic future, was attributed to the PAP’s continuing suppression of political freedom.

The present badly deteriorating relationship between the government and the people thus cannot be repaired as long as both parties perceive it as no more than one massive bread-and-butter problem to be broken up into its many separate components which can then be fixed one by one, whether it is about the spiralling cost of resale HDB units, COEs, CPF, GST, increased bus fares, increased hospital fees, maid levies, etc. That would be dealing with the problem only at the surface, not the root. At worst, it could be just a frenzied, uncoordinated exercise of fire-fighting and damage-control."

kingrant

She then went on to list 3 or more initiatives that the PAP can do to win back hearts and minds, which tantamounts to asking them to slaughter some sscred cows....so as to bare their souls and come clean.... But i doubt it.

What the father giveth, the son taketh away?

A fiesty and fiery lady with a good head and a good heart. But please lets not compare her to Joan of Arc who was burnt to death at the stake.

metalmickey

A fiesty and fiery lady with a good head and a good heart. But please lets not compare her to Joan of Arc who was burnt to death at the stake.

You speak for many when you say this. Catherine Lim is merely a good writer who has been around before some of us were born. She would be one of our top bloggers if she wrote a little more. To her credit, she was speaking up against the establishment back in 1994, when she was already a well known writer (and too visible to be "fixed"). In order to qualify as a Joan of Arc you need to be a warrior, a general and get burnt at the stake. Maybe a leader of an opposition party. The closest we have to a Joan of Arc is Chee Soon Juan, except that he isn't victorious and he probably isn't smart enough.

steffychun

You speak for many when you say this. Catherine Lim is merely a good writer who has been around before some of us were born. She would be one of our top bloggers if she wrote a little more. To her credit, she was speaking up against the establishment back in 1994, when she was already a well known writer (and too visible to be "fixed"). In order to qualify as a Joan of Arc you need to be a warrior, a general and get burnt at the stake. Maybe a leader of an opposition party. The closest we have to a Joan of Arc is Chee Soon Juan, except that he isn't victorious and he probably isn't smart enough.

Chee is a nut case.

metalmickey

"Clearly, after more than 40 years of untrammeled power, the PAP had settled into a deadly complacency and sense of entitlement, that caused them to ride roughshod over the people’s feelings and push through a whole slew of controversial and unpopular policies, including those that would lead directly to the present bread-and-butter grievances.

The PAP in the past has liked to say that their policies are unpopular but necessary. In the early days some of that may have been true. But the danger is that there is a very short leap from "unpopular but necessary" and "unpopular because it is totally fucked up". Nowadays they can't even tell the difference. The "sense of entitlement" means "we can do whatever the fuck we want to do, so fuck you".

But even before the people’s anger erupted at the polls, the socioeconomic and political aspects of an issue had already become inextricably linked, with the result that economic problems came to be seen as having an ultimate political cause. Thus the hardships of day-to-day living were attributed to PAP arrogance, elitism and insensitivity, and the flight abroad of bright young talent that would be needed to chart and strengthen Singapore’s economic future, was attributed to the PAP’s continuing suppression of political freedom.

Correct. Key word: is attributed. The government is - contrary to what people think - not the source of problems. The real problems are the source of the problems, namely the form of capitalism that is being practiced around the world. Income inequality / widening gap is a problem all over the world, not just Singapore. Only it is especially severe in Singapore. It is the govt's responsibility to tackle this problem and it has not provide adequate solutions.

The present badly deteriorating relationship between the government and the people thus cannot be repaired as long as both parties perceive it as no more than one massive bread-and-butter problem to be broken up into its many separate components which can then be fixed one by one, whether it is about the spiralling cost of resale HDB units, COEs, CPF, GST, increased bus fares, increased hospital fees, maid levies, etc. That would be dealing with the problem only at the surface, not the root. At worst, it could be just a frenzied, uncoordinated exercise of fire-fighting and damage-control."

Yes, ironically our problems are of an architectural nature. All those people who love democracy - not that there is anything really wrong with democracy, but understand the limitations. Democracy can only provide piecemeal solutions. It can only formulate the type of solutions that everybody can agree on. Problems where solutions depend upon changing too many things at the same time - how are you going to solve them?

andyfisher

Guillotine akan datang for the putain dauphin in 2016.
allez allez lol

btw, is it just me or does anyone else find the old bird catherine lim sexy, her oyster must be one fine aged classic. wonder if still tight and shiok or not. :biggrin:

prancku

bro, with all due respect, I humbly submit that its just you.

She is a divorcee with two grown children. Used to be seen hanging around with a couple of ang mo old men and don't know whether this still carry on or not. By the way she was from Penang.

With this profile, ok, lah? Mai hiam eah sai???:biggrin::biggrin:

liongsum

Guillotine akan datang for the putain dauphin in 2016.
allez allez lol

btw, is it just me or does anyone else find the old bird catherine lim sexy, her oyster must be one fine aged classic. wonder if still tight and shiok or not. :biggrin:

you like widows?