• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

3 am Protest!!!

ST_20130912_MKPET2_3832526e.jpg

Operators such as Attica say that banning alcohol sales in convenience stores within a 1km radius and implementing a dry zone will work better in cleaning up the Clarke Quay area. -- PHOTO: ATTICA

Nightclubs, pubs and restaurant operators of 21 outlets in Clarke Quay are appealing against the new liquor licensing hours which will take effect in the area on Oct 1.

The new rule bans the sale of alcohol after 3am on Sundays and weekdays, but operators are hoping the police and Liquor Licensing Board will consider a 4am deadline instead.

Currently, tenants with a liquor licence can sell liquor to patrons until 6am.

They also want the authorities to ban convenience stores within a 1km radius of Clarke Quay from selling alcohol, and to designate the Clarke Quay Read Bridge, an area known as a gathering point for youths to loiter and drink alcohol, as a no-alcohol zone.

The Straits Times understands that a petition signed by operators of 21 outlets in Clarke Quay was submitted to the Clarke Quay management on Aug 1.

The outlets include nightspots Fenix Room, Shanghai Dolly, Dream, Attica, Crazy Elephant and restaurant Hooters Singapore, and make up one-third of the total number of tenants in Clarke Quay.

The petition, led by LifeBrandz chief executive Bernard Lim, who manages several nightspots in the area including Fenix Room, Dream, Mulligan's Irish pub and live music venue Aquanova, called for leniency in the curtailment of liquor licensing hours to provide tenants with options to vary their closing hours.

A copy of the petition obtained by The Straits Times read: "Particularly on Fridays with high visitorship, there will be serious concerns for crowd and traffic control if all patrons decide to leave their respective clubs at 3am as constrained by the new policy limit."

The petition also highlighted another concern: the "ready option of cheaper liquor from nearby convenience stores", which contributes to a large percentage of the alcohol consumption in the public spaces of Clarke Quay area.

"When left unchecked and coupled with lack of social accountability from the convenience stores, this often perpetuates public disorder and social nuisances," it said.

In response to queries from Life!, a police spokesman would only say: "Police confirm we received and are assessing an appeal for an extension of the liquor licensing hours in Clarke Quay."

The changes to the liquor licensing hours were made in July, following complaints of drunken behaviour in the area.

A Clarke Quay spokesman said the management "supports initiatives that make our property a safe and secure place to wine, dine and have a good time", adding that it is working with tenants and the authorities on the appeal for an extension of the liquor licensing hours.

Attica marketing manager Amanda Ng, 33, said that what the tenants are suggesting will "definitely minimise" the problem of drunken behaviour in the vicinity as "it makes it less convenient for the culprits to get their cheap fix".

She added: "Banning the sale of alcohol in convenience stores within a 1km radius and having a dry zone area must come hand-in-hand for it to work."

Business development executive Huang Shi Hui, 35, who has partied at Dream and Shanghai Dolly, also hopes the authorities will allow the liquor sales hours to extend to 4am.

She said: "3am is too early because people who club normally start at midnight and a shorter party time means they will get drunk faster. The authorities should also ban drinking on the bridge as it's quite unsightly."

If you want to drink after 3 am, go home and drink lor. What is the problem. Get drunk and start to be a nuisance on the roads and causing accidents by drink driving.Teens got date rape. Some drunks got molested,abused and exploited. No liquor after 3 am is a brilliant enforcement.

Banning the sale of alcohol? What is this, Kelantan? :rolleyes:

Must be some Christian nutjobs in the policy planning department. You know, those kind who start their wedding dinners with a prayer led by their pastor, and who refuse to serve alcoholic drinks lest the believers 'stumble' when they see someone else enjoy their beers and wines. :rolleyes:

"Sir, orange juice, coke or Chinese tea?" :oIo::kma:

lianbeng replies to thread: close down clarke quay lah!:D

drink and smoke for what waste $$$, who will earn your $$$, when you fall sick all your $$$ goes to who ???. If they really care ban sales of tobacco. Will they do it (NO) why $$$ again.

If you want to drink after 3 am, go home and drink lor. What is the problem. Get drunk and start to be a nuisance on the roads and causing accidents by drink driving.Teens got date rape. Some drunks got molested,abused and exploited. No liquor after 3 am is a brilliant enforcement.

For this I fully agree with you. :) If wanna continue to drink don't go home, stay until the next morning lah :D

Get drunk at home will beat wife and children. Best not to drink. Don't know why people like to get drunk. The feeling is not great and you get headache in the morning.

Aiyah, the SPF should just have an ang cheah out there every weekend ...trouble will stop. SPF is not policing. What are they doing?

Domestic violence may not be solely due to drinking. There are many other socio-economic factors. I've seen my neighbour's wife being battered by her husband simply because the husband suspected that she was having an affair with her colleague. He was not drunk. He was not psychotic. He was perfectly a nice, normal and quiet neighbour. But he suddenly turned violent and bashed his wife. I later discovered that he lost a great amount at the casino and he turned violent and targeted his wife for his utter misery.

And who made the casinoes so easily accessible to Singaporeans?

There are lots of women openly soliciting, many under the watchful eyes of their pimps.

Why are the authorities so useless in controlling this? Why are our men so unfaithful and immoral?

I think they should ban alcohol altogether to avoid wanton protests, bizarre behaviour, sexual abuses and assault,cyber bullying and deviant and anti-social behaviour.....

Thread:3 am Protest!!!
rape kopi
15-09-2013 05:48 PM

fuck kopi
15-09-2013 05:48 PM

kill kopi
15-09-2013 05:46 PM

kopi go die
15-09-2013 05:46 PM

hate kopi

I suppose if we cut down the use of alcohol, some of the common crimes will see a fall. People who rape,kill, murder,curse,swear and commit all sorts of felony are usually under the influence of alcohol which gives them the courage to commit those unwholesome evil deeds.

A man first takes a glass of alcohol. The glass takes another glass. In the end, the glass of alcohol takes the man.That's the tragedy of being intoxicated and drugged.Many young people commit suicide and die because of alcohol intoxication.

I suppose if we cut down the use of alcohol, some of the common crimes will see a fall. People who rape,kill, murder,curse,swear and commit all sorts of felony are usually under the influence of alcohol which gives them the courage to commit those unwholesome evil deeds.

A man first takes a glass of alcohol. The glass takes another glass. In the end, the glass of alcohol takes the man.That's the tragedy of being intoxicated and drugged.Many young people commit suicide and die because of alcohol intoxication.

You are advocating for a pseudo-Islamic state!!!!!

No lah. We must exercise prudence and restraint as far as alcohol is concerned. Alcohol releases the animal in you. My friend is a very quiet, nice and gentle person.But after a bottle of beer, he is a different man and we have to restrain him because he goes bonkers .He starts to molest the ladies and talk dirty.Once, he went to the brothel while he was drunk! But I don't know whether he could perform then. So alcohol is bad. I think it is appropriate to ban all consumption of alcohol or restrict them severely.

My poker kaki , when he is high on alcohol, he can win big or lose big.But 9 out of 10 times, he will lose big because his judgement is flawed and his courage misleads him. Poor judgement can lead to many unhappy events. You can also see this at the casinos.There are many die hard drunkards there donating to the dens. Massive losses. Massive problems. Massive dire consequences.