• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$3,000 salary was very low

Nov 30, 2009

Corrupt clerk-of-works fined

<!-- by line -->By Elena Chong, Courts Correspondent
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
A FORMER clerk-of-works who corruptly accepted a $10,000 bribe from a project director to be lenient in his supervision was fined $50,000 on Monday.
Low Soon Chong, 58, who pleaded guilty, was with Sentosa Leisure Management when he accepted the bribe from Mr Richard Joseph Cheng Tim Leck at a men's toilet at HarbourFront Centre on Sept 18 last year.
Mr Cheng was a project director of Meng Yeow Construction, which was awarded a contract to build a two-storey extension project of Sentosa Express Depot.
Low, now unemployed, met Mr Cheng at Palawan Beach, Sentosa, on Aug 28 last year (08) and told him that his $3,000 salary was very low. Asked exactly what he wanted, Low replied that he wanted a .5 per cent of the estimated $5.9 million contract of the Sentosa project. The amount worked out to be $30,000.
Low stated that in return he would ensure that jobs moved smoothly for the project.
Low, who suggested that payment be made in three instalments, was arrested on Sept 18 last year after he had walked out of a toilet with the envelope of marked $1,000 note and a $9,000 cash cheque. He could have been fined up to $100,000 and/or jailed for up to five years.

he is so unlucky to be caught, probably done it all his life, now 58 then caught, already taken enough money to send his children to university in USA and UK.

lee kuan yew

$3,000 very low? So how much he want?

Nov 30, 2009

Corrupt clerk-of-works fined

<!-- by line -->By Elena Chong, Courts Correspondent
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
A FORMER clerk-of-works who corruptly accepted a $10,000 bribe from a project director to be lenient in his supervision was fined $50,000 on Monday.
Low Soon Chong, 58, who pleaded guilty, was with Sentosa Leisure Management when he accepted the bribe from Mr Richard Joseph Cheng Tim Leck at a men's toilet at HarbourFront Centre on Sept 18 last year.
Mr Cheng was a project director of Meng Yeow Construction, which was awarded a contract to build a two-storey extension project of Sentosa Express Depot.
Low, now unemployed, met Mr Cheng at Palawan Beach, Sentosa, on Aug 28 last year (08) and told him that his $3,000 salary was very low. Asked exactly what he wanted, Low replied that he wanted a .5 per cent of the estimated $5.9 million contract of the Sentosa project. The amount worked out to be $30,000.
Low stated that in return he would ensure that jobs moved smoothly for the project.
Low, who suggested that payment be made in three instalments, was arrested on Sept 18 last year after he had walked out of a toilet with the envelope of marked $1,000 note and a $9,000 cash cheque. He could have been fined up to $100,000 and/or jailed for up to five years.

theblackhole

3K is just so so with singapore's high standard of living and high cost...how to survive..how to get married..how to settle down...how to produce children...3K compared to those drawing $300K.....$36K compared to $3 million...

can you survive...would you want to improve your miserable lot...the disparity and the salary divide is insane....you no agree?

Char_Azn

3K isn't high either. many pple get into the 3K region in their 20s.

I agree with shOUTloud, for a 58 year old, 3K isn't something to shout about

sweatshop lim

Eh! Donch forget we both serve the same master hor!

$3,000 bery good oready!

Otherwise how to be:

<object width="800" height="600"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/sZRhJOjNiyM&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/sZRhJOjNiyM&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="800" height="600"></embed></object>​

hey, what kind of generation are you sinkie born in? 3k is just pocket change and only last for one shopping trip. ANd you people discussing seriously that it is a salary?

fuck u lah CB kia tonychat.. u r just a good for nothing OKT..

S$3k:confused: u will be lucky if u can 'earn' 3000 baht per month..

btw, thai king is dying, thai girls are still prostituting their cheap chee byes around the world.. thailand best huh...:cool:

Char_Azn

Eh! Donch forget we both serve the same master hor!

$3,000 bery good oready!

Otherwise how to be:

<object width="800" height="600"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/sZRhJOjNiyM&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/sZRhJOjNiyM&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="800" height="600"></embed></object>​

Don't know what master you serve, I don't serve any. As far as I'nm concern, 3K isn't much.

Maverick01

u have to see which generation la....there are many pple in their 40s, 50s now earning 2kplus a mth only.....1kplus also got la!!! comon!!!!

boring

$3k should be just a pea, as once upon a time one old ugly lady fart said $600000 is a piece of peanut...

If I am 58 and earning 3k a month, that is damn low

no joke. 3000 - 600 tax. then - 7 % gst

aircon bill, car bill, hdb bill.
kids education.

yes it is very little.

but actually can live on.

if he retired and has pension, it will be comfortable living.

now, he has no pension. his life is finish, he might as well, jump hdb.

Char_Azn

no joke. 3000 - 600 tax. then - 7 % gst

aircon bill, car bill, hdb bill.
kids education.

yes it is very little.

but actually can live on.

if he retired and has pension, it will be comfortable living.

now, he has no pension. his life is finish, he might as well, jump hdb.

600 CPF lah simi tax. He probably using that to pay for the house. For someone earning 3K. Assuming he has done NS and minus all the kuchin kurupt thing, the income tax should be 0 or close to 0. At least I was paying 0 tax back when I was still earning only 3K.

And jump down for what, he can always start working at McDs. 58 liao. Good time to start. By the time he reach 65, can make it to manager after that can start learning how to collect drink cans