• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$25M lost SMRT HUAT AH!

Microsoft

u mean delayed payment? ...

can oso f**k 1st, pay later? ...

:eek:......mai lah, mai lah, wah mai...:biggrin::biggrin:

20120106.185001_smrtceo.jpg

875gyw

THE_CHANSTER

SMRT reports $25m loss in core business for the first time

Allowing free rides in the morning for a whole year to win back customer goodwill will kinda impact your bottom line.
Nonetheless, how does a virtual transport monopoly lose money when ridership numbers are increasing? Is there some accounting black hole?
The whole Board should be fired.

hockbeng

Allowing free rides in the morning for a whole year to win back customer goodwill will kinda impact your bottom line.
Nonetheless, how does a virtual transport monopoly lose money when ridership numbers are increasing? Is there some accounting black hole?

THEY ARE NOT EXACTLY LOSING MONEY.
THEIR CASH FLOW IS VERY STRONG.

WHAT THEY ARE PROBABLY DOING IS TO BOOK ALL THE PAST YEARS AND FUTURE YEARS MAINTENANCE PROJECTS ; AND INCLUDING WRITE OFFs AND DEPRECIATION ALL WITHIN THIS YEAR.
BASICALLY START WITH A CLEAN SHEET SO THAT THE SUBSEQUENT YEARS BECOME VERY EASY TO SHOW REVENUE GROWTH; ESPECIALLY IN % TERMS.
THIS WILL MEAN A BONUS FOR A JOB WELL DONE.

Should she not be charged with treason.? Smrt is a critical industry subjected to gahmen oversight. Since she fuck it up with malicious intent. This is enough to charge her under isa and all her assets confiscated. These will teach all foreign garbage to not fuck around.

Yeah I also think she ought to be jailed for damaging national infrastructure. She was very arrogant to blame people for being choosy and chose not to board the train when it was clear the trains were overcrowded.

Why should Desmond care. he made almost $2 million in compensation.

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?...Bak-Chye-compensation-was-performance-bonuses!!

Since he took over in the middle of the SMRT fiscal year (Oct 1st 2012), Anyone here curious as to what kind of money SMRT pays Desmond Quack Bak Chor for 6 months of learning on the job and shitty performance for that fiscal year? Here we go.

Base Salary (all figures for 6 months of fiscal year 2013) $305,000
Performance bonus $274,000
Benefits $ 32,000
Restricted Shares Plan (155,000 shares) @$1.05 per share $162,750
Performance Share Plan (130,000 shares) @$1.05 per share $136,500
Total compensation $910,250

If extrapolated into the full year, he would have earned $1,820,500. Of his total compensation, fully 45% of his compensation was performance bonuses. Wow, what were these bonuses that were so easily obtained. How can he even earn any bonuses given the problems with SMRT? This kind of compensation package is a sweetheart deal for PAP elite. Thank you very much PAP for parachuting this useless turd into SMRT. De-meritocracy is well and alive in Sinkieland.
Since he took over in the middle of the SMRT fiscal year (Oct 1st 2012), Anyone here curious as to what kind of money SMRT pays Desmond Quack Bak Chor for 6 months of learning on the job and shitty performance for that fiscal year? Here we go.

Why should Desmond care. he made almost $2 million in compensation.

http://sammyboy.com/showthread.php?...Bak-Chye-compensation-was-performance-bonuses!!

Base Salary (all figures for 6 months of fiscal year 2013) $305,000
Performance bonus $274,000
Benefits $ 32,000
Restricted Shares Plan (155,000 shares) @$1.05 per share $162,750
Performance Share Plan (130,000 shares) @$1.05 per share $136,500
Total compensation $910,250

If extrapolated into the full year, he would have earned $1,820,500. Of his total compensation, fully 45% of his compensation was performance bonuses. Wow, what were these bonuses that were so easily obtained. How can he even earn any bonuses given the problems with SMRT? This kind of compensation package is a sweetheart deal for PAP elite. Thank you very much PAP for parachuting this useless turd into SMRT. De-meritocracy is well and alive in Sinkieland.

Wow 1.5 year on the job already since Oct 2012, time flies and he has earned three million by now.

scoobydoo

Yeah I also think she ought to be jailed for damaging national infrastructure. She was very arrogant to blame people for being choosy and chose not to board the train when it was clear the trains were overcrowded.

?...please move to a Less crowded platform.

dr.wailing

.....Desmond compounded the matter by bringing people he knew and like him had no background in running this business.....

Your argument can be applied to how LKY and LHL recruit people to the cabinet. Desmond must have learned it from these two masters.

Those free rides were not for fostering goodwill, but rather an experiment to see if they alleviate the crowding during rush hour. Just another desperate attempt to close the barn door after the horse has bolted. Your scholar urban planners never foresaw the ramifications of overpopulation before importing a horde of foreigners? Okay then. :rolleyes:

Satyr

Not so, methinks. The Board gave her a specific brief to use up the spaces for retail purposes. And it is this policy that is actually helping Desmond look good. He is into the Sports Hub big time and that will contribute to future profits. His poor performance could be attributed to his poor management in identifying real talents to supplement his own incompetence. He brought in his army buddies instead.

His stupidity is also confirmed by his statement that the best people he knew were from the military. What else did the idiot expect, if he had never worked in another organisation? Instead of getting headhunters on the case, he got in his equally, if not more, incompetent uniformed buddies.

The Board of Directors must be equally incompetent to allow him to bring in his kakis wholesale. We can't blame Desmond for inheriting problems but his way of finding solutions shows you he is clueless.

He is still going to make $1 million and get a huge bonus. That's PAP meritocracy.

Those free rides were not for fostering goodwill, but rather an experiment to see if they alleviate the crowding during rush hour. Just another desperate attempt to close the barn door after the horse has bolted. Your scholar urban planners never foresaw the ramifications of overpopulation before importing a horde of foreigners? Okay then. :rolleyes:

Of course they saw it. But the cost benefit analysis does not justify it. They have to weigh the cost of improving infrastructure, buy more trains and keeping high availability of existing trains thru good maintenance against the benefit of increased revenues and efficiency. They obviously came to the conclusion that because it is a captive market, improving train reliability and frequency is not justified because they will still end up collecting the same amount of revenues.

Wow 1.5 year on the job already since Oct 2012, time flies and he has earned three million by now.

Yep, this time I want to see how many performance shares Desmond gets for losing $25 million. Sure they will give him some more. His KPI probably says just show up for work and will sure get bonus.