• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

$234 Mee Pok!

Jul 8, 2010

Mee pok for family meal? $234

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
MY FAMILY had a similar experience at Super Peking Duck Imperial Treasure on Mother's Day as reported last Thursday ("Flap over a fish... that costs $1,224").
We were having lunch and wanted to order seafood hor fun to complement the meal which cost about $25. The waitress informed us that they had run out of the dish and suggested we try the mee pok, one of their signature dishes popular with many of their customers.
While waiting for our food, we noted that there was a lobster dish yet to be served. We highlighted to the waiting staff that we did not order any lobster dish. The waitress came and said that the mee pok came with the lobster.
We said we had no idea that the noodles came with lobster and that it would cost $234. We asked for the order to be cancelled. However, she said we could no longer cancel it.
When we asked why the price or the fact that the dish contained lobster was not communicated to us, the waitress said that it was not their policy to state the prices of their dishes unless asked.
If lobster was the main focus, should this not have been highlighted to us? Even the way the dish was recommended to us emphasised the noodles.
Penny Ong (Ms)

it is like that, too much competition, too high running cost, too little customer, so restaurant are forced to hammer the customer to survive in the PAP land.

but those indonesia rich people and pap dogs does not look the price. they are too rich.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Next time, if you have to dine there. Better don't even order extra white rice, or even water.

Who knows what may comes with these item and cost you a bomb. :mad:

SneeringTree

No excuse at all. This restaurant is deceitful. You do not recommend lobster noodles in place of a simple order of hor fun.

Being in the restaurant business, you should know that any substitutes for a dish that is not available should be close to both the taste and price of what the customer originally wanted.

It's hard to boycott this restaurant because I suspect it serves mostly unsuspecting tourists. I suggest STB or the gahment do something about it.

flkyflky

As you may be all NAIVE.

Casinos are all ran by Mafia even if they were called IRs.

All their affiliated business are robberies.

Just be prepared. Unless you are armed and prepared to bleed don't go near.

myo539

As you may be all NAIVE.
Casinos are all ran by Mafia even if they were called IRs.
All their affiliated business are robberies.
Just be prepared. Unless you are armed and prepared to bleed don't go near.

It could be the latest modus operandi cooked up by the restaurants to net the unsuspecting customers.

The next time the PRC or Hongkee waitress say they run out of fishballs, better run for your life - they may give you abalone balls instead.

Outright cheating. I am just shocked that this is going on. May years ago there was restuarant at the airport that did the same thing and was shut down when airport management found out . It was called Mayflower and had a branch in the cityy
No excuse at all. This restaurant is deceitful. You do not recommend lobster noodles in place of a simple order of hor fun.

Being in the restaurant business, you should know that any substitutes for a dish that is not available should be close to both the taste and price of what the customer originally wanted.

It's hard to boycott this restaurant because I suspect it serves mostly unsuspecting tourists. I suggest STB or the gahment do something about it.

shOUTloud

This is not just Imperial Treasure or Mayflower. I just had dinner at Jumbo recently and they added in a small squids dish despite no one ordering. I thought my friends ordered and my friends thought I ordered. In the end, ate and paid. Only after the meal then I realise their little trick to add this and that.

Why do they have to resort to this?

cooleo

KNN Mee Pok comes with lobster? :oIo:

If i buy a Toyota, does it come with a BMW?

Or...if i buy a 4room hdb, does it come with a bungalow at Sentosa Cove?

metadata

The state of singapore and singaporean is sorrowful at its' height.

First of all the restuarant trick is damn cheapskate to say, and the wonder is
it work in singapore uniquely. Any other countries would have the customer, the media and the law enforcement slam in ur face.

I have ever walk out of various restuarent not becuz of additional order but rather untimely delivery, even to the extent the dish is placed in front of me and I simply reject it.

It is funny that lot of singaporean do lot of Mr Bean type of snobbish behavior but when it came to a tad of semi-confrontation they very quickly submit. Lot of stories of bar/restuarant/hawker tell u must pay and they pay. And I ever have personal experience of friends holding me back when I try to bargain price for them in foreign place when actually the bargaining process is a norm.

Scared of this, scared of that, uniquely singapore sigh...

Spock

The state of singapore and singaporean is sorrowful at its' height.

Scared of this, scared of that, uniquely singapore sigh...

Absolutely right. I don't know why Singaporeans just don't dare to raise their voices or kick up a fuss. There is no way they can force you to pay for something you didn't order. Just say that you will only pay for what you have ordered and if they are not happy, ask them to call the police. If they try to stop you from leaving, call the police. You can only get bullied if you allow yourself to be pushed around.

Make no mistake, Singapore is regressing to the days of a rogue society with the massive influx of uncouth foreigners. If you don't adapt by becoming more of a ruffian, you will suffer terribly.

MarrickG

The place will not last long if this contimues.

Where is CASE? Aren't they suppose to comment on such practices?

Next time I open one restaurant and if someone order roast pork rice. I will give him one plate of rice and one whole roast pig.

Sperminator

Next time when anyone place an order in SGP, better confirm the price first.

No need to talk about face value down here.

Most of the time, people don't ask about the price before ordering (nothing wrong really).

And if they don't want to spend so much money, why not cook at home, and have family steamboat, may be cheaper... and buy hawker center food back home for potluck... budget can control.

anyways, please state clearly the restaurant, and we shall boycott it!

poore

i think all restaurants shd lists every dish price, whether high end or low end....

wat if diners cant afford it?

beware, mee siam can be more than $234 as abalone will be added.

Mee Siam Mai Hum is even much more expensive, the price is not on the menu; communicated to you by hand signals like those floor traders; and eaten only by elite wearing white attire with a red circle & blue thunder sign in the forehead.

Received_by_Kings

Jul 8, 2010

Mee pok for family meal? $234

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
MY FAMILY had a similar experience at Super Peking Duck Imperial Treasure on Mother's Day as reported last Thursday ("Flap over a fish... that costs $1,224").
We were having lunch and wanted to order seafood hor fun to complement the meal which cost about $25. The waitress informed us that they had run out of the dish and suggested we try the mee pok, one of their signature dishes popular with many of their customers.
While waiting for our food, we noted that there was a lobster dish yet to be served. We highlighted to the waiting staff that we did not order any lobster dish. The waitress came and said that the mee pok came with the lobster.
We said we had no idea that the noodles came with lobster and that it would cost $234. We asked for the order to be cancelled. However, she said we could no longer cancel it.
When we asked why the price or the fact that the dish contained lobster was not communicated to us, the waitress said that it was not their policy to state the prices of their dishes unless asked.
If lobster was the main focus, should this not have been highlighted to us? Even the way the dish was recommended to us emphasised the noodles.
Penny Ong (Ms)

The real Imperial Treasure is the mee pok, but the realer Imperial Treasure is actually the lobster garnishing.

Their main duck price is piecemeal in comparison and is only a cover to be qualified as an Imperial Treasure such as these. This is the Chinese Way of "secrecy", "mystery" and "indirectness". :biggrin::rolleyes:

Received_by_Kings

Mee Siam Mai Hum is even much more expensive, the price is not on the menu; communicated to you by hand signals like those floor traders; :biggrin:

That is the priceless Imperial Treasure everyone is looking for. Like the elixir, the fountain of youth, dragon's armpit, etc.