21 Habits of Happy People

Extremist

“Happiness is a habit – cultivate it.” ~ Elbert Hubbar

Happiness is one aspiration all people share. No one wants to be sad and depressed.
We’ve all seen people who are always happy – even amidst agonizing life trials. I’m not saying happy people don’t feel grief, sorrow or sadness; they just don’t let it overtake their life. The following are 21 things happy people make a habit of doing:

1. Appreciate Life

Be thankful that you woke up alive each morning. Develop a childlike sense of wonder towards life. Focus on the beauty of every living thing. Make the most of each day. Don’t take anything for granted. Don’t sweat the small stuff.

2. Choose Friends Wisely

Surround yourself with happy, positive people who share your values and goals. Friends that have the same ethics as you will encourage you to achieve your dreams. They help you to feel good about yourself. They are there to lend a helping hand when needed.

3. Be Considerate

Accept others for who they are as well as where they are in life. Respect them for who they are. Touch them with a kind and generous spirit. Help when you are able, without trying to change the other person. Try to brighten the day of everyone you come into contact with.

4. Learn Continuously

Keep up to date with the latest news regarding your career and hobbies. Try new and daring things that has sparked your interest – such as dancing, skiing, surfing or sky-diving.

5. Creative Problem Solving

Don’t wallow in self-pity. As soon as you face a challenge get busy finding a solution. Don’t let the set backs affect your mood, instead see each new obstacle you face as an opportunity to make a positive change. Learn to trust your gut instincts – it’s almost always right.

6. Do What They Love

Some statistics show that 80% of people dislike their jobs! No wonder there’s so many unhappy people running around. We spend a great deal of our life working. Choose a career that you enjoy – the extra money of a job you detest isn’t worth it. Make time to enjoy your hobbies and pursue special interests.

7. Enjoy Life

Take the time to see the beauty around you. There’s more to life than work. Take time to smell the roses, watch a sunset or sunrise with a loved one, take a walk along the seashore, hike in the woods etc. Learn to live in the present moment and cherish it. Don’t live in the past or the future.

8. Laugh

Don’t take yourself – or life to seriously. You can find humor in just about any situation. Laugh at yourself – no one’s perfect. When appropriate laugh and make light of the circumstances. (Naturally there are times that you should be serious as it would be improper to laugh.)

9. Forgive

Holding a grudge will hurt no one but you. Forgive others for your own peace of mind. When you make a mistake – own up to it – learn from it – and FORGIVE yourself.

10. Gratitude

Develop an attitude of gratitude. Count your blessings; All of them – even the things that seem trivial. Be grateful for your home, your work and most importantly your family and friends. Take the time to tell them that you are happy they are in your life.

11. Invest in Relationships

Always make sure your loved ones know you love them even in times of conflict. Nurture and grow your relationships with your family and friends by making the time to spend with them. Don’t break your promises to them. Be supportive.

12. Keep Their Word

Honesty is the best policy. Every action and decision you make should be based on honesty. Be honest with yourself and with your loved ones.

13. Meditate

Meditation gives your very active brain a rest. When it’s rested you will have more energy and function at a higher level. Types of meditation include yoga, hypnosis, relaxation tapes, affirmations, visualization or just sitting in complete silence. Find something you enjoy and make the time to practice daily.

14. Mind Their Own Business

Concentrate on creating your life the way you want it. Take care of you and your family. Don’t get overly concerned with what other people are doing or saying. Don’t get caught up with gossip or name calling. Don’t judge. Everyone has a right to live their own life the way they want to – including you.

15. Optimism

See the glass as half full. Find the positive side of any given situation. It’s there – even though it may be hard to find. Know that everything happens for a reason, even though you may never know what the reason is. Steer clear of negative thoughts. If a negative thought creeps in – replace it with a positive thought.

16. Love Unconditionally

Accept others for who they are. You don’t put limitations on your love. Even though you may not always like the actions of your loved ones – you continue to love them.

17. Persistence

Never give up. Face each new challenge with the attitude that it will bring you one step closer to your goal. You will never fail, as long as you never give up. Focus on what you want, learn the required skills, make a plan to succeed and take action. We are always happiest while pursuing something of value to us.

18. Be Proactive

Accept what can not be changed. Happy people don’t waste energy on circumstances beyond their control. Accept your limitations as a human being. Determine how you can take control by creating the outcome you desire – rather than waiting to respond.

19. Self Care

Take care of your mind, body and health. Get regular medical check ups. Eat healthy and work out. Get plenty of rest. Drink lots of water. Exercise your mind by continually energizing it with interesting and exciting challenges.

20. Self Confidence

Don’t try to be someone that you’re not. After all no one likes a phony. Determine who you are in the inside – your own personal likes and dislikes. Be confident in who you are. Do the best you can and don’t second guess yourself.

21. Take Responsibility

Happy people know and understand that they are 100% responsible for their life. They take responsibility for their moods, attitude, thoughts, feelings, actions and words. They are the first to admit when they’ve made a mistake.

Begin today by taking responsibility for your happiness. Work on developing these habits as you own. The more you incorporate the above habits into your daily lifestyle – the happier you will be.

Most of all: BE TRUE TO YOURSELF.

9. Forgive

Holding a grudge will hurt no one but you. Forgive others for your own peace of mind. When you make a mistake – own up to it – learn from it – and FORGIVE yourself.

This kind of motivational crap are in actual fact full of nonsense.. During younger days, I naively believe in all this forgiveness shit.. But as I grew older, I realised that its easier said than done..

How do you forgive people whom you have treated kindly in the past, whom you helped a lot when they asked you for favors and in the end they backstabbed you and chuck you one side when you're down and out in your life?

I'm not a vengeful person by nature.. But there are some people whose names are listed in my little black book.. These are the scums that I will not forgive and forget..

This kind of motivational crap are in actual fact full of nonsense.. During younger days, I naively believe in all this forgiveness shit.. But as I grew older, I realised that its easier said than done..

How do you forgive people whom you have treated kindly in the past, whom you helped a lot when they asked you for favors and in the end they backstabbed you and chuck you one side when you're down and out in your life?

I'm not a vengeful person by nature.. But there are some people whose names are listed in my little black book.. These are the scums that I will not forgive and forget..

That's the problem with it all. It's easy to write it out but difficult to actually do it. I believe that for a person that doesn't follow anything listed in here to actually follow what is listed it won't be a solo effort that is to say this person will actually need to put in the extra and in some cases impossible effort to change his mindset and also have a 3rd party like a professional maybe a psychologist aid him in doing so forcing him in fact probably at times forcibly that they might even come to blows so that he can actually change his mindset. It's not going to be easy at all and unless the person has an iron will and discipline in which the majority of ppl lack he's not going to be able to accomplish that alone let alone with others aiding him.

There's a reason why I now keep a 10 ft pole distance from Kelings.. Its a very long story.. Think I once told some Bros at the chatroom what happened between me and this Keling chap who used to be good buddy of mine..

He was a manipulative bastard scum who won't hesitate to backstab and make use of other people to serve his own greed.. To think that this Keling whom I then regarded as my good buddy, could betray me for $250.. LOL..

I'm not really bothered with that amount but I just can't stand his sickening 2 faced cunning ways.. Pitied the people who were duped by his friendliness when he was alive..

That's why I stressed that I would rather mingle with the Mats than the snakes..

Thankfully I severed the friendship before he could backstab me further..Even though he's dead now, I still find it hard to forgive that snake after seeing how many people he had betrayed when he was still alive..

Frankly speaking that's the first time I ever saw a human being behaving in a low life degrading manner.. Even a dog won't behave in a similar manner like him..

Pitied his poor wife who only realised his true colours quite late..

how come bonking is not on the list? i don't think i can be happy if deprived of this.

How to be happy when there are so many rules to follow?

Just avoid Sinkies and bash Sinkies daily..then you will be very happy.

TS

i was told that this sort of list where they have motherhood statements were meant in previous centuries to be used by the feudal lords to bring values to the peasants. It really has no place in today's society where people are better educated, well connected and have knowledge and are more than capable to form opinions without the worry of when their next meal would come from. And if the smallholding that they ploughed sometime back will yield a decent crop for his family and his lord.

Used to have a few dinosaur bosses that feared to make a decision but were happy to lecture people on these values. New age church groups too love these sort of things but it will be massaged to say that Jesus said it.

TS

i was told that this sort of list where they have motherhood statements were meant in previous centuries to be used by the feudal lords to bring values to the peasants. It really has no place in today's society where people are better educated, well connected and have knowledge and are more than capable to form opinions without the worry of when their next meal would come from. And if the smallholding that they ploughed sometime back will yield a decent crop for his family and his lord.

Used to have a few dinosaur bosses that feared to make a decision but were happy to lecture people on these values. New age church groups too love these sort of things but it will be massaged to say that Jesus said it.

TS

I was told that this sort of list where they have motherhood statements were meant in current century to be used by the manipulative bastard Scroobal to bring values to his children. It really has no place in today's society where people are not that manipulative or cunning and have upbringing and values to respect opinions without having to denigrate others. And if the wet hole that her Ang Mo lover ploughed sometime back will yield a creampie for the laukwaybu (Scroobal's wife) and her young lover.

Used to have a few simple minded porlumpar sycophants that feared to make a decision but were happy to call people trolls and idiots based on their lack of values. His sidekicks and clones too love these sort of things and it will be massaged to say that kaypohchee Scroobal said it.

Sir Zeddy, i am sorry to hear what happened but sometimes you just have to let it go. My dad helped out a good friend of his who conspired with the horse owners to leech all the money from my dad. One time, luckily my dad overheard him saying something like this: "XXXXXX, its not your time yet, i shall get all your money and then lets see who is on top" My dad stopped all friendship activities with him from then on and withdrew but it was mostly too late, most of his money was gone and he went into debts.

I knew his son from young and were always good friends as my mum told me to forgive. We never looked back at the past though they did do us wrong, comparing things, saying i will be a nobody, he will get degree first, get girlfriend/wife first, get car first and his dad also said, they will move out to a bigger house first. Somehow in the end, we were the ones who did everything, i guess someone up there was looking out for us even though one time this friend of mine threw a glass bottle which smashed my dads car windows but i kept quiet until today as i knew it was an accident.

My mother taught me, no matter how poorly or unjustly people treated us, we stand by our own standards and smile when they say they are good/ethical/have class because of their religions, upbringing etc. We do not need to reciprocate in kind even though it may feel better at that time. It is important to know the difference and to know better.

Some of my relatives and family friends also treated us very badly no matter how well my dad treated them in the past, they just forgot his kindness. Many relatives never knew how much my dad helped out some of them financially and even when they had relationship problems. Of course out of embarrassement, they all kept it away from each other.

As for myself, even until today, i still have friends who forgot what our friendship meant, never mind what i did for them but at least value the friendship. I rushed down more than a few times from other country/states to help out relatives and friends in need, middle of the night or in the middle of family holiday but yet when it came to the crunch, they took all credit for themselves and said that the negotiations was all due to his credit (i didn't even claim in the first place) or worst, when we needed them, they gave the excuse that they had to go to the orchard to see plants.

Conclusion: Sometimes plants = thicker than blood and water combined and friends are often still much better than relatives.

Regardless, i realised the wisdom behind forgiving others, you torture yourself in the process as well when you hold on to the hot iron. Those who did wrong against you may not even be aware of the impact of what they have done.

One chap, i used my money to sponsor his chalet, in the end, after paying for the cab which sent me back home, he picked up my wallet and did not return it to me. Inside it was all the funds to be used to pay off the chalet.

Even when another friend informed me about him picking it up, he refused to return and even wanted to pay me back by installments. Only then i realised this guy was not my friend. Another one tried to snatch my girlfriend away after i helped him financially and found him a job. Slandered me and almost succeeded and even called my office to try to make me lose my job. I know some of them laughed at me behind my back after i helped them out but i don't take it to heart as i helped them because i thought that they were my friends at that time.

All these years, still i never took any revenge against any of them, life has too much disappointments and yet there are precious little joy.

I choose to focus on the things that make me happy as if i dwell on the negative, from all the abuse, things people did and happened to me, i would have ended my life years ago.

Living and living happily is the best way, what was past is already in the past which we cannot do anything about.

I came to know of a Eurasian gentleman who was a mid level civil servant. He was one of those who converted from a pension scheme to the full CPF and gratuity scheme. The following day after his retirement, he withdrew his entire sum for a business venture and handed it to his best friend of many years. That friend vanished and he could not cover his expenses and became a bankrupt. Rather than sponge on his relatives, he got admitted to the Woodlands Home for the Aged. Immediately he began helping with the administration and looking after his fellow inmates.

I met him while on visits to the home and was impressed by his positive outlook and his ability to live with his circumstances. His only vice was smoking so used to bring a carton or two along. Did not have a bad word about anyone.

This case was mentioned in the press sometime ago.

MILF Niteclub hostess / mamasan living I think in Rose Garden ( now demolised) in East Coast had a thing for young SIA stewards. She also had a thing of video recording her trysts. These would be long relationships and eventually the guy would leave. She used to shower these guys with gifts and living expenses. One of them she sponsored his studies in the UK and when he returned, he walked out.

Having been taken advantaged off, she was not about to give way too easily and when the next guy tried something similar she threatened to release the videos. To cut a long story short, he reported to the Police and as she was not educated, she told her story. Went to jail for extortion.

I read about this in the press and then got the missing blanks filled by a counsellor. Really sad.

I came to know of a Eurasian gentleman who was a mid level civil servant. He was one of those who converted from a pension scheme to the full CPF and gratuity scheme. The following day after his retirement, he withdrew his entire sum for a business venture and handed it to his best friend of many years. That friend vanished and he could not cover his expenses and became a bankrupt. Rather than sponge on his relatives, he got admitted to the Woodlands Home for the Aged. Immediately he began helping with the administration and looking after his fellow inmates.

I met him while on visits to the home and was impressed by his positive outlook and his ability to live with his circumstances. His only vice was smoking so used to bring a carton or two along. Did not have a bad word about anyone.

This post will not have any abusive or vulgar language because it is posted with the utmost sincerity.

Scroobal, the biggest problem with you is that you are deluded into believing you are a good person.

That probably extends to your belief about your family members as well. That could be a delusion too.

That delusion of goodness and greatness is also the trait of someone very famous.

You seriously need help.

I second that zeddy. The average sinkie cannot be trusted to watch your back. They just don't get it. After i had this revalation and became more discerning, my new friends are now much more reliable.

Sir Zeddy, i am sorry to hear what happened but sometimes you just have to let it go. My dad helped out a good friend of his who conspired with the horse owners to leech all the money from my dad. One time, luckily my dad overheard him saying something like this: "XXXXXX, its not your time yet, i shall get all your money and then lets see who is on top" My dad stopped all friendship activities with him from then on and withdrew but it was mostly too late, most of his money was gone and he went into debts.

I knew his son from young and were always good friends as my mum told me to forgive. We never looked back at the past though they did do us wrong, comparing things, saying i will be a nobody, he will get degree first, get girlfriend/wife first, get car first and his dad also said, they will move out to a bigger house first. Somehow in the end, we were the ones who did everything, i guess someone up there was looking out for us even though one time this friend of mine threw a glass bottle which smashed my dads car windows but i kept quiet until today as i knew it was an accident.

My mother taught me, no matter how poorly or unjustly people treated us, we stand by our own standards and smile when they say they are good/ethical/have class because of their religions, upbringing etc. We do not need to reciprocate in kind even though it may feel better at that time. It is important to know the difference and to know better.

Some of my relatives and family friends also treated us very badly no matter how well my dad treated them in the past, they just forgot his kindness. Many relatives never knew how much my dad helped out some of them financially and even when they had relationship problems. Of course out of embarrassement, they all kept it away from each other.

As for myself, even until today, i still have friends who forgot what our friendship meant, never mind what i did for them but at least value the friendship. I rushed down more than a few times from other country/states to help out relatives and friends in need, middle of the night or in the middle of family holiday but yet when it came to the crunch, they took all credit for themselves and said that the negotiations was all due to his credit (i didn't even claim in the first place) or worst, when we needed them, they gave the excuse that they had to go to the orchard to see plants.

Conclusion: Sometimes plants = thicker than blood and water combined and friends are often still much better than relatives.

Regardless, i realised the wisdom behind forgiving others, you torture yourself in the process as well when you hold on to the hot iron. Those who did wrong against you may not even be aware of the impact of what they have done.

One chap, i used my money to sponsor his chalet, in the end, after paying for the cab which sent me back home, he picked up my wallet and did not return it to me. Inside it was all the funds to be used to pay off the chalet.

Even when another friend informed me about him picking it up, he refused to return and even wanted to pay me back by installments. Only then i realised this guy was not my friend. Another one tried to snatch my girlfriend away after i helped him financially and found him a job. Slandered me and almost succeeded and even called my office to try to make me lose my job. I know some of them laughed at me behind my back after i helped them out but i don't take it to heart as i helped them because i thought that they were my friends at that time.

All these years, still i never took any revenge against any of them, life has too much disappointments and yet there are precious little joy.

I choose to focus on the things that make me happy as if i dwell on the negative, from all the abuse, things people did and happened to me, i would have ended my life years ago.

Living and living happily is the best way, what was past is already in the past which we cannot do anything about.

You are too kind hearted and kind hearted people will let others take advantage of you . different people required different treatment .

I'm not a vengeful person by nature........

Agreed. There can be conditions - like, Forgve them for they know not what they do.

That means if they know what they do, then fuck them.