• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

2 Kangaroo Protesters happily hopped to jail

guavatree

disunity and unconfident in each other have already paved the road to internal conflicts and pettiness and lost track of the bigger picture.

bapok fake monk PAP dog

you're a fucking shit stirrer out to cause trouble for the ops!

how much dog food will your PAP prostitute masters giving you this month?

Porfirio Rubirosa

An open letter to Shafi'ie's Mom
Saturday, 13 December 2008
Huang Chih Mei

Dear Madam,

I'm Chee Soon Juan's wife, Mei. We have never met, but I heard that you were present at every session of Shafi'ie's trials and that you have been very sad with his imprisonment.

At times, I wonder whether Singaporean parents' biggest nightmare is to learn that their children are engaging in political activism and, worse, involved in civil disobedience work with my husband.

Once, we had a 18-year-old girl come to our place to stay over because she had an altercation with her mother over her taking part in SDP's activities. Her mum was so frightened that her daughter was involved in opposition politics that she threatened to complain to her MP about my husband. We managed to coax her to return home the following day.

On another occasion, a distraught young man called my home several times within one evening because his father was threatening to disown him if he continued to associate with the SDP. His father had also confiscated his passport when he wanted to attend a Nonviolent Action workshop in Malaysia.

When asked about whether his parents would attend his Tak Boleh Tahan trial that took place recently, another activist replied that it would be better if they didn't because his dad "would be too distressed and angry at Dr Chee."

As a parent myself, I have thought about how I would react if my children wanted to follow in their father's footsteps when they grow up. Hopefully, Singapore would be a different place by then. If it is not, I would really prefer them to have an easier and more comfortable life, not a life of hardship and uncertainty. But if that is the path they have chosen for themselves, I would give them all the support and encouragement and accept it as their aspirations in life.

Years ago before we had kids, Soon Juan and I once talked about what beliefs and values we'd like to impart to our children. He mentioned something about being a respectful and respected person. To be honest, I was rather peeved by such an abstract and simplistic answer. "What about intelligence and competence?" I thought of other important qualities, "How about professional achievement and social status?"

Over the years, I have come to learn that there are many intelligent and competent people who have attained high professional and social status. But I also know that this does not necessarily mean that they have earned the respect of their country men and women. Respect, in its most noble meaning, is not as easy to earn as I had assumed.

It may sound strange that I bring up this subject when Shafi'ie was just convicted and is now serving a prison sentence. This is not what Singaporeans would normally associate with a person to be respected or one whom a mother feels proud of.

However, I beg to differ with such a notion especially in this unique situation in Singapore. As Shafi'ie commented on his own actions of civil disobedience, "we hurt no one and neither did we create any disorder. What we did was to express our concerns as citizens on issues that affect us deeply."

Obviously, he feels strongly about the rights to freedom of expression and peaceful assembly, and he took it upon himself to defy and challenge unjust laws which restrict such basic rights of citizens. That's because he is extraordinarily patriotic and loyal to his own country. He is doing what he can do within his means to seek democracy, justice and equality for his fellow Singaporeans.

When given two chances by the judge to apologise before he was convicted and once more before his sentence was passed down, Shafi'ie cited "personal convictions" for his reason of standing by his actions and not apologising. As a young man, his courage and determination are admirable. I can also imagine that the temptation of giving it up must have been extremely great for him to resist.

But aren't these among the values we had been taught in school as well as the kinds of attitudes we should educate and impart to our children? Shouldn't we as parents feel proud of them when they try to turn their beliefs into actions, to change things for the betterment of society? We should be happy to see them as confident, well-informed and thinking young adults, instead of becoming disillusioned, depressed, cynical and detached souls.

Things may get a bit more complicated and confusing for my own children. They are at the age of learning right from wrong and why. I was amused to notice that during their play, they would have the police catch the baddies and put them in jail. But in real life, they don't perceive their own father as a bad person, neither do they feel ashamed of him. They know he's been in prison and that he will have to go there many more times, and we will go to those familiar prison visits again.

That's because my children see their father more for what he does, the people he associates with, and how others relate to him. They don't apply the social norms by which people are generally perceived and treated. When he is greeted or approached by strangers on the street, they would turn and ask him, "Did you know them?" or "Are you famous?"

My husband may not be understood or accepted by people who have unfavourable opinions of him, but being respectful and respected is still the guiding principle for what he does in his work, political or otherwise. Most important for me, it is the opinion of those who care about him and those he loves that matter. He has his work to do and we have our lives to live as a family, these two areas are not mutually exclusive and incompatible.

As for Shafi'ie, I first noticed him at the candlelight vigil outside the Myanmar Embassy last year. This lithe, quiet young man with wavy hair seemed to show up almost every evening which aroused my curiosity. I asked him, "Are you a Burmese?" He smiled shyly and replied, "No, no...I am a Singaporean."

I have seen him around since with an easy and laid back presence, a young person of few words. But I heard that Shafi'ie told his lawyer that he wanted to speak for himself in his own closing submissions during his kangaroo t-shirt trial. I'm not sure if he had done so, but I am certain that whatever he wanted to say had to do with his sense of duty to Singapore and his belongingness to this country as a true blue Singaporean.

Madam, you have a brave and precious son who is also a good citizen. Please have no doubt about it. Let us give him all the support and encouragement he needs during his tribulations. It is one way to make his and his friends' journey to freedom and democracy less lonely.

Best regards,
Chih Mei

Shafi'ie and Isrizal began serving their 7-day jail sentences on 12 Dec 08. The two activists, together with SDP's Assistant Secretary-General, John Tan, were sentenced to 7 days and 15 days imprisonment for wearing a T-shirt with a kangaroo in a judge's gown during the defamation hearing between Lee Kuan Yew and the Singapore Democrats. John Tan will begin his prison sentence on 16 Dec 08.

Well I must say that it is well written. Whoever wrote this must have got an A for GP or the equivalent:p
The person who wrote that has very well to do parents, holds a passport of a different nation. Shafie does not come from a well to do family.

Maybe naive is not the word, foolish is.

Zeitgeist

The person who wrote that has very well to do parents, holds a passport of a different nation. Shafie does not come from a well to do family.

The jury is still out in the Supreme Court of History!

We'll never know whether it's a mistake on his part or the government. What has he got to lose now that he has a criminal record to his name. Will it embolden him further to go even deeper?

And Wong Kan Seng better ensure that nothing happens to him while he is inside, if not some people will make sure it gets international media attention!

The jury is still out in the Supreme Court of History!

We'll never know whether it's a mistake on his part or the government. What has he got to lose now that he has a criminal record to his name. Will it embolden him further to go even deeper?

And Wong Kan Seng better ensure that nothing happens to him while he is inside, if not some people will make sure it gets international media attention!

His is one of fatalism where martyrdom is a strong ancillary. When he was accused by Uni authorities, he switched to this path. Prior to that he was very rational and his arguments were sound. He was neither timid or shaky for a first timer.

He went into a tailspin when the allegations were made and thats when the hunger strike began and the split with Chiam emerged. He ended up carrying 2 baggages since - the stained white shirt and the disloyalty tag. Both these tags caused him votes as was seen in the 2 polls in what was then a conservative electorate.

He actually sought the criminal conviction to attempt to move towards the mandela/ghandi image building when the 2 polls did him in. The results seem to work with the foreign libertarians but not the locals.

The whiter than white game that first began with the Lim Yew Hock Govt is a well known ploy.I can't help but sense that they might have uncovered some stain/dirt on WP recently because that word seems to surface really frequently these days, bandied about by his son.

Chee should have stayed his course and not reacted to the allegations. After all, they just terminated him. The observers can't figure out which screwed him - the stain or the disloyalty bid as Chiam was considered a champion for standing firm against the regime in the early years.

Interestingly there is a parallel and it is David Marshall. Marshall was champion of the common man but he was politically a failure. He was actually worse than Chee as he had no clue about politics. He was screwed by every political player during that era, the British, the Communist, his own party and the people that surrounded him.

His moral principles were however rock solid. During the Baling talks with Chin Peng, Marshall refused to yield on everything that was politically expedient. He however yielded on something that should not have been granted at all costs - allowing the communist party to be registered. This of course puzzled everyone. Thats principles to the letter.

maybe a more fatal and higer skill of FLIRT & DESTROY?:p

guavatree

signed TAIWANESE. ghost writer: sporean:

you can't write like her so don't be jealous lah!

you mean must be like you a chao ah kwa fake monk PAP dog meh

some more steal temple money and bash your own father for throwing away your gay porn!

fcuking moron!

Wisely

It's obviously heavily edited or written by CSJ.

samurai1110

you can't write like her so don't be jealous lah!

you mean must be like you a chao ah kwa fake monk PAP dog meh

some more steal temple money and bash your own father for throwing away your gay porn!

fcuking moron!

Hey Pak Kia Tree better get your branches trimmed. They are getting your wires tangled in your head.:biggrin:

Very soon he will get his children involved if not his 'die die must support my bludder' sister.:biggrin:

he won't exploit his own speicies. if he does, then it just prove that he's a fake and a real mockery. he would however, continue to blainwash his followers. his wife is all along the passive quiet type. her sudden appearance seem quite uncanny.