• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

16 years to settle case of policeman turn loanshark

koKSia

A former detective, Choo Hock Leng, was fined $50,000 yesterday (21 Aug) for operating an illegal moneylending business.

Investigations showed that Choo ran the illegal moneylending business between August 1996 and June 1997, and was, at the time, assisted by Senior Staff Sergeant Tan Lay Hin and Sergeant Goh Cheng Huat.

He lent out some $40,000, charging the debtors monthly interest rates of between 10 per cent and 20 per cent.

At the time of the offence, he was a detective sergeant with the Singapore Police Force. He resigned in February 1997.

His two accomplices, Tan and Goh, have already been dealt with by the law back in 1998.

The case took some time to surface in court as Choo was said to be not contactable in Singapore.

In actual fact, he was in Singapore all along as his passport was impounded.

Choo’s lawyer said that Choo had tried several times to ask the authorities about his case but never managed to get an update each time.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/08/22/illegal-moneylending-case-decided-after-16-years/

http://sporehallofshame.blogspot.sg/2013/08/policeman-turned-loanshark-16-years-for_22.html

Soon our justice system will be like India...hahaha

The Proof is in the pudding......we do not need to say anything else.

$50k for being the boss of loanshark syndicate. Cheap la.
With pet kangaroos in charge no wonder we got such a system.

This is another successful Spore story. He quit his police job to concentrate on making $ in the private sector.

Why are more MPs not doing the same:confused:

16 years is it a record?
No one accountable?

No, we know why we have so many ah long runners, running around & still running around...because the 'cats' are sometimes 'rats' & they could not tell one from the other..that is why they needed 16 years to sort this out, lucky it was wasn't 50 years.

Wah 16 ears so long arh. All dis wah, criminal chase polis 2 finis de case, butt polis want 2 eat snake!

Polis & Courts 2gather B laughing stock of Sinkingland. So happy moi not de only 1 people laughing @!

[video=youtube;TjJGmHIvNfE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjJGmHIvNfE[/video]

No, we know why we have so many ah long runners, running around & still running around...because the 'cats' are sometimes 'rats' & they could not tell one from the other..that is why they needed 16 years to sort this out, lucky it was wasn't 50 years.
Population growing too fast lah. That's why police can't update their system fast enough to be able to contact this criminal.

Amazing how he was not detected for 16 years. No spot check during road blocks? Can't be hiding at home or elsewhere for 16 years. CPF check done to ascertain if he was employed? HDB check? LTA check? Spouse and family interviewed? Looks like lapses to me and someone will be held accountable, in private.

Bro GD, if for a normal person....won't warrant of arrest be out?
I've heard of people evading arrest for years but never 'uncontactable' for 16 years...likely he was on bail as well since passport was impounded.
Sounds like a twilight zone story...

Say if people refers to the Singapore judiciary as kangaroo court and jusges as kangaroos say in SBF or anywhere can that person be charge for contempt of court? Just curious.

aussies will find it contemptous their beloved roos are being insulted.

formercop.jpg

This fella is a chee bye kia mother fucker and he deserved it lah..

Used to know him long time ago in a work place but never close.

Few years ago, happened to see him with a woman at hawker centre, believed to be his wife, drinking coffee.

This fella used to talk to me when I know him last time. So as an Intuition, I went on to him to say hello.

Suddenly the fella turn around staring at me furiously and yelling at me.

To my very shock, I lan lan and walked away.

That's why haven got eye and karma at work lah.

Hope he doesn't have to sell his backside to pay the fine lah..

Defence lawyer even said he approached the authorities to ask for the progress of his case.

I recall 16 years ago most people are using pagers. So maybe the police using his pager number to contact him :p

Really funny that he is uncontactable. AGC did not say untraceable. Surely he must have bank accounts, mobile phone, relatives etc.

Also note that police did not charge him with failure to update NRIC address. Perhaps he wasn't even hiding.

Defence lawyer even said he approached the authorities to ask for the progress of his case.

I recall 16 years ago most people are using pagers. So maybe the police using his pager number to contact him :p

Really funny that he is uncontactable. AGC did not say untraceable. Surely he must have bank accounts, mobile phone, relatives etc.

Also note that police did not charge him with failure to update NRIC address. Perhaps he wasn't even hiding.

During my time in the 80s and 90s, very common for IOs to sit-on cases for years. 3-5yrs was the 'norm.' For this case, 16 years, should be a national record. This guy never left S'pore which makes it even more unpalatable how he succeeded in hiding from the police. My hunch is that someone sat on this case, rather many IOs sat or slept-on this case all this while and only kena surfaced during an audit. Looks like several IOs who handed this case will face the music.