151st: Get used to overcrowding MRTs!

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - 151st: Get used to overcrowding MRTs!</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Jul-31 10:31 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>36908.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Aug 1, 2010

When push comes to shove...

Experts and commuters weigh in on ways to ease overcrowding in trains

<!-- by line -->By Irene Tham , Jamie Ee and Shuli Sudderuddin
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
http://www.straitstimes.com/News/Home/Story/STIStory_560490.html?sunwMethod=GET<!-- story content : start -->

The squeeze is on. With rail ridership crossing the two million-a-day mark, it looks like overcrowding in trains will stay a fact of life.
Trains are already running at two- or three-minute intervals during peak periods, and new rail lines will not be ready until after 2013.
Until lines like the Downtown, Eastern Region and Thomson open and take the pressure off the current system, commuters may have to make do with stopgap solutions to ease the congestion.
Transport experts say those in place may not go far enough.
For example, the 10-cent savings for commuters who exit certain MRT stations in the city before 7.30am on Mondays to Saturdays has not been enough to entice commuters. The take-up rate has not been high, says rail operator SMRT.
Even throwing in discount coupons for breakfast cannot make them start their journeys earlier.
'Perhaps there wasn't enough publicity or the discount wasn't high enough,' said Dr Lim Wee Kiak, who chairs the Government Parliamentary Committee for Transport.
Dr Paul Barter, assistant professor at the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, agrees. He said that off-peak discounts in other cities are more significant than the 10-cent discount in Singapore.
In Adelaide, for instance, a regular 10-trip rail ticket costs A$30 (S$37) but the same ticket for off-peak travel from 9.30am to 3pm is almost half the price, at A$16.40.
While discount fares for off-peak travel top the list for experts, there is the flip side of the coin - higher charges for peak-period travel. 'Average fares should remain the same if discounts were to be given. So there would need to be a peak surcharge,' Dr Barter said.
He suggested that the surcharge be levied on commuters exiting the busiest city stations during the morning peak hours and those entering the same stations during the evening peak period.
'If enough people complain to employers about having to pay more during peak hours, it may make employers look into offering more flexibility on office hours,' said Dr Barter.
Tweaks to train carriage designs could also make a difference. These include installing more handle bars and poles, as people crowd around these fittings, Dr Barter said.
Designating separate doors for alighting and boarding was another suggestion, made by Dr Lim.
The rationale goes: Since there are two doors on each side of each carriage, one door could be used for boarding and the other for getting off - just like on a bus.
'This would ensure commuter flow as people would have to move to the centre to go out by the exit door,' said Dr Lim.
Other transport experts The Sunday Times spoke to shot down some of these ideas.
One cited difficulty in enforcement for designating separate doors for alighting and boarding.
'It would lead to more chaos... to get people to queue orderly and wait for passengers to alight first before boarding the train,' said Mr Chin Hoong Chor, associate professor at the National University of Singapore's Department of Civil Engineering.
What do commuters say? The Sunday Times polled 100 commuters, who were asked to pick the best idea from a list of eight suggestions to ease overcrowding. They were also asked to pick the worst idea.
Topping the popularity list was having separate doors for boarding and alighting, followed by discounted fares for off-peak travel.
'People always crowd at the doors, causing a jam when boarding passengers block the way of alighting passengers,' said Mr Pang Kia Nian, 34, a TV producer.
On discounted off-peak fares, Mr Gerald Quek, 33, said they would entice people like senior citizens running errands in the city to travel at a later time.
Topping the unpopular list was hiring 'pushers' to shove people onto trains, like in Japan. Imposing a surcharge on peak-hour travel was the second 'worst' option.
Mr Tham Kew Kuan, 57, a customer service officer, said: 'We don't want to be treated like goods. It will just breed lots of unhappiness and what if you hurt someone while pushing them?'
Both SBS Transit and SMRT say they will look into the suggestions.
SMRT had considered several of them before, such as foldable seats and all-female carriages, but found them to be 'not feasible', said vice-president of rail operations Vincent Tan. 'We recognise there will be commuters who still prefer a seat during peak hours and would fold down the chairs to sit, making such a scheme less effective.'
On all-female carriages, he said they would affect train schedules and capacity during peak hours, as it would mean male commuters could not board even if women-only carriages had space.
Over the last two years, SMRT has rolled out measures to reduce overcrowding.
In March, it added 150 train trips a week to reduce waiting times, and service ambassadors in 2008 to get people to move to less crowded carriages or the centre of a carriage. That same year, it rolled out trains in which 30 per cent of the seats were removed to create more standing space.
</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Not a bad ideas. If peak hour extra 50 cents and off peak discount 50cents. That make a different of $1/trip.

Let's make it a fact of life that the PAP will be voted out in the next election.

That same year, it rolled out trains in which 30 per cent of the seats were removed to create more standing space.

I think tis is a misconception...by reducing seats yes u increase more standing space...but it's human nature to keep a distance apart frm ea other...while ladies dun like to stand so close to man, i dun like to stand too close to a lady...wait my didi rub her butt n she cry molest how? The increase in capacity is little...:D:D

Y mus the length of train die die match the length of station? Can't u add another 2 more carriage behind? Passenger can still move frm inside and alight at exit 2 carriage in front...no? :confused:

... Y mus the length of train die die match the length of station? Can't u add another 2 more carriage behind? Passenger can still move frm inside and alight at exit 2 carriage in front...no? :confused:
u got c ppl mov 2 ze back of buses voluntarily anot? ... :confused:

... overcrowding in trains will stay a fact of life.
yes! ...

so r ... incessant floods ... soaring food prices ... ever-increasing utilities bills ... escalating town council fees ...

ya, man! ... all dese n much mor wil stay a fact of life! ... swiss std of living! ...

u got c ppl mov 2 ze back of buses voluntarily anot? ... :confused:

Got...mainly dumb sinkie...smart ft will hog at de exit...nxt time got chance i take peekture show u...:D:D

I think tis is a misconception...by reducing seats yes u increase more standing space...but it's human nature to keep a distance apart frm ea other...while ladies dun like to stand so close to man, i dun like to stand too close to a lady...wait my didi rub her butt n she cry molest how? The increase in capacity is little...:D:D

Y mus the length of train die die match the length of station? Can't u add another 2 more carriage behind? Passenger can still move frm inside and alight at exit 2 carriage in front...no? :confused:

u r wrong, mama will like to rubba rubba u even if u r a good looking man. :D

Will Singapore MRT situation reach this stage like in Tokyo? This is the meaning of "packed like sardine". Even if you "rabba rabba" there is no room for your little brother to stand.

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/STNWc7Rlpfk&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/STNWc7Rlpfk&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

I don't dare to think how the trains will look like with another 100,000 FTs arriving soon .....:(

wahlaneh...
every morning go to those interchange stations, eg. Jurong East, Dhoby Ghaut, CityHall, Raffles Place, Bishan, etc... and see how packed the sardine can is lor.
then add 100K to it lor.:D

wahlaneh...
every morning go to those interchange stations, eg. Jurong East, Dhoby Ghaut, CityHall, Raffles Place, Bishan, etc... and see how packed the sardine can is lor.
then add 100K to it lor.:D

I think no one can even fart due to the lack of space ....:eek:

'If enough people complain to employers about having to pay more during peak hours, it may make employers look into offering more flexibility on office hours,' said Dr Barter.

This idiot cracks me up. He seem to be living in his own little world :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Will Singapore MRT situation reach this stage like in Tokyo? This is the meaning of "packed like sardine". Even if you "rabba rabba" there is no room for your little brother to stand.

Comments from my PRC and Indian colleagues about the state of the MRT crowd
Like that also consider crowded?

To FTs that isn't crwod.

Seriously MRT should do something about it. Instead of waiting for the new line, they can simply renovate their existing stations and add a freaking train carriage to it!!!!

it'll be a matter of time before we follow india/japan and introduce women only carriages during rush hour

SMRT is unable to think out of the box and implement solutions like this

This video is unbelievable, they actually push people into the train to pack the people in :eek:

<EMBED src=http://www.youtube.com/v/STNWc7Rlpfk&hl=en_US&fs=1 width=480 height=385 type=application/x-shockwave-flash allowfullscreen="true" allowscriptaccess="always"></EMBED>

Not just the crowd but the odour of FTs.

Nowadays when I take MRT, I choose the door with pretty ladies & nice smell to wait n enter the train. Their perfume can help brighten up my morning n cover those smell.