• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

11 things that are practically obsolete

GoFlyKiteNow

Death in a decade

hype_decade_130111.jpg

Thursday January 13, 2011 02:31 am PST
By Wendy Ferrer, Yahoo! Singapore

2011 – the start to a new decade. But before we look forward to the decade ahead of us, let us take one last look at the decade past, and say our last goodbyes to the things that were.

In just a span of ten years, here are a few things that are practically obsolete:

Encyclopedias. Gone are the days of door-to-door salesmen trying to sell a set of two dozen books for a "very special price" only because they "like" you – but isn't it a bit of a relief you don't have to come up with all sorts of excuses to get out of this sale? And be honest: those things never really got opened unless it was for homework.

Maps. In the tradition of making all things paperless, maps have now found a new home in the modern GPS and Smartphone. Not to mention there are now options of getting satellite and street views. Just that now, there's a pesky voice that keeps telling us how to get there.

CDs. LPs, 45s, midis and cassettes all got killed off as a new format came in. Yes, some of us still have CDs now, but all its contents have been ripped and transferred to our portable music players. It does gets some good use as coasters though – all 567 of our collection.

Video rental shops. "So you mean to tell me you used to drive all the way to a video shop to rent a movie?!"

Hand-written letters. Stamps, envelopes, ink and cursive writing are now but a faint memory to most of us. Remember the days you used to rush over to open the letterbox or anticipate the arrival of the postman with that old Carpenters song playing in your head? No? Uhmm… me neither. (And no, don't ask us: "Who are the Carpenters?")

Film/Film cameras. Only purists really look back fondly at the days of shooting blindly at a subject and waiting to see the results. The dark room already made its exit before the turn of the century as machines that processed film in a fraction of the original time it takes became cheaper alternatives for photographers.

Gone are the days of having several canisters of 35mm film in your camera bag or vest pocket, and children of the next generation of photography will no longer know how a curtain will have anything to do with the art that involved drawing with light.

Dial-up Internet. As ancient as the film "You've Got Mail", the dial-up connection is old news. If in order to connect to the Internet, you still have to hear that virtual dialing noise – you may have to rethink your subscriber options.

Long-distance phone calls. These days, long-distance is only limited to folks who have to get on company conference calls and folks who don't know how to operate a computer. Dial "I" for Internet.

Landlines. I had one. It was great. Then my bill shrank down to 20 cents for three months of service while my cellphone bill shot up to what my landline bill used to be.

CRTs (TV and computer monitors). If you haven't heard of CRTs, I don't blame you. We just know them as those chunky old things that used to occupy half of the living room space where the LCD now sits. It was 8 feet wide and 8 feet deep, and weighed a ton. You don't miss it but you didn't realize just how big your TV stand was until now.

Newspaper reporters. If no one wants to call it – I will. Pronounced dead in 2011. Ok maybe it's not really dead yet… but it's getting there. If this career were a person, it would on life support at the Intensive Care unit.

The last chance for aspiring Lois Lane's and Clark Kent's of the world to see a career in this field of media ended in the last decade. Thanks to the Internet and the almost unlimited exchange of information in real time, the decade has seen the closure of several small newspapers and has shaken the foundations of even the most well-established publications in the world.

More deaths to come !

Travel Agents
Hard Disks for PC
Desktop PCs
Alarm Clocks
Printing - Business cards and Greeting cards

Regular Airline tickets and their printers
Plastic phone cards
Coins
Many more

LKY already obsolete but just forcing himself on the stage.

I predict the whole country will cease to exist in the not too distant future.

And your prediction would be based on ...?

1. Astrology
2. Natural disasters
3. Comet strike from outer space
4. Others

4. Others

It's an aberration in a sea of Islam. Singapore is in a similar situation as Israel but the average Sinkie IQ is only half that of the Jews. Long term survival is therefore out of the question.

i'd say 50% may happen, this happened to laodicea too in the BCs era:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laodicea_on_the_Lycus

At first Laodicea was not a place of much importance, but it soon acquired a high degree of prosperity. In 220 BC Achaeus was its king. In 188 BC, the city had passed to the Kingdom of Pergamon, and after 133 BC fell under Roman control. It suffered greatly during the Mithridatic Wars,[6] but quickly recovered under the dominion of Rome; and towards the end of the Roman Republic and under the first emperors, Laodicea, benefiting from its advantageous position on a trade route, became one of the most important and flourishing commercial cities of Asia Minor, in which large money transactions and an extensive trade in black wool were carried on.[7]

but spore being a small city, we have our advantages too. we are less expensive than certain countries in europe, our skills are competitive, we work harder and longer hours too. the only thing is that we can't match the etiquette with our kiasu and kia si behaviour.
majority of spore workers dun have the flare that can communicate well with angmos,who are our main investors.:p

sam,agree bor?

It's an aberration in a sea of Islam. Singapore is in a similar situation as Israel but the average Sinkie IQ is only half that of the Jews. Long term survival is therefore out of the question.

we are also no threat to the superpowers, to them we are probably like some sort of toy model to run their own countries.

but spore being a small city, we have our advantages too. we are less expensive than certain countries in europe, our skills are competitive, we work harder and longer hours too. the only thing is that we can't match the etiquette with our kiasu and kia si behaviour.
majority of spore workers dun have the flare that can communicate well with angmos,who are our main investors.:p

Fax is also obsolete. I don't think CD/DVD would be obsolete so soon.

you will be suprised but I have worked at hospitals in the USA (ofall places) that still uses faxes....

The moment a product/service has no growth, then..then
consider it dead in due course.

Such as FAX. fax paper,
Pencils,Crayons, and drawing paper replaced by onscreen drawing
( even for kids maybe)
Stamps, envelopes, snail mail, books ( E books )
Tutors (Online tuition)

The list is growing and with it..nil options for the displaced.

1) members of parliment - seriously, i dun noe who is my MP...there are 5 of them here, the only one I know (as always is Senior Lee). And I don't know what purpose they serve ...only rubber stamping appeal letters? But even with their signature, it does not always work.

2) singaporeans - actually with influx of foreigners and low birth rate, very soon true blue singaporeans will be overwhelmed and cease to exist.

3) the male species - yes...with cloning...u dun need no dick to fuck...or have children...dick can be replaced by dildo...ho ho...