• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

TR agrees to change name as demanded by Temasek Holding

TRWatch

Strange, Temasek Holdings only wrote to Joseph Ong, who kept insisting that he no longer has anything to do with TR. But TR now voluntarily accede to Temasek Holding's request without being asked to do so! :rolleyes:

http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/10/16/temasek-review-agrees-in-principal-to-a-name-change/

We refer to the numerous reports in the local main stream media regarding Temasek Holdings “request” for our ”The Temasek Review” to change its name.

We wish to state the following for the record:

1. The ”request for name change” was delivered to one Dr. Joseph Ong who is not a member of our editorial team past or present. He is not in a position to receive any notices or communication on our behalf. Our webform is the only acceptable means of communication with us.

2. We did not receive the said “request” directly from Temasek Holdings. We were only forwarded copies of the said “request” by various journalists from the MSM requesting a follow up. Hence technically speaking, we were not formally informed of the said request.

3. The name “The Temasek Review” is already in use since July 2009 while Temasek Holdings only registered for trademark rights November 9, 2009 in Singapore.

4. Temasek Holdings also registered trademark for the following names at the United States Patent and Trademark Office:

“TEMASEK” and “THE TEMASEK REPORT” respectively in October 3, 2006 and May 11, 2010. The name “THE TEMASEK REVIEW” is NOT registered.

Although we have received information from our confidential sources to the contrary, “conspiracy theories” aside, we are willing to believe that the “concern” expressed by SMD Goh Yong Siang of Temasek Holdings is “geniune”.

5. We note that Temasek Holdings said it had no qualms about the website’s mission.

After delibrating on the matter, our editorial team are agreeable “in principle” to a name change if we can confirm and verify the following from Temasek Holdings ONLY:

1. That Temasek Holdings is genuinely wanting to request for a name change from us for reason(s) stated in the MSM and not just a ploy to discredit and smear Dr. Joseph Ong further, by contacting us DIRECTLY via our webform or through our official email address with a formal “request”.

2. Clarify if Temasek Holdings is claiming exclusive rights to the word “Temasek” around the world and any other name we decide to change to should not have the word “Temasek” in it. Example: Temasek Gossip Corner, Temasek CoffeeShop, Temasek Lounge, Temasek Sweat Shop, etc. We are not asking for “opinion”, we are asking for “confirmation” on their claims to rights. This will help us in choosing a suitable name for our new revamped site.

3. Clarify if Temasek Holdings is taking issue only with our site name or both our site name and domain name and if so is Temasek Holdings intending to acquire it since it is related to their “annual review” or are they merely intending to use underhand means to “rob” it from us.

4. That this is the ONLY issue (name of the site) Temasek Holdings have with us and upon the name change, the issue is resolved with no further emcumbrances whatsoever. If there further issues to list and state them for the record.

Once we have received a formal “request” from Temasek Holdings and satisfactory reply to the above point 2,3 and 4 raised, we will proceed with the name change soonest possible.

Lastly, we wish to clarify our decision with our readers:

1. Our editorial team decided to “acede” to the request of Temasek Holdings not because of “no balls and guts”. It is pointless to venture on this insinuations because we all know better why the sudden interest of the local MSM and TH on our site.

2. We are not interested getting into a legal tussle with Temasek Holdings on our site name and waste precious time and money (ours and Singapore tax payers) which should be put to better use. Additionally, to contest the case even in a fair court in the USA will expose the identity of our editorial team which we are not prepared to do so for the time being.

We believe that whatever name we change our site to, it will not lessen our site’s impact and/or our commitment to our readers. We trust that our readers will continue to support us.

This is the position of our editorial team and our official reply to Temasek Holdings.

We will keep our readers updated on any latest developement.

Thank you.

Amanda Tan

for Temasek Review

TRWatch

Another thing - seems like "Amanda Tan" is now fronting TR. Whatever happen to "Pamela Tian" and "Molina Han"? Don't tell me they change "managing editor" again?

Maximilian Chua-Heng

No money say no money lah! :rolleyes:

At least TR has a good measure of themselves and who they might be up against. It's a no brainer choice for TR.

2. We are not interested getting into a legal tussle with Temasek Holdings on our site name and waste precious time and money (ours and Singapore tax payers) which should be put to better use. Additionally, to contest the case even in a fair court in the USA will expose the identity of our editorial team which we are not prepared to do so for the time being.

TRWatch

1. Our editorial team decided to “acede” to the request of Temasek Holdings not because of “no balls and guts”. It is pointless to venture on this insinuations because we all know better why the sudden interest of the local MSM and TH on our site.

Amanda Tan

for Temasek Review

Dear "Amanda Tan" or whoever you are,

Lets make it clear here, Temasek Holdings didn't make any request from TR. They only send a demand note to Joseph Ong who presumably has nothing to do with TR. Unless Joseph is still part of TR, what "acede to request" are you talking about? :rolleyes:

TRWatch

Additionally, to contest the case even in a fair court in the USA will expose the identity of our editorial team which we are not prepared to do so for the time being.

Amanda Tan

for Temasek Review

So "Amanda Tan", "Pamela Tian" or "Molina Han from Panama" are all fictitious characters that doesn't exist. If thats the case, might as well use monikers like "Bozo the clown", or "Suzie the whore" etc :rolleyes:

cleareyes

Dear "Amanda Tan" or whoever you are,

Lets make it clear here, Temasek Holdings didn't make any request from TR. They only send a demand note to Joseph Ong who presumably has nothing to do with TR. Unless Joseph is still part of TR, what "acede to request" are you talking about? :rolleyes:

If the police were to investigate and this thing goes to court, Joe Ong and his lawyers wont know how to answer it.

Too bad, the backing off seem really lame to begin with.

And I thought TR is suppose to be standing up against the establishment.

Scared of Temasek just say lah, talk and explain so much for fuck? PUI!!! Just say due to copyright or trademark, have to change, so hard to say meh? Knn!!!
:oIo::oIo:

silverfox@

If the police were to investigate and this thing goes to court, Joe Ong and his lawyers wont know how to answer it.

Too bad, the backing off seem really lame to begin with.

And I thought TR is suppose to be standing up against the establishment.

Their arrogant reply in this letter to TNP journalist
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/1...s-journalist-ms-ng-coffee-session-invitation/

is a complete contrast in their stand in this letter below
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/10/16/temasek-review-agrees-in-principal-to-a-name-change/

The letter was addressed to Joe Ong, not any of those in TR. (If they really said he is not in TR, so why should they change the name?)

tomoko

We note that Temasek Holdings said it had no qualms about the website’s mission.

TR worries more about being shut down than to change name.

So TR is happy that TH has no qualms about the website’s mission ie. gahment has no qualms ie. TR will not be shut down.

So TR more than happy to change name.

cleareyes

The letter was addressed to Joe Ong, not any of those in TR. (If they really said he is not in TR, so why should they change the name?

That is part of my wondering as well.

If the letter is against Joe Ong and Tr is not related to Joe vice verses, why would TR even bother to change and best, at such advance speed?

Do notice that things happened really fast and if TR really have a corporate level, it would take weeks for a change to take place, not just......hours.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Don't talk cock lah.

The only reason why TR agrees to change it's name, is to prevent them from being expose. As I can see all of you are really disappointed. :p

cleareyes

Don't talk cock lah.

The only reason why TR agrees to change it's name, is to prevent them from being expose. As I can see all of you are really disappointed. :p

Not going to deny that. I m disappointed because it just shows they do not walk the talk when they been talking so much.

aurvandil

Their arrogant reply in this letter to TNP journalist
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/1...s-journalist-ms-ng-coffee-session-invitation/

is a complete contrast in their stand in this letter below

The letter was addressed to Joe Ong, not any of those in TR. (If they really said he is not in TR, so why should they change the name?)

The backer is powerful to ignore the MSM but must give face to the current number 1 power in Sg.

The first sign of stepping was the renewed attack on the opposition via the GMS / Leila allegation. It was the first signt that they will attack the opposition in personal and carry on with the character assassination that they started with and make cursory comments about the establishment. The attack after many moons and nearly 3 years came one day after Joe Ong received after the demand letter from Temasek.

In legal practice, this does not simply go away by merely sending an email and the name is changed. Typically Joe would have to submit a stat dec stating that he no longer is with TR or that he has never been with TR. Either the way, a false declaration is in the offing.

Clearly all that bullshit and bravado over 2 years evaporated overnight by mere sending of a letter to Joe Ong. Note the painstaking attempt to continously clear Joe Ong.

Looks like its back to sending hampers to PAP and in the first instance, they folded over such a docile character as Lui.

The constant changing of names gives the indication that there is no one that can be held accountable.

Let see how Temasek handles this. Anyway this must be Goh's highlight of his entire career. Former chief of Air Force who failed in business and quickly sought help with the Govt to pay his bills is now handlings such petty things.

silverfox@

That is part of my wondering as well.

If the letter is against Joe Ong and Tr is not related to Joe vice verses, why would TR even bother to change and best, at such advance speed?

Do notice that things happened really fast and if TR really have a corporate level, it would take weeks for a change to take place, not just......hours.

Ever since it was revealed in the papers the identity of who is behind TR, everything happened in super fast speed. The stories starts to fall in place. :o

silverfox@

The backer is powerful to ignore the MSM but must give face to the current number 1 power in Sg.

If really give face, things would not have turned into this stage today. It's not about giving face already, it's about saving their own face and skin.