• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

30,000 retrenched in S'pore, but still not enough

downgrader

ho say liao lah, this is such wonderful news, the slower growth the better.

i really don't understand want so much growth for what.

how many shirts you need, how many pairs of shoes can you wear, how much food can you eat

people keep wanting wanting wanting, upgrade this upgrade that when a CRT TV is just as good must buy LCD then plasma, the iPod, iPHone, then iBankurpt

now the recession will make people think, do things with their lives that have more meaning

i hope economy will contract further and property prices fall to really affordable as opposed to bubble values, meaning about 3 to five times annual income

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_320556.html

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story
Dec 31, 2008
'Econ growth still positive'
By Sue-Ann Chia, Senior Political Correspondent

ALTHOUGH Singapore slipped into a recession in 2008, its economic growth was still positive at 1.5 per cent, said Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong on Wednesday.
It is, however, lower than the annual growth forecast of 2.5 per cent, owing to the severe fallout from the global financial crisis.

RELATED LINKS
Prime Minister's New Year Message 2009.pdf
The anaemic economy dominated Mr Lee's New Year message, which outlined an outlook that continues to be 'highly uncertain' and facing the threat of a rise in retrenchments.

'We must therefore prepare for a difficult year ahead, and especially the first half of 2009,' he said.

'Our economy will probably contract further. More companies will be forced to downsize. So far we have not seen many job losses, but I expect more retrenchments in the next few months. We must be psychologically prepared.'

There were 6,418 layoffs in the first nine months of 2008 and analysts predict the figure in the new year could surpass the peak of 30,000 in 1998 during the Asian financial crisis.

Mr Lee, however, assured Singaporeans the Government will intensify its efforts to help companies and citizens cope with the crisis.

The details will be in the Budget to be unveiled on Jan 22.

'The emphasis is still to protect jobs,' he said. 'We will do more to help companies to stay afloat and continue to employ their workers.'

Keeping a lid on business costs, such as rental and wage bills, was among the measures he highlighted, adding that more financing support for companies are under study.

These are on top of its swift response to the global crisis when it introduced some help schemes in December.

They include a Government-backed enhanced loan scheme for companies and a training scheme that gives bosses more money to retrain, rather than retrench, workers. More than 120 companies will send over 4,200 workers for training under this Spur programme.

Mr Lee also pledged there could be off-Budget measures if the need arises.

He said: 'If more measures become necessary, we have the resources, and the will, to do more to see Singapore through this recession.'

In the meantime, he cautioned against viewing the Budget 2009 as a cure-all for the ailing economy.

'The Budget package will not restore our economy to high growth overnight. But our measures will moderate the impact on Singaporeans, and on our economy,' he said.

This is because the global recession, unlike the Asian financial crisis, is the worst in 60 years. It will take longer to recover, with several years of slow growth.

Singapore needs to seek out new growth opportunities so that it emerges stronger after the downturn, Mr Lee said.

'Hence, the Budget will also contain measures to develop our competitiveness and build up new and long term capabilities. Some businesses may not recover from the slump in global demand, but most should survive,' he said.

'We will help them to build up their operations, and also encourage new businesses to grow, so that there will always be good jobs for Singaporeans.'

But the Government can only do so much, said Mr Lee as he stressed the importance of tackling the crisis as one nation. He called on companies, unionists, and Singaporeans to help each other ride out the tough times.

Layoffs should be the last resort, he stressed while urging workers to upgrade their skills and take up even unpopular jobs in marine and construction.

Singaporeans can also look to new jobs from investment commitments which the Economic Development Board forecasts could exceed $10 billion in 2009.

besotted

as long as the youngsters continue their fuck type attitude, retrench all of them

really, the youngsters these days, a huge failure on the part of their parents, our future is bleak

you talk cock property prices everyday, the real problem is a whole generation of weaklings

for me, i ll stick with the trustworthy PRC and Burmese

Except that Sporns are retrenched to ensure FTrash stay in their jobs this time?

retrench.jpg

besotted

it is right that singaporeans are retrenched first, until singaporeans can wake up their idea

singaporeans are just like everyone else, not big fuck

hire PRCs until Singaporeans learn the basics of good service and work attitude

lifeafter41

Except that Sporns are retrenched to ensure FTrash stay in their jobs this time?

retrench.jpg

Frankly, up till now, I still do not see the rationale of that particular cutting, especially the heading, though have not had a chance to read the article as yet.

besotted

fuck you. what do you seek to achieve by starting this kind of thread to hurt people

you overreact. you may be having hard time but you must take responsibility for you own welfare

your reaction tells me why you were fired in the first place

ask yourself, why are you retrenched? why not others? why you?

is retrenchment such a bad thing? is it so hopeless?

if and is a big IF....if you are willing to be humble and work hard, i have vacancy in my restaurant for $1,200 a month, food and lodging provided

but i prize good attitude, fuck up tude can go fly kite

ahbengsong

it is right that singaporeans are retrenched first, until singaporeans can wake up their idea
singaporeans are just like everyone else, not big fuck
hire PRCs until Singaporeans learn the basics of good service and work attitude

if sinkees have woken up their idea... then the pap wont be the single party govt today... sinkees need to have balls to vote out pap... bring in a multi-party govt and things may look better for the future...

Frankly, up till now, I still do not see the rationale of that particular cutting, especially the heading, though have not had a chance to read the article as yet.
If you ask him in detail, he will talk about the "big picture" and the "long run".
But when people are starving and struggling, who gives a shit about the "big picture" and the "long run"? :(

if sinkees have woken up their idea... then the pap wont be the single party govt today... sinkees need to have balls to vote out pap... bring in a multi-party govt and things may look better for the future...
I have given up on Singkies being brave and intelligent.
Most are cowardly and stupid.

kuntakinte

"Retrenchment is good for Singapore . If there is no retrenchments, then I worry." - SM Goh, 2006

"Only 5% are unemployed. We still have 95% who are employed." - Yeo Cheow Tong

Yeo Cheow Tong, said the wrong thing, do the wrong thing, carry the wrong balls..... no wonder gotta go !!!

funglung

If you ask him in detail, he will talk about the "big picture" and the "long run".
But when people are starving and struggling, who gives a shit about the "big picture" and the "long run"? :(

The devil is in those details, something that those Bastards In White do not understand as they can only think in terms of lies.

Besides why must they care about people? When people have shown themselves to be without balls and will not fight Lee?

Why must they care if people are starving and struggling? as long as they can continue to be vampires on us and can laugh all the way to their bank.

Sinkies deserved all they get from bastard Lee. They kept voting him in.