• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

what will happen to all msgs from old forum

after ten years of messages in Sammyboy forum pity all the works going to be burn down soon.

The best messages were posted in the period 1999 to 2002. They are very hard to retrieve by non delphi plus members because the search function for non paying members only goes back 3 months.

Those who have links to the gems are most welcome to retrieve them and you can start a thread containing the best posts of old alfresco coffee shop.

vamjok

i still have the memories of one of your post regarding getting rid of NS and use the money pour into it into R n D in order to develop laser technology. i think you played too much C and C that time

madmansg

it is not the details that should concern singaporens guys but the strategic failure of NS.

It is a underlying bomb ready to explode on people like that indian FT parasite who ask for first access to HDB flats.

NS is the real terrorist wreaking havoc on Singapore.

2lanu

The best messages were posted in the period 1999 to 2002. They are very hard to retrieve by non delphi plus members because the search function for non paying members only goes back 3 months.

Those who have links to the gems are most welcome to retrieve them and you can start a thread containing the best posts of old alfresco coffee shop.

You murderer! You kill the old kopitiam just like that!:mad:

snrcitizen

Dear mad,

Were you the one who posted the "tolong, tolong" thread? If that was from you, it was a screamer and a classic. You should bring it over to this site. Would be a waste to let it disappear into the oblivion.

regards

You murderer! You kill the old kopitiam just like that!:mad:

I haven't killed it. All I did was retire it. :biggrin: Everyone deserves a well earned a retirement. I don't want to treat the Kopitiam the way Sinkiepoor treats its senior citizens. :eek:

2lanu

I haven't killed it. All I did was retire it. :biggrin: Everyone deserves a well earned a retirement. I don't want to treat the Kopitiam the way Sinkiepoor treats its senior citizens. :eek:

Only ten years you want to retire the old kopitiam. And a sudden end without informing. :mad:

pweesng

Actually true lah... there were heaps of notices and all... plus although this site is not as entertaining (no flames to read) at least i do see it as being more useful in terms of discussion and questions.

One burning question Sam..... did postnew come over? we need him here! hahahah

Actually true lah... there were heaps of notices and all... plus although this site is not as entertaining (no flames to read) at least i do see it as being more useful in terms of discussion and questions.

One burning question Sam..... did postnew come over? we need him here! hahahah

I really don't know. He may show up eventually.

I honestly got so sick of the content of the old forum and the characters that infested it I used to dread having to administer it on a daily basis. It was like walking into some ghetto combat zone.

The heated arguments weren't so bad. What got to me were the endless GMS comments repeated 100 times a day 7 days a week plus the Ti Lik did this.. Ti lik did that... WP...vote for them is a vote for the PAP on and on and on even worse than a broken record. Oh yes.. the Lamei stuff too.... lamei had an affair with so and so..blah blah blah....

I'd also have a ton of emails every morning with a torrent of abuse for being banned??? Me? ban them....when? Investigations almost invariably ended up with the culprit being Walt Howe.. the god of Delphi. Reason... violation of Delphi TOS! I got so fucking tired of hearing the term I kid you not!

The coffee shop talk forum was NEVER intended to serve as a political platform for so called half baked "activists" Pappies or otherwise. It was started simply as a place where people from the sex forum could discuss non sexual issues which were deemed off topic in the sex forum. It was NOT for flame wars... bastion of freedom of speech and all that jazz. It was for simple easy going chit chat... what did you have lunch... what movies are good.... what do you think of the new Lexus etc etc.

Political stuff was welcome to but it was intended to be politics from the viewpoint of the average sinkie joe. I never wanted professional "activists" and the the various party "internet brigades" to invade the forum and do battle 24/7.

I was so sick of the old Delphi forum I let one of my staff handle most of the day to day shit whenever he had the time. I only popped in once in a while or when emails from the forum hit my inbox.

This new forum is an attempt to return the forum to its true roots. I don't need the traffic to be anywhere near what the old coffee shop attracted. As long as the number of messages per day exceeds 200+, I'm happy to keep it humming along. If the traffic dwindles and I don't see people enjoying themselves here, I'll shut it down or try some other theme related to my hobbies and interests. My hands are already full running the sex forum which is so big it's now running on 6 servers going flat out.

People come here and say .. "This forum boring.. no life.. no fun... etc". My answer is the same... any forum is what you make of it. This site is not my blog. It's a forum. YOU provide the content... not me. All I do is provide the software, the hardware and the technical support to keep it going.

From the FAQ that I first penned in 1999 :p How time flies... (As you can see, some of my statements came back to bite me...):o

http://www.sammyboy.com/legacy/forumfaq.html

The coffee shop is not an adult forum and is therefore allowed by Delphi. This forum has been going strong for more than 7years on the Delphi servers and has displaced the newsgroup soc.culture.singapore as THE place to discuss politics and issues in general in the singapore context.

All non sex related subject subjects are welcome (sexual stuff should be posted in the sex forum). However, please do not pollute the forum with graffiti and racist taunts which cause nothing but flame wars. By graffiti I mean nonsensical postings, obnoxious and vulgar posts, spam, huge graphics and repeated postings and commercial ads etc. Such posts will be deleted once they are discovered or reported.

Porn is not allowed by Delphi so please do not post pornographic material and links to adult sites in the coffee shop. Start your thread in the correct folder please. Polls in the polls folder, religious crap in the religious zealots' folder and so on.

I created this forum so that people who were active contributors and visitors to my sex forum had an avenue to discuss non-sexual issues. Since it is creation, it has served its purpose extremely well. Many interesting discussions have been started and some threads have lasted for months with regular inputs. In fact, some of the threads are so intellectual that I have difficulty understanding the profound philosophies discussed therein

To be frank, I discovered the sex forum in Delphi before the coffeeshop forum. :smile:

The coffee shop didn't exist till 18 months after the sex forum was started. Your sequence of "discoveries" is therefore quite understandable. :p

jbsmith

The coffee shop didn't exist till 18 months after the sex forum was started. Your sequence of "discoveries" is therefore quite understandable. :p

Both forum were around when I chanced across the sex forum. :biggrin:

But that time, coffeeshop was like a ghost town.