• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

All drivers & motorists, please take note....your ERP nightmare is here

cooleo

Next: ERP in the sky

erp-gantry-locations-map.jpg

Thu, Jul 01, 2010
my paper

By Pamela Chow

ELECTRONIC Road Pricing (ERP) gantries - the steel gates that levy tolls on motorists using crowded roads - may become history.

In the near future, ERP fees may be charged using a satellite system, called the global navigation satellite system.

This system uses orbiting satellites to track moving vehicles, the technology behind the global positioning system.

It is already being used to collect road tolls in other countries, such as in Germany, where the toll for trucks using expressways is based on distance travelled.

Transport Minister Raymond Lim said yesterday that Singapore is looking at switching to such a system, because traffic congestion is expected to become more widespread in future, making it impractical to install more ERP gantries.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) also said that making the switch would save funds which would otherwise have been spent on constructing gantries, which cost about $1.5 million each to build.

Singapore has 66 operating gantries. Another 14 along the Kallang-Paya Lebar Expressway are not in use yet.

The LTA will soon call a tender for technical proposals from industry players, and will conduct various technical tests to evaluate if the latest technologies are suitable for use here, Mr Lim said.

Such trials include simulations of vehicle formations - such as heavy vehicles alongside motorcycles, or cars under various weather conditions - and high-speed tests, on routes that include expressways and underground tunnels.

Mr Lim added that he expected the development and testing of the technologies to take some years before a new system could be launched.

He was speaking at the opening of the two-day World Urban Transport Leaders Summit yesterday, where more than 300 delegates from over 25 countries gathered to discuss ideas and ways of transforming urban transport.

One of the speakers, Professor Anthony May, an emeritus professor of transport engineering at Britain's University of Leeds, suggested that drivers can be charged based on the distance they roam within a congestion hot spot, instead of being charged a flat fee upon entry.

This method of charging makes it fairer for drivers as they pay for their mileage, he said.

For road users such as management assistant Firdaus Ramli, 24, their topmost concern is whether more ERP points will pop up, with the implementation of the new system.

He said: "For people like me who don't travel to the city much for work, it's an inconvenience if ERP points appear along more roads.

"I'd have to fork out an extra dollar or two, even though I work in the heartlands."

[email protected]

Watchman

How will PAP ruling party make our lives difficult ?

It is here now !

Before I posted : How will the ruling government make our lives difficult ?

No one bother to respond and give suggestion that the government will make
and impact our life . And now it's here .

Transport Minister Raymond Lim said yesterday that Singapore is looking at switching to such a system, because traffic congestion is expected to become more widespread in future, making it impractical to install more ERP gantries.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) also said that making the switch would save funds which would otherwise have been spent on constructing gantries, which cost about $1.5 million each to build.

who was that rocket scientist who pushed forth the idea of ERP gantries and the cashcard system? money gone down the drain as i see it. who benefited from the tender? :eek::eek::eek:

cooleo

This satellite ERP will really screw people up.

Last time: You drive from your house to neighbourhood hawker (no ERP gantry)

Now: You drive 500metres to hawker also tio ERP!

:oIo:

fucking CB PAP,

since u wanna charge ERP according to actual distance travelled, you can also scrap the rd tax right?

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

hairylee

Well, now you can be sure that in future there will be no gantry outside your housing estate.

wahlaneh

wahlaneh...
that time marboktan oredi said liao mah.
even when ur car enters or exits ur own parking lot also kana zapped liao.

Devil Within

Satellite ERP? Then what the heck are we paying road tax and COE for? If want to implement satellite ERP, then scrap the road tax and COE. We are being double taxed, tripple taxed and tripple tripple taxed and most people are still not realising it.

Watchman

Satellite ERP? Then what the heck are we paying road tax and COE for? If want to implement satellite ERP, then scrap the road tax and COE. We are being double taxed, tripple taxed and tripple tripple taxed and most people are still not realising it.

All these to compensate for free-trade agreement !

aangsc

The next step will be to implement the technology to pedestrians :eek:

That's a good suggestion....can consider when all source of incomes on vehicles already tapped. The name is appropriate too - road tax meh. As long as you use a garment's road, U PAID UP. Put that in GOAL-2020. Must think of way to dispose the million $ gantries, anyboby want it ?
Can re-cycle the idea and sell it as SG innovation.