• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Such Serious Mistake Just Say Sorry Will Do?

Feb 23, 2010

Sorry, Iras has explained tax error

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I REFER to the letter by Ms Carol Ong, 'Tax letter arrives years after death' (Feb 13).
Ms Ong's family received a letter from us in November last year with regard to the income tax payable by the estate of Ms Ong's grandfather. The case was identified in a recent review of arrears of old cases. Prior to her letter, our staff had been in discussion with Ms Ong and her mother to clear up the matter.
We have since clarified with Ms Ong's family and confirmed that payment had already been made in 1993 by one of the trustees of the estate. However, the payment, in the form of a cashier's order, was credited to the income tax account of the trustee, instead of being used to settle the tax arrears of the estate.
We have explained to Ms Ong how the error may have arisen and would like to apologise to her and her family for the inconvenience.
Deanna Choo (Ms)
Director (Corporate Communications)
Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore

<!-- story content : end -->

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=heading>Latest comments</TD></TR><TR><TD id=messageDisplayRegion width="100%"><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>We really need to know - HOW LONG DO WE NEED TO KEEP THE RECORDS??? If it's ten years (or whatever
number of years specified), then can we legally ignored IRAS if they query us on issue after the specified years
have expired. We cannot keep our records perpetually for their convenience if they don't do a proper job in the
first place.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: fossanoit at Tue Feb 23 12:23:46 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>This reply still does not answer the question - HOW LONG DO WE NEED TO KEEP THE RECORDS?? Is it perpetual? Many of us are told by Tax Advisers to maintain them for at least 10 years, but in this case...
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: KARDI536 at Tue Feb 23 12:17:39 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Sloppy work.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: cchan4 at Tue Feb 23 09:54:14 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=AlternatePost cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Auditing is like random sampling right?

so maybe this fish got away...
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: ShinHime at Tue Feb 23 09:42:54 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" cellSpacing=2 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left><TABLE style="WIDTH: 100%" class=Post cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>If that's the case, did govt audited Iras accounts in 93? If they did, they would have discovered the error and not pursue the issue nearly 20 years later.
</TD></TR><TR><TD style="VERTICAL-ALIGN: top" align=left>Posted by: weischin at Tue Feb 23 08:55:42 SGT 2010
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

SINkingporeans, please keep records on what you pay, transact, letter from, all PAP's dept in perpectuality, i keep mine also..

In case, you leave this planet earth...your descendants have to verify what you did or did not do...may have to find means to send it to you in afterlife also....:biggrin:

S

sodoMee

Feb 23, 2010

Sorry, Iras has explained tax error

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I REFER to the letter by Ms Carol Ong, 'Tax letter arrives years after death' (Feb 13).
Ms Ong's family received a letter from us in November last year with regard to the income tax payable by the estate of Ms Ong's grandfather. The case was identified in a recent review of arrears of old cases. Prior to her letter, our staff had been in discussion with Ms Ong and her mother to clear up the matter.
We have since clarified with Ms Ong's family and confirmed that payment had already been made in 1993 by one of the trustees of the estate. However, the payment, in the form of a cashier's order, was credited to the income tax account of the trustee, instead of being used to settle the tax arrears of the estate.
We have explained to Ms Ong how the error may have arisen and would like to apologise to her and her family for the inconvenience.
Deanna Choo (Ms)
Director (Corporate Communications)
Inland Revenue Authority of Singapore

<!-- story content : end -->

How come IRAS made mistakes no penalty one? i.e. tax refunds or rebates...surely clear instructions have been written to IRAS how to deal with the payment.

But if peasants made mistake hor, like forgot to pay or miss paying some taxes, punished until beri jialat leh.....like those oppositions party guys...:biggrin:

PAP:"Sorry also must explain"

IRAS:"Die also must pay Tax"

maybe IRAS meant coffin tax, lol :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

SamuelStalin

They are collecting taxes from beyond the grave....scary!:p

Soon there'd be rental fees for cemeteries. One month of arrears and the tombstone would be uprooted and removed by the landlord to make room for another.

There's lots of money to be made from death yay that's what's so cool about this world.

Soon there'd be rental fees for cemeteries. One month of arrears and the tombstone would be uprooted and removed by the landlord to make room for another.

There's lots of money to be made from death yay that's what's so cool about this world.

All will be recycled...and the previous tenant will be billed with the cost in afterlife...and current generation will have to bear the cost this life...cost....:biggrin:

MDA can bring forth 'limp kopi" threat...so can the Income Tax people..."hellfire & brimstones"...:p

That 17 years. Even dead also need to pay tax look like gov deperate for money. This should not have happen.

Soul_Reaper

We really need to know - HOW LONG DO WE NEED TO KEEP THE RECORDS??? If it's ten years (or whatever number of years specified), then can we legally ignored IRAS if they query us on issue after the specified years have expired. We cannot keep our records perpetually for their convenience if they don't do a proper job in the first place.

Any records that deals with $$$ & the gahmen = 50 years (that was what the late OTC advised).