• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat 1st pregnant woman tests positive for Zika

SINGAPORE: A total of 115 Zika infections has been confirmed in Singapore, including a pregnant woman for the first time, the Ministry of Health (MOH) and National Environment Agency (NEA) said in a joint briefing on Wednesday evening (Aug 31).

The authorities also identified a new potential cluster at Bedok North Avenue 3, as well as confirmed 24 new cases, most of which are from the existing cluster.

Of the 24 new cases, authorities said 22 cases are from the Aljunied Crescent / Sims Drive / Kallang Way / Paya Lebar Way cluster. Two cases have no known links to the affected area. One patient lives at Joo Seng Road and the other lives at Punggol Way.

On the potential new cluster at Bedok North Avenue 3, MOH and NEA said that three cases were reported yesterday. The patients had symptoms showing within four days and therefore did not infect one another. One case in Bedok North has a link to Kallang Way, but the other two have no known links to the Sims Drive / Aljunied Crescent cluster. Authorities said this suggests a possible new cluster.

The authorities also identified nine of the cases as a result of MOH's look-back testing of previous cases.

The pregnant Zika patient lives in the Aljunied Crescent / Sims Drive area and was diagnosed on Wednesday, authorities said, adding that she displayed mild symptoms of the virus and was taken to KK Women's and Children's Hospital. They added that she lives with a household member who was also diagnosed as positive for Zika.

Her doctor is following up closely with her to monitor her health as well as the development of the baby, authorities said. She will be referred to a maternal-foetal medicine specialist for counselling and advice.

Head of the Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology Professor Arijit Biswas said the general guidelines were for pregnant patients with Zika to go for checks every four weeks.

Extremely sad to hear a pregnant woman got zika. Gan minister should resign, just like Liu Tuck Yew. Such health lapses is not the first time within a year. Despite telling us to adopt a learning culture, the PAP deserved to be blamed from head to bottom.

there is a total lack of control ... dey shud quikly declare n epidemic ...

nayr69sg

Staff member
Zika is spread by the Aedes Mosquito. The same species that spreads Dengue Fever.

Given the fact that Dengue has not been well controlled in Singapore, it was only merely a matter of when Zika would become endemic in Singapore.

Zika is here to stay in Singapore. There is no going back anymore.

lifeafter41

there is a total lack of control ... dey shud quikly declare n epidemic ...

I think there is totally no control, places report got Zika, NEA will just fumigate the whole place. Whatever happened to preventive control.

What they are doing now is after it happened, then start to check , report cluster. Cases that reaches the GPs, and gets reported to MOH already too late........

It's already in the hundred........could go to thousands soon, at the rate it's going.

It happened the same with chikungunya outbreak recently and also the TB episode......

It's only 5.5 million people population now.
Cannot imagine if pop goes to 6.9million or even 10 million, there would be epidemic every month......of every different kind of tropical diease.

nayr69sg

Staff member
That's the trouble with Singaporeans. Everything blame the government.

If Singaporeans pitched in and looked out for mosquito breeding sites everywhere and put in a concerted effort to stop the breeding of mosquitoes, then there is a chance for Dengue and Zika to be eradicated. Mind you it will be a continuing effort though because the mosquito also breeds in Malaysia. So it will keep coming.

I think NEA and MOH actually gave up already. They know it cannot be controlled without the active participation of everyone living in Singapore. Unfortunately Singaporeans all like to say I pay Minister millions so it is not my problem.

If Singaporeans pitched in and looked out for mosquito breeding sites everywhere and put in a concerted effort to stop the breeding of mosquitoes, then there is a chance for Dengue and Zika to be eradicated. Mind you it will be a continuing effort though because the mosquito also breeds in Malaysia. So it will keep coming.

I think NEA and MOH actually gave up already. They know it cannot be controlled without the active participation of everyone living in Singapore. Unfortunately Singaporeans all like to say I pay Minister millions so it is not my problem.

moreover, sinkies are heavy water users and wasters, taking the ample (seemingly endless) flow of clean potable water for granted. everytime i do my morning walk and or cycle after jaga duties i see stagnant water in pails, pots, and longkangs everywhere. the infrastructure is 1st world but sinkies and their hired maids and other helpers are still 3rd world. it's as though the kampung mentality of water use (and hoarding) has never left. even those in freehold properties have dripping taps into buckets, either to "fool" and cheat the utilities or as an unconscious carry forward of their kampung ways. nobody bothers to be vigilant about stagnant water around them, let alone whistleblows on construction sites.

We have the highest paid government in the world ....they claimed to be the best. When they fall short, of course we blame them. They didn't say that they are the best only if sinkees have to fulfill certain conditions.

Why you assume sinkees have not been doing their part? How you know that the town councils have not been failing in their management of the problem of breeding grounds?

moreover, sinkies are heavy water users and wasters, taking the ample (seemingly endless) flow of clean potable water for granted. everytime i do my morning walk and or cycle after jaga duties i see stagnant water in pails, pots, and longkangs everywhere. the infrastructure is 1st world but sinkies and their hired maids and other helpers are still 3rd world. it's as though the kampung mentality of water use (and hoarding) has never left. even those in freehold properties have dripping taps into buckets, either to "fool" and cheat the utilities or as an unconscious carry forward of their kampung ways. nobody bothers to be vigilant about stagnant water around them, let alone whistleblows on construction sites.

Not true lah for most sinkees ...only the rich. Water not cheap in sinkapore. How many sinkees can afford to pay huge water bill?

Why you assume sinkees have not been doing their part? How you know that the town councils have not been failing in their management of the problem of breeding grounds?

stagnant water in trash-filled longkang at aljunied.

image.jpg

motormafia

[video=youtube_share;k6fQhkEbi90]https://youtu.be/k6fQhkEbi90[/video]

KGC gave birth to Loong during Zika infection, this is what you got.

Not true lah for most sinkees ...only the rich. Water not cheap in sinkapore. How many sinkees can afford to pay huge water bill?

sinkies are dripping water into pails at bathrooms of hdb flats too. the not-so-best practice applies to all walks of sinkies.

nayr69sg

Staff member
We have the highest paid government in the world ....they claimed to be the best. When they fall short, of course we blame them. They didn't say that they are the best only if sinkees have to fulfill certain conditions.

You're right. Eradicating mosquitoes is a near impossible task. Even if every Singapore pitched in, there is no guarantee that Aedes Mosquito would be wiped out.

Paying Ministers millions or billions would also not do the trick. Hiring the best pest control companies in the world and paying them billions might also not do the trick.

Sorry just too bad Singapore. Aedes Mosquito wins.

shittypore

Zika is spread by the Aedes Mosquito. The same species that spreads Dengue Fever.

Given the fact that Dengue has not been well controlled in Singapore, it was only merely a matter of when Zika would become endemic in Singapore.

Zika is here to stay in Singapore. There is no going back anymore.

We cud change the Island frm Termasek to Singapore why not now call it Zikapore neh, sound Ah Neh huh!

not only are sinkies the least reproductive race in the world,now we are about to unleash the new species of zika sinkies,a all new hybrid mosquito human zika morph.the evolution of man is complete.from the first standing apes to the homo erectus to the homo neaderthals to the homo sapiens and now homo zika,mankind has come full circle.by year 2050 hopefully,Singapore will have the largest population of zika people.dont be fooled though,a sinkie's appearance may appear normal to u but the genetic differences between a sinkie and a zika human is not that different.

its now feels exciting to live in singapore,a exciting melting hotpot of exotic diseases from india,china,pakistan,bangladesh,congo,africa,south america,south east asia.thank you globalisation,thank you PAP.

singapore is a equatorial tropical island,it rains like a muddafarker 200 days a year,ten times more rainfall than australia,even if we took care of every possible mosquito breeding spot,theres bound to be some puddle somewhere or swamp or even worst "ponding".