• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Minimum wage for ALL foreign workers

nayr69sg

Staff member
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=voyfBg3KS88&feature=youtu.be&t=1h42m51s

Dear PAP, you should ask this question to the SDP; If the minimum wage is applied to ALL foreign workers, does it apply to foreign domestic maids in so many households in Singapore? It will mean higher costs for so many Singaporean families already struggling. If you vote SDP you are going to pay thousands for having a maid. Think carefully before you vote.

Hi all, you guys know I am not a PAP supporter. However I question the tenacity and resolve of the Singapore people. Despite their complaints and hot air, when it comes to the crunch and it impacts on their own pockets and households they will go back and vote the PAP.

The maid issue is one that I believe the PAP should use to their advantage and make the people think again.

On the other hand, I have said many times the day I believe things are changing will be when Singaporeans decide to no longer have maids at home and do their own housework and take care of their children just like all the other people living in other truly first world countries. Relying on cheap foreign labor whether to construct new buildings, clean the streets or wash the toilets in your own home is not the way to go, however so many Singaporeans continue to have maids at home regardless whether they are pro- PAP or anti-PAP. For simple math, a $10/hr minimum wage would mean $10/hr x 18-24h x 26-30 per month ($4680-$7200) for each maid they have.

xpo2015

You dun need maids when anyone of your family members earned enough with min wage! And all kinds of welfare benefits provided by the opposition coalition garmen!

You have pro family or balanced work lifestyles!!

Who would want to leave their kids to strangers to abuse and screw? Why do you think they have obligations to take care of your children, if you do not have the responsibility to take care of them by yourselves?

We dun need maids! We need more highly trained educators and child care experts with a heart! So both of you can bloody hell go to work and earn more money for whatever reasons!

PAP made us think we need maids because both parents need to work hard to fill the garmen coffers and their million dollars salaries!

One vote for PAP is one vote to get your backside screwed!

Yes should apply to all. WP calls for minimum wage of $1000 only. I heard currently maid salary is $650 to $700. So it is not that far off from minimum wage.

xpo2015

Having a maid is equivalent to child abuse!

You are neglecting your children!

Especially the first three years!

Having a maid is equivalent to child abuse!

You are neglecting your children!

Especially the first three years!

You are assuming people hire maids for children only. What about hiring maids for elderly? I can see many maids are hired to take care of elderly too. Still neglect and abuse?

Yes should apply to all. WP calls for minimum wage of $1000 only. I heard currently maid salary is $650 to $700. So it is not that far off from minimum wage.

Don't forget about ALL the costs in hiring a maid which includes the maid levy, regular pregnancy checks, airfare to balek kampong holidays,...

Unless someone is totally incapacitated e.g. a paralyse stroke patient, the maid levy of almost $500 applies.

If you hire a maid today it can easily work out to $1,000+

nayr69sg

Staff member
every morning, when you wake up, look out the window and into the car park, you will see maids washing cars.
So don't tell me that all maids are a necessity. Also just try telling Singaporean men and women that they have to start cleaning their own toilets from now and see what response you get. It is very easy to criticize and say the foreign workers who build Singapore, keep Singapore clean and all that jazz should earn respectable wages and that companies should not rely on cheap foreign labor and should pay up.

But when it is right in your own home and you have to pay your foreign worker (maid) more you will surely kpkb.

$1000 for a live in care giver is expensive or not? PAP should bring this up. The foreign worker policy benefits everyone.

Microsoft

Many ppl moi noe lost their job...n r now security guard or taxi driver...some force into early retirement...wat maid?

butoh6050

There is already an unofficial minimum wage for maids.
Weather the employer obeys it or not is a another story.

prancku

Don't forget about ALL the costs in hiring a maid which includes the maid levy, regular pregnancy checks, airfare to balek kampong holidays,...

Unless someone is totally incapacitated e.g. a paralyse stroke patient, the maid levy of almost $500 applies.

If you hire a maid today it can easily work out to $1,000+

Currently the Employment Act excludes domestic servants (that is, maid) and employees of essential public service employees (fire service, police, etc) from certain provisions, inclusive of adherence to the conditions of employment (rest day, salary, hours of work, etc).

So even if there is minimum wage, could not legislation also exclude these people from the provisions that they ought to be paid strictly a minimum wage? Of course it can be done. Never forget that the only advantage to employing a domestic servant is that their wages are relatively affordable to most working parents. It is not meant to add another layer of tax upon our embittered Singaporeans.

Whoever uses minimum wage to demand that domestic servants be paid accordingly and over $3,000 monthly wages is just simply a FOOL. Otherwise, they are agitators or sympathizers of foreign interests clamouring for high pay for their own kind.

Just look at what the hongkies did when pinoys ask for automatic residential rights for staying beyond a certain number of years? FUCK OFF, FUCK OFF, FUCK OFF!!!! Yes, we need to push back when others try to use our laws to maximise benefits to themselves.

greenies

For simple math, a $10/hr minimum wage would mean $10/hr x 18-24h x 26-30 per month ($4680-$7200) for each maid they have.

Wow! I wish my boss will pay me like that.
Where got daily wage applied for monthly pay scale?
There is always cap applied.
Say, minimum wage of $10 hourly and $1,000 monthly.
Waive off all levies which are taken by Gov.

xpo2015

You are assuming people hire maids for children only. What about hiring maids for elderly? I can see many maids are hired to take care of elderly too. Still neglect and abuse?

You are abusing your elders if you hire maids instead of specialise healthcare personnels! Do you think they are trained to do elderly care?

gingerlyn

very funny pap hor.

PAP insists no minimum wage
PAP insists minimum cpf sum
PAP insists cap on CPF withdrawal
PAP insists hdb must go up and up.

tak boleh tahan/

Agoraphobic

Singapore is NOT a first world country like so many Singaporeans like to believe. The existence of so many domestic maids points to this. Nobody will fight for a better pay for them, neither will they, because what they earn as maids in Singapore is way higher than what they could get in their homeland. That they come into Peesai and are able to work legally is "advantageous" to Singaporeans because Singapore is a rich nation. No Singaporean will work for the type of wages they pay their maids. I wish to see the day when the surrounding countries have developed their economies and none of their locals need work abroad as maids anymore, will like to see how Singaporeans grapple with that situation.

You are abusing your elders if you hire maids instead of specialise healthcare personnels! Do you think they are trained to do elderly care?

You love to assume things and judge people base on your shallow assumptions. There are so many types of elderly, some are less mobile some are more mobile while others are totally bedridden, and some are senile while some are lucid etc.

So different types of elderly require different type of care. Those less mobile but still can walk type function well with some assistance from maids like pushing their wheel chairs when going out. I see the maids bringing the elderly to see doctors, to eat at food court, etc.

gingerlyn

Singapore is NOT a first world country like so many Singaporeans like to believe. The existence of so many domestic maids points to this. Nobody will fight for a better pay for them, neither will they, because what they earn as maids in Singapore is way higher than what they could get in their homeland. That they come into Peesai and are able to work legally is "advantageous" to Singaporeans because Singapore is a rich nation. No Singaporean will work for the type of wages they pay their maids. I wish to see the day when the surrounding countries have developed their economies and none of their locals need work abroad as maids anymore, will like to see how Singaporeans grapple with that situation.

no worry, that is why now we have maids from sri lanka, india and very soon we will have maids from Nepal and Nigeria!!!

if minimum wage comes all the foreign workers are going home cause theres no way singapore is paying 6 bangras $10/hr to stand around and dig a hole in the side of the road and direct traffic.factories will close down cause no more cheap tiongs and shitskins to work in their production lines for 12 hours a day 7 days a week for peanuts.

nayr69sg

Staff member
if minimum wage comes all the foreign workers are going home cause theres no way singapore is paying 6 bangras $10/hr to stand around and dig a hole in the side of the road and direct traffic.factories will close down cause no more cheap tiongs and shitskins to work in their production lines for 12 hours a day 7 days a week for peanuts.

So there will be pain. That's something I haven't heard people talk about. Singapore is a tiny little city that calls itself a country. It has overachieved. But in the long run it is a no win situation. A successful Singapore will be more and more crowded and competitive. A less crowded Singapore probably means the economy has gone to the dogs which is not good either. Good Luck Singaporeans!

Currently the Employment Act excludes domestic servants (that is, maid) and employees of essential public service employees (fire service, police, etc) from certain provisions, inclusive of adherence to the conditions of employment (rest day, salary, hours of work, etc).

So even if there is minimum wage, could not legislation also exclude these people from the provisions that they ought to be paid strictly a minimum wage? Of course it can be done. Never forget that the only advantage to employing a domestic servant is that their wages are relatively affordable to most working parents. It is not meant to add another layer of tax upon our embittered Singaporeans.

Whoever uses minimum wage to demand that domestic servants be paid accordingly and over $3,000 monthly wages is just simply a FOOL. Otherwise, they are agitators or sympathizers of foreign interests clamouring for high pay for their own kind.

Just look at what the hongkies did when pinoys ask for automatic residential rights for staying beyond a certain number of years? FUCK OFF, FUCK OFF, FUCK OFF!!!! Yes, we need to push back when others try to use our laws to maximise benefits to themselves.

first off whats the purpose of having a minimum wage?for humanitarian reasons and human rights that no one in your country should be exploited and to respect everyone in your country for their labour and contributions,that includes the elderly,the handicapped or even children or teenagers.if u find ways to exclude certain subsets or races or nationality then whats the point?it defeats the entire morality of the exercise and shows ur mentality as a first world nation.

secondly,the way minimum wage only works is if nobody in the country is excluded,if u start excluding certain subsets of people from minimum wage,sooner or later people will start clamouring to hire more of these people and using them to perform other duties cause everyone loves cheaper better faster.assuming ur a singaporean auntie and u decide u want to become a housekeeper or a babysitter cause now theres minimum wage of 10/hr for all sinkies,but who the hell would want to hire u when they can hire a pinoy or indonesian for much much less?in the end all those receiving minimum wage would suffer.