• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Swiss expats say Singaporeans not entitled to jobs in Singapore - R U TOOLAN OR NOT?

geylangkid

Franziska-Zimmermann-.jpg

Swiss lawyer Franziska Zimmermann may have been in Singapore for only 18 months, but she talked as if she has been staying in Singapore since birth and even found fit to lecture Singaporeans!

In an interview conducted by the Straits Times on expatriates working in Singapore, 37 year old Ms Zimmermann felt that Singaporeans are generally friendly to foreigners though some harbor anti-foreigner sentiments, that is to be expected.

“This anti-foreigner issue is in every city. It’s a natural debate and the Swiss are questioning it too. But no one owes anyone else a living; you cannot say you are entitled to jobs in your country,” she says.

Her colleague Ms. Elouisa Dalli added that she is “aware” that Singaporeans worry about a growing divide between the cosmopolitan rich like her she brags, and lower-income heartlanders, but praises Singapore as a society where “opportunities remain open to all.”

“Everyone in Singapore, regardless of his social background, has the same access to the MRT, education, safety and job opportunities. Only if these opportunities are available only to the top in society that you have a true divide,” she was quoted as saying.

The insensitive and downright stupid statements by the arrogant ladies, Zimmerman and Dalli, are not only insulting to Singaporeans, but are harmful to the two ladies and even more so to Syngenta, the company for which they both work.

Ms. Zimmerman is Manager, Public Affairs Asia-Pacific at Syngenta Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd. It is unforgivable that a manager of public affairs would make such an inappropriate comment about the guest country, Singapore, where she is working.

Elouisa Dalli is Media & Community Relations Manager, for Syngenta. She is supposed to generate good publicity for Syngenta, but has done exactly the opposite.

Franziska Zimmermann and Elouisa Dalli are not qualified for their jobs as they are insensitive to public affairs or community relations. In both these areas they have only damaged not only their own reputations, but Syngenta’s as well.

Syngenta for its own good, and as an apology to Singapore and Singaporeans, should fire both Franziska Zimmermann and Elouisa Dalli.

Singapore should withdraw their employment visas, as well.

John Harding

* John Harding blogs at http://johnharding.com

Kinana

Re: Swiss expats say Singaporeans not entitled to jobs in Singapore - R U TOOLAN OR N

I don't see anything offensive about their remarks at all. What are you talking about? What for you ultra sensitive?

jiakhongleow

Re: Swiss expats say Singaporeans not entitled to jobs in Singapore - R U TOOLAN OR N

If Singapore still remains a fishing village today, will she come to claim job opportunities with the fishermen?

This chow chee bye angmoh think her qualification can bring her anywhere she wants to live and shit.

This modern Singapore are build by Singaporean forefathers that did not invade, steal, murder and colonisied other countries like the Westerners and Pommies did.

This modern Singapore was build by hard working Singaproean forefathers and their decendants and their chiildren deserve to be Singaporean-first in getting job opportunities.

Westerners and Pommies angmoh arrogant bastards. Angmoh chow chee bye kong lanjiao wei.

I don't see anything offensive about their remarks at all. What are you talking about? What for you ultra sensitive?

Tualan

She should explain why her own country is a very protective country, reluctant to share wealths wiht others, and only welcome people with plenty of monie, not easy for foreigners to seek jobs there ?

japarmy

First Singapore belonged to the monkeys and tigers, then came the Sri Vijaya Malays, then the Temaseks, then taken over by the Ang Moh British and the Malays, next came the Chinese, then the FTs, and now the high-level "ang moh chibai" Swiss.

This may be the normal process the world over.

In the USA, there were the Indians, then came the white men, then some black slaves, and now the Mexicans.

The Sri Vigaya Malays and the American Indians are the people who should really be upset.

breaknews

Singapore, like US is not a communist country with respect to its economy.

Even the so called socialist country like China do not guarantee lifetime jobs.

Do you expect jobs in Singapore is a right for every Singaporeans?

japarmy

No I do not expect jobs in Singapore to be a right for every Singaporean. What should be expected, however, is that if there are qualified Singaporeans for a job, that job should go to a Singaporean. The same holds for the US or any country. Only in this way can a country avoid unnecessary unemployment.

The two ladies are certainly not qualified for their jobs, which involve public relations for their company. As company employes charged with making good will for Syngenta, they have done just the opposite - and are NOT qualified for the positions they hold. Certainly, many Singaporeans could do much much better than the two arrogant ladies.

They are both very lucky to be employed in Singapore's great work environment, but, unfortunately, have no understanding of Singapore, or even of their responsibility to Syngenta.

These two ladies are full of themselves, and fail to realize that they are incompetent in their work.

True, if there is no one in Singapore who qualifies for a particular job, then give it to someone who can, even a foreigner. This is not the case here.

DU LAN also no use,,what to do? thank the 60% for allowing us to be in this predicament..maybe someone should go date her and give her the F of the lifetime,..that might keep her quiet...

Perspective

After more than 300 posts you are still on moderation. You are not like the rest of us, but don't be sensitive ok?

geylangkid

She is saying you are not entitled to fxxk your own wife after marrying her in your own home as anyone can come to your home to fxxk her for you. Hope you can understand now after I converted it to something that your intelligence can understand.

Kinana

Up till now, none of you can even explained what exactly she said that was offensive.

japarmy

Up till now, none of you can even explained what exactly she said that was offensive.

In the position of these ladies as good will ambassadors for their company, they should not have spoken in the way they did. Unfortunately, many of us who work are responsible for what we say. Secondly, when one is a guest in a country that person needs to be careful with their words.

I think their employer, Syngenta, agrees with me, as below is their email to me regarding the subject.

Dear Mr Harding,

Thank you for your email.

The comments made by two employees in the Straits Times were personal and not made in their capacity as representatives of the company. We have spoken with the employees involved and apologize on their behalf for any distress which their comments may have caused.

Yours sincerely,

Médard Schoenmaeckers
Head of External Communications
Corporate Affairs, Syngenta

www.syngenta.com

Checker

Really shows lack of social judgement by these so-called talents. There're many forumers here who've lived and worked the world over. How many have heard of foreigners commenting in the national press on whether locals should "feel entitled to their jobs"? Doesn't even happen in countries with way less immigration. In almost every developed country, local nationals are entitled to jobs first, before it can be offered to a foreigner.

But in Asia, seems more "high-class" to have ang-mo working in the organization. A young American friend in his 20s was paid lots to speak the few words of French he remembered from high school to work with a local partner company. But make no mistake, I think the real talents are still in their HQs in their respective capital cities. They send their young, old and weak here to cut their teeth or to get rid of waste.

steffychun

I thought GT wanted a Swiss Standard of living

Kinana

In the position of these ladies as good will ambassadors for their company, they should not have spoken in the way they did. Unfortunately, many of us who work are responsible for what we say. Secondly, when one is a guest in a country that person needs to be careful with their words.

I think their employer, Syngenta, agrees with me, as below is their email to me regarding the subject.

Dear Mr Harding,

Thank you for your email.

The comments made by two employees in the Straits Times were personal and not made in their capacity as representatives of the company. We have spoken with the employees involved and apologize on their behalf for any distress which their comments may have caused.

Yours sincerely,

Médard Schoenmaeckers
Head of External Communications
Corporate Affairs, Syngenta

www.syngenta.com

So what exactly did they say that was offensive to you? Please be specific.

Tualan

Only dogs will not feel offensive.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Franziska-Zimmermann-.jpg

Swiss lawyer Franziska Zimmermann may have been in Singapore for only 18 months, but she talked as if she has been staying in Singapore since birth and even found fit to lecture Singaporeans!

In an interview conducted by the Straits Times on expatriates working in Singapore, 37 year old Ms Zimmermann felt that Singaporeans are generally friendly to foreigners though some harbor anti-foreigner sentiments, that is to be expected.

“This anti-foreigner issue is in every city. It’s a natural debate and the Swiss are questioning it too. But no one owes anyone else a living; you cannot say you are entitled to jobs in your country,” she says.

Her colleague Ms. Elouisa Dalli added that she is “aware” that Singaporeans worry about a growing divide between the cosmopolitan rich like her she brags, and lower-income heartlanders, but praises Singapore as a society where “opportunities remain open to all.”

“Everyone in Singapore, regardless of his social background, has the same access to the MRT, education, safety and job opportunities. Only if these opportunities are available only to the top in society that you have a true divide,” she was quoted as saying.

The insensitive and downright stupid statements by the arrogant ladies, Zimmerman and Dalli, are not only insulting to Singaporeans, but are harmful to the two ladies and even more so to Syngenta, the company for which they both work.

Ms. Zimmerman is Manager, Public Affairs Asia-Pacific at Syngenta Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd. It is unforgivable that a manager of public affairs would make such an inappropriate comment about the guest country, Singapore, where she is working.

Elouisa Dalli is Media & Community Relations Manager, for Syngenta. She is supposed to generate good publicity for Syngenta, but has done exactly the opposite.

Franziska Zimmermann and Elouisa Dalli are not qualified for their jobs as they are insensitive to public affairs or community relations. In both these areas they have only damaged not only their own reputations, but Syngenta’s as well.

Syngenta for its own good, and as an apology to Singapore and Singaporeans, should fire both Franziska Zimmermann and Elouisa Dalli.

Singapore should withdraw their employment visas, as well.

John Harding

* John Harding blogs at http://johnharding.com

Thats why i said, we are so undervalued that every Tom Dick and Harry can come to SG and lecture us on whats right and wrong including those from 3rd world countries. This will be another one who claims SG is good, SG is perfect, SG government is the best but wouldn't ever convert. I hope she converts as soon as given the chance to contribute to Singapore.

callmebad

The fact that she comes here to work is because the European economy is condemned and in deep shit, she should count herself lucky
She should be more sensitive to local feelings knowing that our economy is not that good too and a lot of people are struggling in trying to get a job,even the educated ones.
The fact that she talks before she thinks, just shows me the kind of lousy foreign talents Singapore is attracting.
Is Singapore that lousy, so we have to attract lousy foreigners ? Not like in US who is able to attract the real good foreign brains.

Kinana

See, up until, no one on this forum can say specifically what exactly she said that was offensive.

yahoo55

This Swiss lawyer is a hypocrite, apparently only Swiss are entited to jobs in Switzerland.

Angry Singaporean writes to Swiss lawyer Zimmermann

Posted by temasektimes on March 30, 2012

I am a Singaporean currently living and working in Switzerland. I am utterly disgusted by the 0-cent worth of comments from Zimmermann who has lived in Singapore for merely 18months.

Compared with Singapore’s open immigration policy, your dear country practises extreme discriminatory immigration policy that effectively shuts non-Swiss and non-EU citizens out of your country, particularly those non-white foreigners (If you are a lawyer, you should jolly well know that even your country’s immigration policy is criticised by the UN for human rights abuses).

If I am not married to my Swiss wife, I would not even have the right to live and work here, and that’s from someone who has lived in your country for 41 months! You ought to really get out of Singapore and move back to Switzerland!

MARCOS