• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Education System is in need of a revolution.

Kopi0Kosong

Those who are parents here will realize that there is a huge disconnect between what is needed and what is taught, and what it taught at primary, secondary and tertiary education. What your kids learn in primary school (despite the mountains of homework) are completely obsolete when they go into secondary school. Nothing they learned was use; and that includes the Math. I seriously wonder what are the objectives MOE set out for themselves.

Good question. The PAP-controlled Government and the Ministry of Education keep presenting the Singapore Education System as among the best in the world. If that is so, our ICT graduates from our local universities and polytechnics should not only be able to meet the country's ICT needs, but also the needs in other countries. Why then is our PAP LEEders asking to import ICT talents from elsewhere? Are our people not good enough or is there something very wrong with our education system or our overseas-educated PAP LEEders?

SLEEazy LEEders formuLEEte inLEEffecThief poLEEcies to proLEEuce hopeLEEss employLEEs.
LEEmove LEE LEEdership.

Kopi0Kosong

The objectives of MOE like all gahmen depts etc is to continue earning money at the tax payers expense n to maintain their iron rice bowl. They set up curriculum n change it etc to show that they are doing something etc. So continue getting paid. Education should always focus on the fundamentals. Maths n science n proper English. Spelling writing speaking. With a firm foundation children can learn more easily. But in schools the text books of the past were half fucked. Chalf fucked examples were used n the other half of the equation have to use tuition to fill in the gaps. N later emphasise on exams n hence require more tuition to cover the lapses of wat is taught at schools. That is singkieland education.

Allow me to shout it out on your behalf. Well analysed.

Kopi0Kosong

The problem with IT is schools always teach the old obsolete stuff. I was shocked that back in the late 90s NTU grads studied turbo Pascal. N when they went to work their skills were already obsolete. These lectures etc insists on teaching old stuff bcos they can't or don't have the skill to teach the new stuff.

I started with Fortran Language and punch-cards but thereafter...it's the self. Basic foundation is important. I totally agree with your last statement.
The concept of school/educational institution must first be changed, and it should start with the tertiary institutions and then moving downwards, right down to preschools.

Hypocrite-The

I started with Fortran Language and punch-cards but thereafter...it's the self. Basic foundation is important. I totally agree with your last statement.
The concept of school/educational institution must first be changed, and it should start with the tertiary institutions and then moving downwards, right down to preschools.
I forgot to add, less work for them too,,,just imagine changing syllabus and updating and learning new skills everymonth,,,the lecturer will die man,,and of course MOE curriculum developers will work 10 times harder,,,they might as well keep the old shit, look after themselves and fuck it up for everyone

Kopi0Kosong

I forgot to add, less work for them too,,,just imagine changing syllabus and updating and learning new skills everymonth,,,the lecturer will die man,,and of course MOE curriculum developers will work 10 times harder,,,they might as well keep the old shit, look after themselves and fuck it up for everyone

Totally agree. MOE curriculum specialists just need to adjust the syllabuses slightly every five years so that their work done is reflected in the new textbooks. Textbook publishers MUST do according to what the curriculum specialists want and prescribe...no dictate. NO BUTs, NO creativity or innovativeness.

You dalit speakth highly yourself. India will never make it in the 4th Revo as they lack fundamental in human kindness among own dialect.

Reminder that indians are marketed as high talent in IT, and soft jobs, for rent seeking economy in BE colonized countries. It is stating the obvious clearly to import renters for property market.

Who want cheats and steal jobs FTs knowing they are bad in English and no talent to think outside the square....

indian rich are already sending their kids to coding schools.
https://www.weforum.org/agenda/2017/10/india-coding-children-opportunity/
http://www.tynker.com/learn-to-code/india/prasad-vanga-1lec/2nd-grade-sehika-1g8j.html
http://www.codingzen.in
zdiOdrEimHOlCyZ9Tv91Pe_GHMSHstrw3agdW31jgp0.JPG

We need to teach India’s children to code. Here’s why
The world is changing at such a fast pace that the high paying jobs of today did not even exist five years ago - and it’s hard to predict what kind of jobs we will be doing in another five years’ time.
The reason for this big change? Software.
Over the past three decades software has taken over our world, beginning with childhood. In India, as soon as a child gains a little understanding, the first things he or she is attracted to are the cellphones carried by their parents. They start playing games on them, watching cartoons or randomly calling people from dad’s contact list even before they have learned to speak. Some even learn to unlock the phone and navigate to their favourite app before their first birthday. But even a high school-age child has very little idea about what goes on behind the scenes of the websites and apps he or she uses on a regular basis. It is as if they have learned to read but not write.
Is it right that these young kids in schools remain uninformed, passive users of technology rather than actively taking part in creating it or understanding how it works?
Even though much has changed in India, today's hi-tech kids learn from the same books I used during my time at school 10 years ago. The Indian education system promotes rote learning, and this promotes conformism rather than curiosity in children.
How can we furnish kids with the necessary skills for the future? Many would argue that computing is already taught in schools. But computer science textbooks in Indian schools teach topics related to the history of computer science, hardware and operating systems, or some basic html. This knowledge is obsolete and has little relevance to contemporary technologies. How many Indian students leave their high school with a mastery of at least one of the major programming languages, or at the very least a familiarity with coding?
It’s true that that not everyone wants to become a coder or to work in IT. But learning to code is a tool which will help kids to understand and appreciate technology and expand their imagination. As Krishan Vedati, the founder of kids’ coding company Tynker, correctly says: “Coding doesn’t mean anything by itself — it’s just a language. Kids need to see it working with the real world and it means different things to different topics — in astronomy, science, even language arts.”
Learn from China
In my opinion, India can learn from China to help future generations thrive in the Fourth Industrial Revolution. The economy is changing; Chinese parents understand this well, and are putting a premium on teaching their children how to code. For Chinese parents, teaching kids to code has become as important as teaching them maths and Chinese. In fact, many Chinese children are exposed to coding even before they enter pre-school. Most Indian parents, on the other hand, are less well-informed and do not place enough emphasis on teaching their children how to write code unless they themselves are into IT.
Learning to code is not only about gaining skills for future jobs - it helps kids stretch their minds and teaches them critical and logical thinking. “Everyone should learn how to programme a computer, because it teaches you how to think.” It’s now 20 years since Steve Jobs said those words in an interview.
Next steps?
We need to prepare Indian schoolchildren to become creators of the future instead of its victims. Adding a fancy new subject to the curriculum will not help much, and neither will learning to code by glancing through books. Expecting kids to master computer science by reading books is similar to expecting them to master basketball by reading about the game's history. Rather, we should involve and engage them in coding in various ways from their very first day at school - perhaps by introducing it into little things they already love doing, like playing a video game, making a birthday card or inviting their friends over for a get-together.
More than half of India’s population is below the age of 25 and more than 65% is younger than 35. When the first Industrial Revolution spread across Europe and the Americas, India was colonised and missed the boat. Can India afford to miss the Fourth Industrial Revolution? India has a huge opportunity ahead to become the intellectual capital of the world - and coding can be its emancipator. India was once known as the ‘Golden Bird’; it’s high time we come together to ensure that India becomes the ‘Golden Coding Bird’.
DB3dSLLDQtkrEyXH1qV4V2Zwx5AO_0k7c233zKub3rA.JPG

Hypocrite-The

In BE no make money no biz. Make human suffer education with long tedious period to keep paying for life....

BE Education is like taking opium very profitable for the establishment with low cost of expenses and easy to grow. .
The BE education was taken from ah tiong land imperial examination system...so look in yr own back yard b4 criticising others.

Great ideas but this won't happen for a couple of reasons:

1. The education system is managed and run by pappies who have thrived with the system and are happy to let their children continuing thriving in the system. They are not that interested in having a bunch of "young thinkers" emerging from the youths of Singapore, in fact, it will be detrimental to them considering how narrow minded and self serving they are. Contrary to popular opinion among the "oppies", the pappies are not that stupid. :biggrin:

2. Most sinkies are impressionable and easily manipulated, while some suffer from delusions of grandeur. This is not going to change and will be very difficult to change, at least not in the short to medium term. :wink:

It's nothing short of the Cambrian explosion that I spoke of previously- to allow public funded schools to really experiment with smaller class sizes, different modes of teaching and learning, and fundamentally re-thinking the need for assessment.

Basic levels of appreciation for the aesthetics, arithmetics, command of langugages, logic and sciences shall remain at the primary school levels; with the addition of humanities at the secondary school levels.

Carry on with the standardised testing at the end of the academic year if you wish but that should really take a back seat or be subjugated as an insignificant figure. Discard the need for placements.

To move ahead, we need to break out of that traditional classroom mode and allowing collaboration across the classes as well as across the levels should be strongly encouraged.

Look at the real world, people from different cultures and age groups are coming together to forge ahead in a system. If Singapore needs to get ahead, take a leaf from the Finnish system, break down the walls of segregation.

Something that's done in the right direction for the current system but not gathering enough momentum- to increase the joy of learning. Go on and get rid of assessment.

Kopi0Kosong

Great ideas but this won't happen for a couple of reasons:

1. The education system is managed and run by pappies who have thrived with the system and are happy to let their children continuing thriving in the system. They are not that interested in having a bunch of "young thinkers" emerging from the youths of Singapore, in fact, it will be detrimental to them considering how narrow minded and self serving they are. Contrary to popular opinion among the "oppies", the pappies are not that stupid. :biggrin:

2. Most sinkies are impressionable and easily manipulated, while some suffer from delusions of grandeur. This is not going to change and will be very difficult to change, at least not in the short to medium term. :wink:

A realistic picture of what is present day Singapore. PAP's 'Staged to Fit and Fix'.
The biggest obstacle in educational change is 'having suitably qualified ready educators'.
Modernising and upgrading the standard of teachers in formal education has taken more than 3 decades, and is still ongoing.
This is also very evident in today's preschool sector - years of hastily and poorly trained 'Ah Soo' teachers supplemented with 'qualified/cultured' teachers mainly from two countries.

Food for Thought:

Remove examinations for Primary 1 and 2 students so as NOT to surface out the standard of the students, especially those having received their preschool education at PCF kindergartens and Child Care centres.
There is no hiding the truth.

You forgot to add, it spawn a 'feeding system'...it is all about making money, it breeds an industry, from textbook writers, to tuition centres to so-called educators etc. Education became a money making industry; that went mad & created alarming number of patients, from the teachers, to the students to the parents; who have to seek help from the "resort at Buangkok" AKA IMH. This benefited another money making industry, called Medical & Healthcare.

So, what is not new? with what you have said...the main objective is not to educate the future, yes, give them enough to survive; but the objective is to make MONEY.

Kopi0Kosong

The tuition landscape is a monster unwittingly created by MOE and further exacerbated by Sinkie parents who wanted their children to survive in the face of rising costs of living.

Children represent the future. Education promises a better tomorrow. Businesses which cater to these are primed to survive and bloom, regardless of a country's economy, at any time.

My friend, you have the prerequisite to go into this type of business. Have you ever considered?

Children represent the future. Education promises a better tomorrow. Businesses which cater to these are primed to survive and bloom, regardless of a country's economy, at any time.

My friend, you have the prerequisite to go into this type of business. Have you ever considered?

The children today have skillsnofuture....

When you call education a business, that's very much like the mindset of the PAP... they have pandered too much to their "customers" :coffee::coffee::coffee: