Loansharks - Police Powerless?

yeah i also find it so weird. loansharks are blatant. their runners get caught. sure can lead back to the big chiefs. unless they are not in sg?
not so easy. everything faceless. bank accounts, phone numbers, ruuners are all from debtors. that said, if terrorists and dissidents can be tracked, monitored and arrested then no reason why these loansharks cannot be caught.

1. if sheep can purchase winners & sports individuals.
2. likewise, can buy some undercover agents to look into it mah.
3. since the local sheep are busy doing more national issues.

Organised loansharking involving vandalism first appeared in mid 1980s. 25 years, despite the numerous changes in laws and ratcheting up the penalties, it continues unabated.

Anyone has a clue why this seems to gone awry unlike the creation of CNB which had a significant impact on the drugs trade.

How about Death-Sentence for loansharking?

actually the drug enforcement has not be able to catch the big fish......its always the small fish that gets hang.
and sending drug abusers to jail is not exactly solving the problem.....
now it seems they want to do likewise for loanshark borrowers......good luck to them.

actually the drug enforcement has not be able to catch the big fish......its always the small fish that gets hang.
now it seems they want to do likewise for loanshark borrowers......good luck to them.

if buying of illegal or porn cd/dvd from a illegal source is a crime, then to borrow from a illegal source should be also consider a crime. neighbours of default borrowers should have a legal way to seek compensation from the loan defaulter.

most of the runners caught are debtors themselves....consider they got what they deserved.
police closed case trumpet efficiency.
innocent neighbours got no recourse.
big fish remains at large.
Like that call solution?

there wont be solution, moneylenders had been around for ages, live with it.

anyway most big sharks operate from across the border, our polis cannot get them lah.

as much as illegal moneylenders violate laws, there nothing they can do when defaulter go to the mata wheras licensed moneylenders can sue the borrower till declare bankcrupt. in the first place, dont borrow any money from anyone when have no mean to return.

in my 30+ years, i never take a loan from anyone other than my hdb loan, which i happy to say, fully repaid. even the family car was paid in cash, which annoy the saleman, who cannot earn comission from loan.

Good points.

The Govt has always handled crime very well but this seems to be the odd one out. Its seems to grow worse by the day. Just feel sorry for the innocent parties that are caught up by this.

It does lot credence to the fact that old man if he was still the PM would have addressed it.

I can think of several reasons.

Firstly, it involves numbers. How many drug addicts compared to borrowers? More involved, more problems.

Secondly, access. Any Ah Beng with some money can open a 'stall' and become ah long. How many has the connections to deal in drugs?

Thirdly, punishment meted out. For CNB cases, long jail terms and even death penalty. It was only recently that ah long offences received draconian sentences - fine, jail, rottan.

Fourthly, education and publicity. When young, we were educated on consequences of drug trafficking and addiction. Hardly on ah longs.

Fifthly, response to problems (family, personal etc). When confronted with $$$ problems, we seek assistance from ah longs, not drug traffickers.
And there are many who need $$$ urgently, resulting from gambling habits.

Sixthly, nature of biz. Its COD for drug biz most of the time. No harassment needed. Ah long biz differs.

Never catching the big fish is more an urban myth spread by the the the usual human rights groups. I am aware of big fish at Moon Crescent including one HK tycoon who sailed his yacth into Singapore Harbour. Detention without trial under CLTP has been going on for years. They don't publish it. Obviously you can't hang them as they are never in possession but they are in for a long time.

They have also begun to detain major loan shark bosses under CLTP but its the middle layer that seem to have proliferated and gone into business on their as well.

Organised loansharking involving vandalism first appeared in mid 1980s. 25 years, despite the numerous changes in laws and ratcheting up the penalties, it continues unabated.

Anyone has a clue why this seems to gone awry unlike the creation of CNB which had a significant impact on the drugs trade.

My theory is the same one that I have mentioned in this forum before: The "It could happen to you" or "It won't happen to us" theory.

Borrowing from loansharks, borrowers and neighbours being harrassed by them, etc are things that won't happen to the elite and rich.
Drug addiction on the other hand could.
The incentive to eradicate the former is hence not, shall we say, so high.

of course must charge high interest..cause money lending is a risky business ..

It is risky because they lend to all and sundry. Must do credit checks, like HDB, so that if you make too little, won't lend you to buy house, never mind what the gahmen says.

thats why unsecured personal loans is always risky and ah long must hide from the police ....heard nowadays some ah long do credit checks .

Ah Long got their own database of errant debtors machiam credit bureau......in ah long's speak is call 'scanning'.

yes...some ah long will share customers information with another ah long and see if the customer is blacklisted or not . i got friends in ah long biz ...so i kind of know how it works .

I visited 2 friends operating this biz. At both locations, I spotted a photo of a friend pasted on the wall. Was told it was 'hiong kha' and other moneylenders were alerted too. They even asked if I knew this chap. I told them looked familiar. May have seen this chap at KTVs and HFJs.