• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Subletting banned to keep hawker food prices affordable

Has anymone taken time to examine their utilties bill? for the myraid number of taxes we are paying, on top of the GST? I am sure 99% of SINgaporeanS don't even bother. One particular glaring tax is the water born fee, which is taxed at a rate, in which any household can never achieved, it is calculated sure make money tax. Go add up the indirect tax you are paying in your utilities bill, and you will be shock! go try!!

in singapore, electricity costs about 27cents per kilowatt hour.

in the us and uk, the price is about half.

singapore has been designed to maximise profit for the state at the expense of the residents.

there was this old ah mn who used to sell 麦芽糖 at Holland V some years back, recently checked, didn't see her anymore.

used to buy it from her whilst me was visiting that area during lunch time, paid her two bucks and asking her to keep the change, she'd insist in putting a dollar back in me palm :o:o:o
She is also seen in Commonwealth MRT station bus station (outside the stadium/football field). You are right on she prefer to earn her living selling her sweet rather than receiving charity. I used to stay around the area.

Is she still around? much had changed around Holland Village & even Commonwealth MRT station. There was an old man outside the old OG deparmental shop at People's Park, if anyone can remember, selling those crunchy sweet thing wrapped in something like a harder version of pop piah, he sells those stuff out of two large yellow coloured biscuit tins, with Chinese character of 'tang'. It is like eating popiah, but with a sweet crunchy interior. I have seen this being sold in some shopping centres, but compared with this old man food, it is a world of difference, the outer skin is simply delicious & when you bite into it, it just melts in your mouth. But the man has a very bad attitude, very grumpy & very bad tempered. But, whenever I get a craving for his food, I will just make a trip there to buy some.

Anyone remember?

The Government announces new polices to moderate food prices at hawker centres, including the banning of stall subletting and assigning ...
ze root prob is hi gahmen rentals in ze 1st place ...

another ting is dat dey take a slice of ze hawkers intake if dey make a profit ... y dun dey 4go their share of greed so dat fud prices can b even lower? ... :rolleyes:

now, dey want oni demselves 2 b fat cats ... n not b4 banning others from profitting from it ... :oIo:

They should also apply similar policies to public corporations like SBS Transit, SMRT and Hospitals; banning sleeping PAP director from sitting in their boards to collect directors fee.

in singapore, electricity costs about 27cents per kilowatt hour.

in the us and uk, the price is about half.

singapore has been designed to maximise profit for the state at the expense of the residents.

Our power stations turbines are fired by gas to produce electricity right? we buy natural gas from Indonesia, during the nature of my work, happen to know where that pipeline runs through some years back. But our electricity cost is pegged on oil prices, crude oil or procesed?? at an average rate or the highest Brent Crude prices?? or 'whities' blend of crude oil, which is always priced ridiclously higher, just like the water borne fee.

But you cannot compare the prices with UK, there the MP's look after the constituents but here it is the cosntitunets look after the MP's, never mind looking for them for help. ha ha ha ha:D

/
i really hope those FAT CATS and their Nominees will
be hit Big Time this round and the coming rounds ...
Fat Cats :
1) Kopi Tiam Group
2) S21 Group
3) Food Junction Group
4) Banquet Group
5) and remember their "fronts" / nominees

these are the jokers who oppress all the small stalls holders
and drive up the FOOD PRICES ------- Ptui !!!

You are absolutely correct. These fat cats are the main culprits.

However, the present change may not be of any effective. The market share of these fat cats is so huge. They dictate the market rental rate. What is worse is that most of the coffeeshops have already been bought over by these fat cats.

Therefore, we can only expect tender price to maintain (but will still rise for hot spots). Any decrease is likely to be insignificant because profit can still be made at current price of food. Therefore, prices of food at hawker centres are not coming down. The only consolation is that those fat cats will find it more difficult to suka suka up their rental since genuine good food stalls can now tender on their own thus stopping a never ending escalation of food price due to middleman.

Finally the PAP is waking up. The relentless drive on rentals across Singapore led by Temasek is hitting the ballot box.

The PAP never wakes up, they are implying if the fucking Sinkie peasants can't find a decent job, go be a hawker at one of their 'new' hawkers centers.

It also means they are not wanting to increased welfare for the poor and disabled and perfer that they work to their death and still pay the PAP rent and utilities at commericial rate without so much as the 'care' they have been harping since post election.

You need to open your eyes wide to see the real intent of the PAP or else even after they try to issue you with lawyer letters, you still don't can't get to know how wicked and cruel the PAP is!:D

CCB, now control a bit too late right? where got foodstall willing to reduce prices now....?

The old days of simple things like this is gone, remember the Maple syrup on stick? or what we call, 'mak ar tong'??

The old days are gone. Killed by the protection money these people had to pay the PAP. It is ironic that many of these people were probably PAP supporters:eek:

I've only seen someone selling curry puffs & otak on the roadside. Don't see the ice cream seller & his motor bike anymore.

Our power stations turbines are fired by gas to produce electricity right? we buy natural gas from Indonesia, during the nature of my work, happen to know where that pipeline runs through some years back. But our electricity cost is pegged on oil prices, crude oil or procesed?? at an average rate or the highest Brent Crude prices?? or 'whities' blend of crude oil, which is always priced ridiclously higher, just like the water borne fee.

But you cannot compare the prices with UK, there the MP's look after the constituents but here it is the cosntitunets look after the MP's, never mind looking for them for help. ha ha ha ha:D

There is a glut in natural gas market . Prices are so low in the US that producers have cut back production. This is what is being used by Spore & not oil. The greedy PAP has pegged the price of electricity to that of oil. So just imagine the obscene profits being made by the PAP :mad:

That is how obscene the 60% bend over, to get screwed all the time....