• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A Singaporean's guide to living in Thailand

I think if you live in anyplace for some time - you develop a tolerance for the bacteria. Thai food in a food court setting ( i think the Thai's call it "Food Station") is pretty clean. So is food cooked-to-order at outside stalls.

The one time I developed pretty bad food poisoning in the last couple of years was in Singapore. Ate at a neighbourhood food court. If you observe, food prep and how they clean utensils in Singapore can also be pretty disgusting.

Yes I get what u mean.. and I can understand some hawkers in Singapore can be pretty disgusting ..but I was born in Singapore and ate Singapore food for the past 40 years so I don't find Singapore food smell bad or look disgusting ( although alot of my Japanese friend including my wife find that rojak is very smelly ) .

yinyang

...V day coming laew. Anyway, it's more or less the same for me and gf. I not the give flower type of guy and luckily gf OK.:p
You lucky bloke, with your better half so understanding with rip off flowers this time of year. Had 1 farang colleague, bought roses some days before, put in fridge and voila:p
rotikosong said:
develop a tolerance for the bacteria. Thai food in a food court setting ( i think the Thai's call it "Food Station") is pretty clean. So is food cooked-to-order at outside stalls.
drifter said:
i stayed in Thai for 2 years I also never eat their food ... The sight and the smell of their food with a few dozen " bombers " flying around the food already make my stomach full .
Narong Wongwan said:
BKK i couldn't eat thai food and basically survive on fastfood like KFC and MacDonald's.
...barn nok gf once and brought her to eat KFC....she was overjoyed and told me she always wanted to try the 'ais-tim' from the menu.....turned out she was referring to the mashed potato
Sights and smells of LOS food hits your senses. For street food, you get by with readily cooked food and avoid cut fruits. And developing tummy resistance sure helps.

Despite my frequent visits to this amazing country over last 7 years, still takes me some getting used to stronger flavours, spices (and I'm not talking on chilli hot) -due to my more bland taste buds. Even thai curry tastes noticeably different from ours.

On KFCs, thais do love fried stuff.

Sawasdee krup everyone

Clap clap .. You have my respect for eating Thai food . The only food I eat in Thai are pineapple and coconut juices ( but they must cut the fruits freshly in front of me) .

Guess wife and I easily adapts. But wife more daring than me to eat those those strong smell curries.

I think if you live in anyplace for some time - you develop a tolerance for the bacteria. Thai food in a food court setting ( i think the Thai's call it "Food Station") is pretty clean. So is food cooked-to-order at

So far wife and I lucky never kenna food poisoning here before. Guess our stomachs full of different countries' bacterial. Lol

I'm having a bowl of fishball you-mee-tah now. The fishball noodles here alway very boring because no chilli sauce and vinegar unlike Singapore's.

20b5c8d5.jpg

Joe , the noddles in the photo look very little leh ... Enough meh ?

Sianz la drifter. In Thailand you know all "kway-teow" very little seriously only two mouthful boh liao. So I went to Mac for breakfassII

hey, wife's coming to Japan again for the Sakura in April: Tokyo, Hakone, Nagano, Shizuoko

You lucky bloke, with your better half so understanding with rip off flowers this time of year. Had 1 farang colleague, bought roses some days before, put in fridge and voila:p

Sights and smells of LOS food hits your senses. For street food, you get by with readily cooked food and avoid cut fruits. And developing tummy resistance sure helps.

Despite my frequent visits to this amazing country over last 7 years, still takes me some getting used to stronger flavours, spices (and I'm not talking on chilli hot) -due to my more bland taste buds. Even thai curry tastes noticeably different from ours.

On KFCs, thais do love fried stuff.
i have since graduated to eating like the next Thai guy.....some insects included.
Agree with the bro who said some LOS street stall are even cleaner than Sinkie hawker stalls. This is more to do with the ethics of the hawkers than anything else.

Other clean places that i go for food....7-11 (make your own burger etc)......and supermarket where they cook for you and pick out you own salad.

rotikosong

Sianz la drifter. In Thailand you know all "kway-teow" very little seriously only two mouthful boh liao

That's why tigers in Thailand all phawm phawm (thin) one. I too am never full after just one portion - I have to order 2-3

hey, wife's coming to Japan again for the Sakura in April: Tokyo, Hakone, Nagano, Shizuoko

I have never been to Nagano (ski season probably over in April) and Shizuoka but I used to live in the Tokyo area. Good idea to watch the weather forecasts to catch peak bloom in Tokyo for ohanami (cherry blossom viewing). It may come a little later this year because of the cold weather they've been having - it almost never snows much in Tokyo but this year, they've had 2 significant snowfalls already. If she's not been to Hakone - consider a stop at Odawara to see the castle. Odawara is 3/4 of the way - at the base before you go into the mountains either via bus or more commonly the switchback Tozan train. Also remember you don't have to stay at the very top of Hakone (where you traverse each peak by ropeway cablecar) - you can stay at a lower stop like Gora or even Hakone town itself. Hopefully, she's picked out a nice onsen - good onsens in Hakone all feature unique toiletries from the Hakone area (like horse oil soap, black sulphite soap from the Owakudani volcanoes etc)

Khun Ying Pojaman

End up I'm having this wholesome meal for breakfast II now

Joe, I have a good kangtao for you.

Next time you go to Central World at Rajadamri, go to eating place at TOPS supermarket. In the middle there is a stall that sells shark fins. Go for the Abalone Hot Pot Rice. They're quite generous with the Abalone and shreds of crab meat. The dish is only 60 baht.

Jlokta

bro joe, if your wife don't mind to travel a bit, there's this place to recommend at Shizuoka.

they serve ramen and soup separately (ala 过桥面).

7418084.jpg

their address is here (gotta do jap translation http://menkui.blog25.fc2.com/blog-entry-1173.html).

the gyoza there is also pretty awesome, slightly smaller than OCK size.

If she's not been to Hakone - consider a stop at Odawara to see the castle. Odawara is 3/4 of the way - at the base before you go into the mountains either via bus or more commonly the switchback Tozan train. Also remember you don't have to stay at the very top of Hakone (where you traverse each peak by ropeway cablecar) - you can stay at a lower stop like Gora or even Hakone town itself. Hopefully, she's picked out a nice onsen - good onsens in Hakone all feature unique toiletries from the Hakone area (like horse oil soap, black sulphite soap from the Owakudani volcanoes etc)

We'd been to Hakone before for the Ryokan. She had also booked the Ryokan there.

bro joe, if your wife don't mind to travel a bit, there's this place to recommend at Shizuoka.

they serve ramen and soup separately (ala 过桥面).

their address is here (gotta do jap translation http://menkui.blog25.fc2.com/blog-entry-1173.html).

the gyoza there is also pretty awesome, slightly smaller than OCK size.

Rotikosong and Jlokta you two are so wonderful. I will pass the information to her. By the way in late June she will make a trip to Hokkaido again to see flowers particularly in Furano, this will be after our US holiday from end Apr to mid May. She love to go Japan so much.

Joe, I have a good kangtao for you.

Next time you go to Central World at Rajadamri, go to eating place at TOPS supermarket. In the middle there is a stall that sells shark fins. Go for the Abalone Hot Pot Rice. They're quite generous with the Abalone and shreds of crab meat. The dish is only 60 baht.

KYP is this TOPS within the Central World building?

During secondary school days, worked part-time as a kitchen helper during the weekends. Have seen everything how food are handled. :wink:

At least, for the road side stalls, you get to see how the food is prepared and served. Never be rude to the people at the restaurant else you got special "Kay Liao".

Pai Seh. Know it's dinner time.

My scoopy-i has clocked 2050 kms (coming to 4 months) and the permanent license plate is not ready. Turn out the shop I bought the bike from did not follow up with some documents. knn, waste half afternoon.

Bought a new AIS 3G Aircard. Suppose to be 7.2Mbps but still find it quite slow.:(
Think will use back the wired dsl from 3bb. What are your experience with these 3G aircards in other parts of LOS?

Photo0331.jpg

i have since graduated to eating like the next Thai guy.....some insects included.
Agree with the bro who said some LOS street stall are even cleaner than Sinkie hawker stalls. This is more to do with the ethics of the hawkers than anything else.

Other clean places that i go for food....7-11 (make your own burger etc)......and supermarket where they cook for you and pick out you own salad.
One thing don't understand is why Sinkee hawkers and foodcourt staffs are still using cash transactions? For LOS, understand most food courts are not using cash to prevent theft and also hygiene reasons.

Sianz la drifter. In Thailand you know all "kway-teow" very little seriously only two mouthful boh liao. So I went to Mac for breakfassII

Joe , Thai woman eat very little each time and must eat many times a day .. That's their culture .

Are u going japan with your wife ? I can pm u my number in japan if u wanna meet up :wink: .

i still remember the large number of flies flying unto some sugar on a road side stall over at the railway which the japs forced the allied POWs to build. It was a family holiday and i was still a child but it was in the 90s.

Khun Ying Pojaman

KYP is this TOPS within the Central World building?

Yes, at the top floor. Same level as the cinema. I'm not sure if you have been there before. Inside TOPS there are individual restaurants, one of which sells Singapore Chicken Rice. But I'm referring to the food court within TOPs.

Trust me. 60 baht for abalone rice with at least 6 slices of abalone and two spoonful of crab meat. The gravy over the top of the rice is delicious, and everything is served with a hot pot. One of the most guarded secrets in Thai dining in Bangkok !

Dinner now with wife at Somtam Nua (Kaset Nawamin). We Just got into Bangkok from Rayong, damn tired.

83267eaf.jpg

63b05639.jpg