• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Why Policemen Takes the Lead in Misconduct and Corruption Cases in the Civil Service

CPIB officers are known to be exceptionally delighted when a policeman is investigated under PCA. If ENV or MOM officer involved, their shiok sendiri level dives south. If non- civil servant, lagi no shiok except for super high profile cases. For policemen cases, the higher the rank, the more excited they get. Why?

In the Civil Service, policemen are known to be the best cheongsters, gamblers, foul-mouthed, risk takers etc. Is this in their DNA even before they decide to sign on as mata mata? Or, work in the SPF influences them? Doesn't matter simi rank or appointment as proven in past and current cases.

Uncle doing some research lah - machiam thesis. Kindly assist. Thank you. Huat ah!

Re: Why Policemen Takes the Lead in Misconduct and Corruption Cases in the Civil Serv

CPIB officers are known to be exceptionally delighted when a policeman is investigated under PCA. If ENV or MOM officer involved, their shiok sendiri level dives south. If non- civil servant, lagi no shiok except for super high profile cases. For policemen cases, the higher the rank, the more excited they get. Why?

In the Civil Service, policemen are known to be the best cheongsters, gamblers, foul-mouthed, risk takers etc. Is this in their DNA even before they decide to sign on as mata mata? Or, work in the SPF influences them? Doesn't matter simi rank or appointment as proven in past and current cases.

Uncle doing some research lah - machiam thesis. Kindly assist. Thank you. Huat ah!

Yes, i think it can be considered job 'satisfaction' when screwing up the happiness of your peers and taking on someone your own size. Analogy;- If you're driving a sports car and beat another car of the same make, that's happiness. If you beat another up-market model of the same make, that's orgasm, no?
Just human nature and makes the win all the more sweeter:p

Re: Why Policemen Takes the Lead in Misconduct and Corruption Cases in the Civil Serv

The can get orgasm from working on high value targets provided they dig the right hole with blessings from the top. I still think their operation still takes strong cue from the top. In this case, they hit the limelight with these 2 high profile civil servants. So it is natural for them to feel good and important. I bet it will take ages before we can see another case of such magnitude in the media again.

The problem with SPF is that it is not an attractive career choice among Singaporeans. With a limited budget, it therefore tends to attract the wrong sort. If you are an Ah Beng without much education, the SPF looks like an attractive career option as compared to joining SAF, Prison Svc etc. It is also much better than joining the pte sector and working for ridulously low wages thanks to the FT policy.

After joining, the eyes are opened and people learn to game the system without getting caught. Whatever vices that they like to indulge, they get the background and exposure to develop it to a whole new level.

What's worse is that because the PAP is more concerned about political longevity rather than social justice, we don't have most of the checks and balances in developed countries to reign the SPF in. The odd patrolman might get caught but the big fish will always swim free unless they do something incredibly stupid. Even then to save face, they are usually dealt with using internal disciplinary action.

The nett result is the SPF we all know and love.

I do not know who you hear from. You are bias against SPF I feel. Anyway, Prison Service is the best among the 3 you've mentioned.

There are hostels & a mini-community beside Changi Prison and Prison Officers were given a unit. The size of the unit depends on Officer's family size and those are typical HDB 4-room / 3-room flats. Prison Officers typically rent out their own HDB flat which is permissible under HDB rules because Prison Officers are almost permanently stationed in their hostel due to work commitments.

Junior Police Officers don't have fantastic salary and they have to handle the public, do shift-work and their own social lives are disrupted. In terms of gross income and workload, Prison Officers are better off than Police Officers due to passive rental income and they do not have to face the public; but emotionally it might have an impact on them because they are confined within a compound and they have to be wary of forming an emotional bond with inmates.

I know a drunk CPT whose car crashed within camp compound causing some damage but nothing happened to him. The matter is hush-hush because he is kawan-kawan with the Camp Commandant. A lot of shit happens in the military settings, shit are not confined to Singapore's military I believe - it can happen in western military.

I think you are mistaken to say Private Sector pays ridiculously low wages; probably you are reading too much from the internet. I left the Civil Service to join the Private Sector with a good pay rise. In fact, the people I know got better pay after when they joined the Private Sector.

The problem with SPF is that it is not an attractive career choice among Singaporeans. With a limited budget, it therefore tends to attract the wrong sort. If you are an Ah Beng without much education, the SPF looks like an attractive career option as compared to joining SAF, Prison Svc etc. It is also much better than joining the pte sector and working for ridulously low wages thanks to the FT policy.

After joining, the eyes are opened and people learn to game the system without getting caught. Whatever vices that they like to indulge, they get the background and exposure to develop it to a whole new level.

What's worse is that because the PAP is more concerned about political longevity rather than social justice, we don't have most of the checks and balances in developed countries to reign the SPF in. The odd patrolman might get caught but the big fish will always swim free unless they do something incredibly stupid. Even then to save face, they are usually dealt with using internal disciplinary action.

The nett result is the SPF we all know and love.

Anyway, Prison Service is the best among the 3 you've mentioned.

In spite of the great perks and benefits, the Prison Service is usually ranked as being the least attractive to Singaporeans.

SAF has appeal but it is to the more highly educated .

SPF is the preferred career choice of ITE grads.

Is that an assumption?

In spite of the great perks and benefits, the Prison Service is usually ranked as being the least attractive to Singaporeans.

SAF has appeal but it is to the more highly educated .

SPF is the preferred career choice of ITE grads.

SPF allows for a lot of unofficial bonuses. ICA and MOM are also great at providing unofficial bonuses but of course it depends where you get posted. Usually the higher ups will indoctrinate the newbies into the scheme. The higher ups need their runners and the newbies are always on the ready.

The lower rungs don't get those.

SPF allows for a lot of unofficial bonuses. ICA and MOM are also great at providing unofficial bonuses but of course it depends where you get posted. Usually the higher ups will indoctrinate the newbies into the scheme. The higher ups need their runners and the newbies are always on the ready.