• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

did u ever have the ambition of becoming a lawyer when u were young??????

HorGauGan

:eek::eek:

HERE's YOUR CHANCE!!!

musings.per.sg/2012/01/1037

The National University of Singapore law school recently announced that it would be reviewing the admission criteria for students, primarily to allow for "greater diversity in the backgrounds, abilities and interests of its undergraduates", instead of having students drawn from a small number of schools. This has caused some discomfort, and led to questions of fairness as it appears to be a deviation from the principle of meritocracy.

Comments that the revised admission criteria will be substantially less meritocratic than the current system are for now, I suppose, somewhat speculative. However, even if substantially more discretion is built into the revised admission criteria, to admit students on bases other than just grades, a question worth pondering is whether it is desirable in the long term interests of certain professions and maybe even Singapore society and the economy, to have students from only certain schools form the majority of undergraduates in certain "highly desirable" professional courses (by Singapore standards), such as law, medicine and dentistry.

I have no figures to support what I am going to say. But just for the purposes of discussion, suppose -

(a) that 700 out of the top 1,000 "A" level students end up studying in two top institutions every year;
(b) that there are 3,000 applicants for 500 places in "highly desirable" professional courses every year;
(c) that out 700 top students studying in two top institutions at (a), 500 apply to study the "highly desirable" professional courses while the remaining 200 apply for other courses or study overseas;
(d) that out of the other 300 top students who did not choose to study in the two top institutions at (a), 100 apply to study the "highly desirable" professional courses while the remaining 200 apply for other courses or study overseas.

I suppose we will find that, year after year, the students from the two top institutions at (a) above forming the majority of undergraduates in the "highly desirable" professional courses, and very few of these top students in "less desirable" courses such as, maybe, engineering, the general sciences, business, mass communications, and the arts. Would there be a critical mass of top minds in engineering, the general sciences, business, mass communications, and the arts, to form the next generation of engineers, scientists, businessmen, journalists, writers, political scientists and teachers ?

Perhaps not. And for this reason (amongst a myriad of others), this revision in admission criteria for law school may not be such a bad thing.

Perhaps it should be extended to other "highly desirable" courses as well.

I'm 31 this year and has an "Air" level score of DDDE. Do I qualify? :D

Used to harbour the thoughts when I was young after watching Andy Lau's 法内情。but dreams will always be dreams. Many of my classmates are doing sales now despite having MBA or good honours.

I'm 31 this year and has an "Air" level score of DDDE. Do I qualify? :D

Used to harbour the thoughts when I was young after watching Andy Lau's 法内情。but dreams will always be dreams. Many of my classmates are doing sales now despite having MBA or good honours.

u beo your pretty JC teachers upskirt and bo tak chek issit?? wa lao. wasted huh :D lawyers r forked tongue leh! especially AH NEH LAWYERs

I had a classmate then who would asked me to go to the library to play chess during lectures. We did that for year 2 and in the end, he got AABA :(

Honestly, all those book mugging bores me. If I were to be educated in another educational environment and structure, I would definitely have been much better off.

Edited: But you were right. During tutorials, I was fantasising about fucking my Malay classmate and my GP tutor. :D

Being a lawyer is no guarantee of a cushy job and iron rice bowl these days.

There is a certain pecking order, and some fields of law practice are more prestigious and lucrative than others.

No. When I was in secondary school, parents were pushing me to get into science stream and later to become doctor or engineer. That was the narrow mindset then.

If I were to go through school again, I would ignore my parents' wishes and take arts courses and go into journalism and later into the business of publishing or advertisement. Law - maybe.

In the old days, Engineering or being an Engineer is a pride of the family. Taking up technical subjects such as Accountancy Electrical, Civil Engineering, Architecture, Computer Science is seen as a path towards success. In recent years, there has been a shift - there are more interests in Arts & Humanities subjects or 'softer' subjects. Engineering is no longer the pride.

No. When I was in secondary school, parents were pushing me to get into science stream and later to become doctor or engineer. That was the narrow mindset then.

If I were to go through school again, I would ignore my parents' wishes and take arts courses and go into journalism and later into the business of publishing or advertisement. Law - maybe.

That was what happened to me. I could score A1 in History and Geography without much studying and score a C6 even after having tuition for Mathematics and Science. During our time, there was even Pure Science, Sub Science...What the fish...

last time many commerical schools offering law degrees....many studied part time.....some actually managed to do it. But later kena ban now is this considered as reversing that law?

If I remembered correctly, that part time degree from Stansfield, partner with UOL does not allow the graduate to be a full fledge lawyer or something like that.

Young time where got the brains to think of the future? Everyday wait for school bell to ring at 1pm. Walk to sarabat stall. Smoke and chit chat till 3pm then balek. Late afternoon, play soccer. Exam time, challenge each other see who leave exam hall first. Couldn't wait to leave school and start work.

Looking back, yes, I would study law. Make good money. Average ones can charge $500 per hour. Can a GP make that amount? Also, only need your mouth to chari makan - mitigate, make rep to reduce charge(s), reduce number of charges etc. Attend a bloody For Mention can make $300-$500. Best of all, client lose also collect money. Unlike doctors who may make a wrong decision resulting in loss of lives, lawyers don't face these situations. Engineers are liable if building collapses. Lawyers? Zero risk, almost. But, best of all, be a PAP MP!

GoldenDragon said:
Unlike doctors who may make a wrong decision resulting in loss of lives, lawyers don't face these situations. Engineers are liable if building collapses. Lawyers? Zero risk, almost. But, best of all, be a PAP MP!

PAP MP is the best. Wait for WP to make a fumble, attack. And you only need to do that once every one to two months. As long as you don't mix around with the wrong girl, you have a contract for 5 years. All the other professions, you still have to do sales and marketing to bring in the clients.

As long as you don't mix around with the wrong girl, you have a contract for 5 years.

Can mix but must be discreet and very selective. Remain low profile. If like that still kena caught, quickly go confess and plead guilty to PM. Tell him you are very remorseful etc etc. Most importantly, tell him you will always be loyal to him and his family. Even if taken out as MP, sure have director post here and there waiting for you. Already happened!

In the old days, Engineering or being an Engineer is a pride of the family. Taking up technical subjects such as Accountancy Electrical, Civil Engineering, Architecture, Computer Science is seen as a path towards success. In recent years, there has been a shift - there are more interests in Arts & Humanities subjects or 'softer' subjects. Engineering is no longer the pride.

Because, people with engineering degrees will not take up engineering jobs.

And you'll have to compete with the FTs: the result is depressed wages.

Law too wordy for me.

memorise can die

read too much headache

write too much sian

Minahs r hot. :D better than chinese girls. okay. :D u r forgiven for not tak chek-ing :D eh dun say tat education bores u . u not moltivated lah! u look at tan jee say and chan chun sing! :eek:

I had a classmate then who would asked me to go to the library to play chess during lectures. We did that for year 2 and in the end, he got AABA :(

Honestly, all those book mugging bores me. If I were to be educated in another educational environment and structure, I would definitely have been much better off.

Edited: But you were right. During tutorials, I was fantasising about fucking my Malay classmate and my GP tutor. :D

mos of us r nt as moltivated as chan chun sing or tan jee say lahhh.. tat time i also dunno hw to tink. waiting for bell to ring then go beo the girls frm the neighbour school. tat time not handphone no pager no internet no irc no icq. to get the gal's contact is a big feat :D

Young time where got the brains to think of the future? Everyday wait for school bell to ring at 1pm. Walk to sarabat stall. Smoke and chit chat till 3pm then balek. Late afternoon, play soccer. Exam time, challenge each other see who leave exam hall first. Couldn't wait to leave school and start work.

Looking back, yes, I would study law. Make good money. Average ones can charge $500 per hour. Can a GP make that amount? Also, only need your mouth to chari makan - mitigate, make rep to reduce charge(s), reduce number of charges etc. Attend a bloody For Mention can make $300-$500. Best of all, client lose also collect money. Unlike doctors who may make a wrong decision resulting in loss of lives, lawyers don't face these situations. Engineers are liable if building collapses. Lawyers? Zero risk, almost. But, best of all, be a PAP MP!

u get law degree is one thing, if u wan to fight in court, u will need to be admitted into the bar and a valid practising license. otherwise, if u hav jus a law degree be it from local uni or distance learning uni, u could only be corporate legal counsel lah! :D

Minahs r hot. :D better than chinese girls. okay. :D u r forgiven for not tak chek-ing :D eh dun say tat education bores u . u not moltivated lah! u look at tan jee say and chan chun sing! :eek:

You are right. If I had know how obscence their salaries are, I would have studied hard. Knn, their salary for 1 month is equal to my 1 year salary.

wah u go take until 4 A level some more, my education path i always seek the easiest way out. O level study only 7 subject (if can 6 that time i sure take 6 only LOL) A level also can drop i just drop, chinese pass with b3 DROP WAHHAA, A level study 3 A enough! LOL ! 3A level almost killed me then fucking hell