‘The missing piece in a smart government’ - Balji

Since GE 2011, the government seems to be on its backfoot with communication blunders becoming a regular occurrence. From the Mas Selamat case (official statement was issued four hours after the terrorist escaped from the Internal Security Department's detention centre) to the wrong signatures on YOG appreciation certificates (Minister Vivian Balakrishnan said that it was an embarrassment but not a disaster) to the PAP's electoral defeat in Aljunied (Lee Kuan Yew warned residents that they will repent if Opposition won), it is clear that the government has yet to get a handle on how to communicate effectively in a new world.

That is really strange. This is not a stupid government, it has done a lot of good things for its people, it is respected overseas and its model of governance is highly sought after.

Yet, one of the basic attributes of a smart government -- squaring with its citizens and carrying them along -- seems to be missing.

- http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/missing-piece-smart-government-024702253.html

That is really strange. This is not a stupid government, it has done a lot of good things for its people, it is respected overseas and its model of governance is highly sought after.

Yet, one of the basic attributes of a smart government -- squaring with its citizens and carrying them along -- seems to be missing.

http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/missing-piece-smart-government-024702253.html

I say screw the citizens. What they say doesn't really count anyway. It's all a lot of hot air over petty issues. They can't find anything really wrong with the govt so they've ended up being pedantic.

lianbeng replies to leongsam, "all of us only see bits n pieces of the jigsaw puzzle but have not really seen the big picture lah thats why so many wild guesses and out of the world imaginations. only the people involved know the real story behind mah.":D

I say screw the citizens. What they say doesn't really count anyway. It's all a lot of hot air over petty issues. They can't find anything really wrong with the govt so they've ended up being pedantic.

wahhh lauu ehh , your english beri the powerful leh.
yeah i concurred with your 100% lah. sinkies deserved to be screwed daily ,as clinton666 always mentioned.
very puzzling , even sherlock holmes can't figure it out.
are sinkies really enjoying the screws or simply real dumb , or , just plain balless ? or a combination of these ?

. . . . . . . . . . . They can't find anything really wrong with the govt so they've ended up being pedantic.

your vocabulary is super doper

if you understand hokkien , do you know the english word for this hokkien phase :
" ng kum wan" or 'buai kum wan" .