• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

places where you have travelled to and their influence on you politically

Have traveled very extensively,so noting some of the the well known cities in Europe,US and Asia does not pretty much matter.Since 1 five or four star hotel to another is not that different in these places.And interaction and fraternization with locals rather limited to boardroom meetings and night time entertainments.......but traveling to far flung areas where staying in the best local of accommodations available which is actually someone's house and travel limited to four wheel drive,motorized boats and even camel stays in memory.

The whole gist is to absorb and understand the local essence of living.That is why a small band of British,colonized and ruled the world.Whereas the ugly Americans has diffculties even to hold just 1 pathetically poor country with the might of their armed forces and all that trillions of dollars spent.

I agree with you about staying in someone's home. Talking local or animal transport is one of the best experiences of life. Alas! These days, some of these are no longer safe. Eg travelling in parts of Africa requires armed escort offered by the employer or state. My annual travel insurance will not pay the kidnapping ransom either !!

On business trips, I find the farmer/sunday markets a wonderful way to interact with the locals. Used to schedule my flights around these sort of "meet the locals". Eg a farmer market right in the London city led me to a London Walk event. http://www.walks.com/

sama sama about the Americans. Sometimes, having huge resources at the disposal is not a good thing. The logistically challenged British have to adapt and "exploit" local resources. :D

Char_Azn about India. Getting a job the Singapore way is in itself a challenge in India. Because of the stupid legistration. That is why the temp job market there is flourishing because they all bypass the loopholes and actually offer Indians jobs which otherwise they will not have. The govts are hopeless!

I've been following this thread with a great deal of interest. Many thanks to scroobal for starting it. I only have one point to contribute. In any discussion pertaining to the state of affairs in S'pore, inevitably there would be comparisons with the situations in other countries. That's well and good. But too often, the comparisons are made without considerations of the specific contexts which S'pore or the country being compared with is in. More importantly, many of these people do not know how bad the situation in S'pore is really in and start to remark that in other countries it's even worse. Leongsam is one who is ever guilty of this. Just as he accused forummers who "whine" about the PAP of not knowing what it's like elsewhere, I can say he doesn't know what the situation in S'pore is really like.

Char_Azn about India. Getting a job the Singapore way is in itself a challenge in India. Because of the stupid legistration. That is why the temp job market there is flourishing because they all bypass the loopholes and actually offer Indians jobs which otherwise they will not have. The govts are hopeless!

Yeap their government is definitely hopeless. It'll take a really strong government to take control of the entire country to get it moving. It's pretty sad how institutionalized corruption in so many of these 3rd world authorities in the region can be, and how they can only be made to work only after they see money yet on the other end of the scale, the authorities in 1st world countries are hopeless due to political climate(sometime coz by nothing more then a stupid rumors) despite the fact that any drawbacks is more then offset by the benefits. Sometimes it makes me wonder who is worse off.

I'm pretty much immune to all the crazy things India can throw at me by now but most pple I know still find ithem amusing. Every country have it's problems, from the rigid as hell Japanese, the ever protesting French to the highly corrupt Thais. I'm sure we all have our stories to tell of each country

I've been following this thread with a great deal of interest. Many thanks to scroobal for starting it. I only have one point to contribute. In any discussion pertaining to the state of affairs in S'pore, inevitably there would be comparisons with the situations in other countries. That's well and good. But too often, the comparisons are made without considerations of the specific contexts which S'pore or the country being compared with is in. More importantly, many of these people do not know how bad the situation in S'pore is really in and start to remark that in other countries it's even worse. Leongsam is one who is ever guilty of this. Just as he accused forummers who "whine" about the PAP of not knowing what it's like elsewhere, I can say he doesn't know what the situation in S'pore is really like.

Well, I know about SG coz I live here, although I spend about 3-4 mths overseas annually. I agree with what most of Sam have to say. How well the country is being run is definitely under appreciated. The country as a whole is very well run. It does have a lot of problems, which country doesn't? If you look at all the "major problems" we've been complaining about in the last few months, "ponding", ministerial salary, MRT train breakdown. Other then MRT train breakdown, "ponding" and ministerial salary doesn't affect the majority of the pple. In the case of ministerial salary, it doesn't affect the lives of anyone, at all!!!! Even MRT stoppages is in many ways overblown although I totally empathize with everyone in here hence I've kept my mouth shut so far. In many major cities that I've worked in for an extended period, the daily disruption is a lot worst then our MRT which had grand total of only 2 major breakdown in 26 years. In the grand scheme of things these are minor compared to the fact that the country remains competitive, jobless rates are low and we all still enjoy a very high standard of living.

Perhaps I have travelled too much. I find Singapore an odd-ball that is more in line with some European principality states. Smallest has its beauty.

How many of us know the dark side of well-run Singapore? The "major problems" are really symptoms of something far worse. Does Singapore know how to handle situations out of the box. How many hidden skeletons lay hidden in the PAP pandora's box?
What is the price of living in this small well-run country?

Is Singapore in an economic recession? Why is the currency being devalued - to my annoyance.

I may have answered my questions. But it does get a bit scary.

I agree with you about staying in someone's home. Talking local or animal transport is one of the best experiences of life. Alas! These days, some of these are no longer safe. Eg travelling in parts of Africa requires armed escort offered by the employer or state. My annual travel insurance will not pay the kidnapping ransom either !!

My experience in Africa is quite limited though.But in Asia plenty.I even had lived among cannibals.Yeah,in huts....and when they like you you get a thorough rub in tub of stinkin lard.I didn't enjoy it that much though.Since sleeping with a shot gun in you Rover when a cottage is at my disposal does not figure much for personal safety apart from the fact murders are just called rascals !.Even hopping from from place to another in Cessna where the pilot put a leg up smoking is not very reassuring.Of course,not to mention Russian pilots refusing to fly in their own old and tattered aircraft as passengers.

i am sure you often read about passengers boats sinking in Indonesia/Philippines where 300 to 500 passengers dies.I often took this mode of transport too.But we as 'tuan besar' are given a room with a fan but right below hundreds of humanity with goats and chicken just share 1 toilet facility.....but the most dangerous are muddy tracks up the hill, a slip will send us thousands of feet below.I dread to think of such risk taken.

On business trips, I find the farmer/sunday markets a wonderful way to interact with the locals. Used to schedule my flights around these sort of "meet the locals". Eg a farmer market right in the London city led me to a London Walk event. http://www.walks.com/

Farmers are the best.A very hospitable lot.They feed you first with the best they have.

I have traveled a fair bit of S.Asia....and their politics dumfounds me.I often come across this cartoon character opposition figure in India.A don quixote cumcourt jester clubbed together.Could never figure out how Indians tolerate this chap.

Until I read about him in wiki.The guy got his Phd in Harvard as one of the youngest professor ever in economics..He still teaches in Harvard.Had Singapore such a person we would be practically worshiping him as as a god sent wizard in economic.That's how PAP works anyway.But he spews nonsense and writes islamophobia essays.The joke is his grandchildren are Muslims since his daughter is married to one.....Truly incredible India.

The behavior of a country's people is pretty much shaped by the govt's own behavior. It's just like a family. The children will unconsciously pick up the habits (both good and bad) of their parents and these get hardened into their own psyche. So let's just take one trait of S'poreans - kiasuism. It's because the govt had exhibited the core of kiasuism in its policies, particularly in taxing every cent from its people and with laws that will catch all, the people will naturally evolve to have such a mentality as well which are manifested in every aspect of their lives, just as it is manifested in every PAP's policy. So there again, the PAP is to be blamed.

On the contrary. It's the people that influence govt policy. Because the people are so "Kiasu", the government uses this trait to craft its policies. It knows that Singaporeans are money faced, that's why all policies involve either monetary incentives or disincentives.

Policies that relied on civic consciousness, kindness and consideration for others simply wouldn't work.

Surely you haven't forgotten the "Hello Kitty" fiasco. http://www.atimes.com/se-asia/BB12Ae01.html

Had McDonald's Corp known how Sinkies behaved, they would have made Singaporeans bid for the toys instead of giving them away. The government knows better.

Have to disagree. We are talking about people from 4 distinct racial groups who display the same or similat traits. I would speculate that the conditioning is the result of the environment created by the Govt. Its the same with attracting talent into politics. David Cameron has 1st class from Oxbridge, Obama made Harvard Law Review Editor and Tony Abbott is a Rhodes Scholar. These and other developed countries have talent knocking on the doors to join politics. The old man created a sterile environment for politics in Singapore and is now complaining quality people are not interested.
On the contrary. It's the people that influence govt policy. Because the people are so "Kiasu", the government uses this trait to craft its policies. It knows that Singaporeans are money faced, that's why all policies involve either monetary incentives or disincentives. Policies that relied on civic consciousness, kindness and consideration for others simply wouldn't work.Surely you haven't forgotten the "Hello Kitty" fiasco. http://www.atimes.com/se-asia/BB12Ae01.htmlHad McDonald's Corp known how Sinkies behaved, they would have made Singaporeans bid for the toys instead of giving them away. The government knows better.

On the contrary. It's the people that influence govt policy. Because the people are so "Kiasu", the government uses this trait to craft its policies. It knows that Singaporeans are money faced, that's why all policies involve either monetary incentives or disincentives.

Lee Kuan Yew once said: Hit where it hurts most...the pocket... when he reduced the circulation of a certain foreign publication accused of meddling in Singapore domestic affair.

Kiasuism is the by-product of the PAP indoctrinations.

Have to disagree. We are talking about people from 4 distinct racial groups who display the same or similat traits.

Only one group appears to be represented :

Hello Kitty Toy riot in Singapore

McDonald's has been fed up security at its Singapore outlets after seven people were injured as crowds jostled to get their hands on Hello Kitty promotional dolls. The seven were injured on Thursday after frantic fans shattered a plate-glass door at one of the fast-food giant's 113 restaurants in the city-state. Three customers were taken to hospital and later discharged. It is the second such incident since the promotion was launched on New Year's Day, when a doctor and a lorry driver had a fist fight over the dolls. The popularity of the dolls - based on Japanese cartoon characters and dressed in wedding outfits - has made it difficult for producers to meet the demand. McDonald's said it would limit the number of hamburgers that could be bought by each customer to try to prevent further incidents. The police helped direct the flow of people at the more crowded restaurants. "We would like to appeal to all customers to keep calm and follow the directions of our staff on the scene," McDonald's director of marketing Fanny Lai said. The round-faced feline was created 25 years ago by Japan's Sanrio Co, and has since enjoyed widespread popularity across Asia and the United States.

Posted by Evelyn at <a class="timestamp-link" href="http://mycollection-hellokitty.blogspot.com/2009/01/hello-kitty-toy-riot-in-singapore.html" rel="bookmark" title="permanent link"><abbr class="published" title="2009-01-18T06:25:00-08:00">6:25 AM</abbr>

Perhaps I have travelled too much. I find Singapore an odd-ball that is more in line with some European principality states. Smallest has its beauty.

How many of us know the dark side of well-run Singapore? The "major problems" are really symptoms of something far worse. Does Singapore know how to handle situations out of the box. How many hidden skeletons lay hidden in the PAP pandora's box?
What is the price of living in this small well-run country?

Is Singapore in an economic recession? Why is the currency being devalued - to my annoyance.

I may have answered my questions. But it does get a bit scary.

U sure the currency being devalue or not, we are $1.26 to USD previously was $1.3+ late last year during the height of the Euro fears. Euros now got to $1.65. And as far as I can remember from my recent trip to India and Thailand, our currency is also up against those 2. The only 2 currency I can remember that is shooting up way faster then us is AUD and JPY. Don't think SG economy is in recession, yet, the authorities have never been shy about announcing a recession. We were the first to go into recession in Asia during the last crisis

As for the price of living in a well run country, I think we've both lived here long enough to know.

Kiasuism is the by-product of the PAP indoctrinations.

Like I said... blame everyone but yourselves. Singaporeans have never taken responsibility for anything negative about themselves or their surroundings. It's always someone else's fault.

The PAP, being the party in power, is the easiest target. If it's not the government, blame it on the neighbour, foreign talent or the family dog.

Like I said... blame everyone but yourselves. Singaporeans have never taken responsibility for anything negative about themselves or their surroundings. It's always someone else's fault.

The PAP, being the party in power, is the easiest target. If it's not the government, blame it on the neighbour, foreign talent or the family dog.

Is it the people's fault that they haven't reached Swiss Standard of living? or is it the PAP's fault in lying about something which is not attainable?

I was in Switzerland two years ago. While the per capita GDP of Switzerland is slightly higher at the moment, there isn't really that much difference between the standard of living of the Swiss and Singapore. The biggest difference is that they have more space and nice scenery but you can't blame the government for that.

Let me put it this way,after say a month or two in a foreign land---especially third world countries.The momment I step into SIA,I am refreshed.The sight of clean cut dolly looking singapore girl aka SIA stewardesses.The smell of fresh cologne ,clean spottless seats and bedding sheets.Almost lulls me to returning to a fantasy land called my home.

The moment I step out of Changi airport and into our sour looking taxi drivers who does almost everything mechanically wakes me up to the reality.The land of golden cage.Me wondered why.In fact I would rather have stayed in that godforsaken village where I just came from.Because all worries returns back.Worries which did not haunt me while I was risking my life overseas.

Worries should not be the mark of a home one yarns to return otherwise it is not a home but hell.:-

Oh, give me a home
Where the buffalo roam,
Where the deer and the antelope play;
Where seldom is heard
A discouraging word
And the skies are not cloudy all day
Chorus:
Home, home on the range
Where the deer and the antelope play
Where seldom is heard a discouraging word

Only one group appears to be represented :

Hello Kitty Toy riot in Singapore

McDonald's has been fed up security at its Singapore outlets after seven people were injured as crowds jostled to get their hands on Hello Kitty promotional dolls. The seven were injured on Thursday after frantic fans shattered a plate-glass door at one of the fast-food giant's 113 restaurants in the city-state. Three customers were taken to hospital and later discharged. It is the second such incident since the promotion was launched on New Year's Day, when a doctor and a lorry driver had a fist fight over the dolls. The popularity of the dolls - based on Japanese cartoon characters and dressed in wedding outfits - has made it difficult for producers to meet the demand. McDonald's said it would limit the number of hamburgers that could be bought by each customer to try to prevent further incidents. The police helped direct the flow of people at the more crowded restaurants. "We would like to appeal to all customers to keep calm and follow the directions of our staff on the scene," McDonald's director of marketing Fanny Lai said. The round-faced feline was created 25 years ago by Japan's Sanrio Co, and has since enjoyed widespread popularity across Asia and the United States.

Posted by Evelyn at <a class="timestamp-link" title="permanent link" href="http://mycollection-hellokitty.blogspot.com/2009/01/hello-kitty-toy-riot-in-singapore.html" rel="bookmark"><abbr class="published" title="2009-01-18T06:25:00-08:00">6:25 AM</abbr>

Watched the news last night that a horde of fanatical and deluded Chinese risked crushing each other in a Taiwan temple to plant the first joss on CNY eve. That's worse than taking drugs. Even drug addicts don't behave like that.

U sure the currency being devalue or not, we are $1.26 to USD previously was $1.3+ late last year during the height of the Euro fears. Euros now got to $1.65. And as far as I can remember from my recent trip to India and Thailand, our currency is also up against those 2. The only 2 currency I can remember that is shooting up way faster then us is AUD and JPY. Don't think SG economy is in recession, yet, the authorities have never been shy about announcing a recession. We were the first to go into recession in Asia during the last crisis

As for the price of living in a well run country, I think we've both lived here long enough to know.

SGD does not look good after converting to AUD :(
I know that Singapore banking jobs are getting scarce.

I was in Switzerland two years ago. While the per capita GDP of Switzerland is slightly higher at the moment, there isn't really that much difference between the standard of living of the Swiss and Singapore. The biggest difference is that they have more space and nice scenery but you can't blame the government for that.

Switzerland went through a bad patch. At least they still have that combination of mountains and lakes ..... and exotic Thai Heidis.
Quality of life matters too.

Worries should not be the mark of a home one yarns to return otherwise it is not a home but hell.:-

Good one!
Stability and harmony do not always give Quality of Life, esp when someone is giving instructions on how you should live your life.
Golden cage can protect you from external elements but it can be suffocating.

Watched the news last night that a horde of fanatical and deluded Chinese risked crushing each other in a Taiwan temple to plant the first joss on CNY eve. That's worse than taking drugs. Even drug addicts don't behave like that.

Last year, they took down the temple door as well. :)

Where seldom is heard a discouraging word

Well you can't blame PAP on this part at least. If U flip open the papers, most of the time it's good news or at least less rosy picture. If you only get your stuff from TRE then U only have yourself to blame :p